Page 1 of 3

powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:20 pm
by TuckerMix
Nuendo 5.1.1
UAD 5.9.1
OSX 10.6.8

I've had this problem for a long time, just wanted to post and see if anyone else has this issue. I don't have exact repro steps yet, just want get a feel if anyone else reproduces anything like this.

When I save a session in Nuendo with UAD plugins inserted on a track but powered off via insert button, reopen the session at a later date, enable (power on) the previously disabled UAD plugin, the plugin always fails to process audio (dry audio passes). The only way to fix it is to drag the insert to another track and back or toggle the mono/stereo menu in the top right of the plugin header bar (dragging to another insert on the same track will not fix the issue). I have not experienced this with non-UAD plugins.

***UPDATE***

My System:
MacPro 1,1
RME Fireface 800 x2
Nuendo 5.5
UAD 6.0: 3x UAD quads
UAD meter app settings: DSP limit 100, DSP load lock ON, extra buffer OFF, release all DSP for AU ON, force logic OFF, controls mode linear

1) create new empty session (44/24)
2) add 4 stereo audio tracks
3) insert a steinberg test generator plugin set to white noise into insert 1 on track 1
4) in the mixer, drag + copy this test gen plugin to each insert #1 of the other three tracks (2,3,4)
5) insert a UAD 1176 on insert 2 of track 1
---note the 1176 is processing, the VU meter is activate
6) power off this 1176 plugin on track 1
7) drag copy track 1's powered off 1176 plugin to track 2 insert2
8) drag copy track 2's powered off 1176 plugin to track 3 insert2
9) drag copy track 3's powered off 1176 plugin to track 4 insert2
10) as all test gens on all tracks are producing audio, power on track 2's 1176 and watch its VU meter
---no meter activity is seen
11) repeat step 10 for track 3
---no meter activity is seen
12) repeat for remaining tracks

I am able to repeatedly perform this test with these same results.

here's a video of the repro... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sasLW0mrV-g

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:27 pm
by Guest
Yip, this is such a long-time bug and it's never been sorted out. It's a real pain. I inevitably turn on the UAD plugs, save and then re-open.. :(

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:38 pm
by zvenx
yep came with Nuendo 4.
and has stayed since.....
rsp

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:31 pm
by TuckerMix
Fredo, can we get this addressed?
Is this bug in your database?

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:12 am
by Woodcrest Studio
yes. very frustrating.

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:37 am
by Bodo
Since you noticed this only happens with UAD plugins, I dare to argue that only UAD can fix this. So I would contact them.

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:57 pm
by TuckerMix
I have. It appears to be on the Nuendo side.

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:46 pm
by Woodcrest Studio
TuckerMix wrote:I have. It appears to be on the Nuendo side.
UA told me the same thing.

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:07 pm
by TuckerMix
Would be great to get some feedback from steinberg on this.

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:21 am
by ffg
Am I right in thinking this happens if I load a project with UAD plugs switched off, or with them bypassed in Nuendo, but if i switch them in, save the project and re-open, they will be working? I'll try this later, I generally just re-open the plugin.

I wonder why some UAD plugs do it and other UAD plugs don't seem to?

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:45 pm
by TuckerMix
I think ALL UAD plugins do it if powered off. Bypass is ok.

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:43 am
by Antonio Escobar
Nasty bug here

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:43 pm
by TuckerMix
bump...

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:51 pm
by neilwilkes
TuckerMix wrote:bump...
Have you filed this with UA yet?
If not, then it might be a good idea to do so - and tell them also that you can get a load more names of people with this problem too. I'll look around, but I am sure I seem to remember it used to happen on a couple of other makers too, but they fixed their bugs where UA have not.

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:45 pm
by TuckerMix
Neil,
Did you read through this thread? One other person including myself have been told by UA that the issue was not on their side. As I also said earlier, I have not experienced this issue with any other plugins.

Furthermore, having been using Nuendo since version 1.0 we (myself and several other users also in this thread) have been living with this issue since version 4.0.

There is no question this is an issue given other people's reports. Given the nature of the issue, unless I find another plugin that also has the issue, I cannot proove for sure where the issue lies.

Rather the speculate, I'd like a response from Steinberg on the issue.

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:47 pm
by Woodcrest Studio
I have never had this issue ever before with other plugins besides UAD. Yeah, I know this seems to point to universal audio, but they told me the problem is with Cubase and Nuendo.

This kind of reminds me of the broken PDC that was presumed to be localized solely UAudio plugins, but as it turns out it was not, coming at the expense of the user base's time to find plugins outside of UAD plugs that broke the PDC.

It would be nice if Steinberg could take a peek at this. I do believe the OP should re-post the 1st post in this thread with a repro of the issue so we can conform to Steinberg's bug reporting standard.

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:55 pm
by TuckerMix
Here some repro steps I created back in 2009...

-----------------------------------------------------
Nuendo 4.3, UAD 5.5, 3xQuads, OSX 10.5.8

I have scene the following behavior several times over the past couple of years using UAD plugins. Essentially I am occasionally seeing plugins that were saved in the OFF state (no DSP processing) not processing audio after session is loaded and plug in powered on.

1) add a bunch of UAD plugs to tracks in Nuendo
2) turn them off, no DSP running
3) save the session
4) close/reopen Nuendo
5) load same session
6) enable said UAD plugins
- plugins will pass DRY unprocessed audio
-----------------------------------------------------

Work around:
Drag the plugin to a new insert on a different track or toggle mono / stereo menu on plugin header.

I retried these same steps in Nuendo 5.1.1 on OSX 10.6.8 just now and was not able to repro, however I often experience this issue at least once or twice a day while working.

That said, these aren't exact repro that always produce the issue, but as we all know that doesn't mean a bug doesn't exist. I'm happy to see others are too experiencing this too. I will gladly post exact repro if I am able to discover them.

Thanks much!

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:56 pm
by TuckerMix
Just had this happen to me.

Attached is a session file (sans audio files).
- open the session and the very last FX track called "distortion" has three UAD plugins on it
- power on the three UAD plugins
- they do not process audio (at least for me)

Please let me know if anyone can repro with my session file, thanks!

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:59 pm
by TuckerMix
Is the rumor true? This issue has been in the database for years?

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:29 am
by Matthias Adloff
This *.npr crashed Nuendo (64bit/PC) completely, and the UAD showed that there is not enough CPU power to load the plugins properly.

What hell of a system do you have ??? I already own two UAD2 Quads, but this seems to be not enough :shock:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:18 pm
by TuckerMix
Matthias, Your comment does not relate at all to this thread.

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:19 am
by Matthias Adloff
TuckerMix wrote:Matthias, Your comment does not relate at all to this thread.
I cannot repro the issues you described, both bypassing or powered-off states are saved correctly and if changed after re-opening a project, everything works as expected.

So I wanted to load your npr to have a look at it, sorry for my attempt to help.

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:27 am
by TuckerMix
Oh sorry Matthias! I totally misunderstood your post, now i understand, my bad :-D

Yes I had three QUADS, thats why you can't load the whole session.

This issue is well known on this forum and others and plenty have experienced it. It is also rumored that this issue has been reproduced with non-UAD plugins.

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:38 am
by Matthias Adloff
No problem. From what I can see it doesn't happen on PC.

Btw., all UA plugins have a power-off button that keeps the PDC active, so no audio gaps are created. Isn't it favourable to use this button instead of the Nuendo power button ?

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:55 am
by TuckerMix
Not if you want to conserve DSP.