The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Sat Oct 15, 2011 7:00 pm

This is a thread where we can share and exchange PLE commands and Macros. I'll start

Color all Selected tracks:
This is 1 of 16 PLE commands I created to quickly change the color of all selected tracks.

CONTAINER TYPE IS..... EQUAL.....TRACK...... AND
PROPERTY..... PROPERTY IS SET....EVENT IS SELECTED
-
SET COLOR.... SET TO FIXED VALUE...... COLOR1
-
FUNCTION/TRANSFORM - MACRO/NOT SET

I created a page on my Avid Control that is dedicated to colors and 1-16. No more SHIFT/CLICK
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Sat Oct 15, 2011 10:55 pm

TRACK NAMING.

I always hated naming all the tracks when I built up sessions. I like how you can select a bunch of group channels in the VST connections window and ALT name and they'd all follow. I wished that there was something like that for audio tracks. Here's an example of a PLE I made for dialog tracks

CONTAINER TYPE IS...... EQUAL...... TRACK.... AND
NAME........ CONTAINS...... AUDIO...... OR
PROPERTY..... PROPERTY IS SET...... EVENT IS SELECTED
-------
NAME...... GENERATE NAME....... DX A....... 1
------
FUNCTION/TRANSFORM MACRO/NOT SET

This command will locate and select all tracks with "audio" in the name and rename them to DX A followed by a number starting with #1. It is also set up to rename any track that is currently selected. I have multiples of this command for DX B,C,D,E SFX, BGS, MX etc etc. These are all on a group of naming pages on my Avid Artist Control. Unless I'm on a series, I no longer start with giant templates because set up happens SOOO much faster now.
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Sat Oct 15, 2011 11:02 pm

TRACK SELECTING

Now that my naming conventions have been standardized, selecting groups of tracks is much faster now also.

CONTAINER TYPE IS....... EQUAL....... TRACK ....... AND
NAME......... CONTAINS....... DX A
-----
N/A
-----
FUNCTION/SELECT MACRO/NOT SET

No matter where I am in a session or where my controllers are banked too. I can hit my DX A Select button and everybody jumps to my DX A tracks since they are all now selected. Rinse and repeat for all your other categories. From here it just a just a button push or key command away to REC ARM, MONITOR, READ/WRITE, SOLO, MUTE, TOGGLE LANES, OPEN CLOSE FOLDERS etc.

That is just the PLE. You can follow this up with macros. In fact if I wanted to select all my fx tracks and delete all the muted unused regions.. That could be one button.
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Sat Oct 15, 2011 11:16 pm

I want to see if we can exchange our PLE sets instead of writing them out so here is a test.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10358449/PLE%20xml.zip

There are 6 PLE presets in here. They are all for SOLO, MUTE, READ, WRITE, REC, MON of the selected tracks.

If you are on a windows machine, they go here C:\Users\YOU\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Nuendo 5.5_64\Presets\Project Logical Editor

I do not know what the Mac equivilent is, but if you are savy enough, please tell me if these PC xml's work on your mac. I know from experience Key command XML files will work on either platform so this might work out.

Let me know if this works
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 721
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:56 am

Kid,

I'm looking forward to checking these out... and maybe they just aren't uploaded yet... but I'm getting nothing when I hit the link. Well, it says "untitled"...

Is it me?

*EDIT* Of course it was me. Just didn't see the 15 times I downloaded it... :oops:

Chewy
Last edited by Chewy Papadopoulos on Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by blob » Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:34 pm

I'll upload mine during the week.
You can check the Comp to New Track macro in the other thread.

Not a real macro but a nice workflow:
If you are using a control surface which allows to assign/lock a single fader to selected track, the combination of preferences: Sync Project and Mixer & Track Selection Follows Event Selection makes a killer combo: as soon as you touch event the VST mixer and the physical fader a synced; killer for adjusting plugins on the control surface without clicking mayhem.
You can also add another preference : Automatically Select Event Under Cursor for more auto approach :)

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by blob » Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:36 pm

Kid Dropper Sound wrote:TRACK SELECTING

Now that my naming conventions have been standardized, selecting groups of tracks is much faster now also.

CONTAINER TYPE IS....... EQUAL....... TRACK ....... AND
NAME......... CONTAINS....... DX A
-----
N/A
-----
FUNCTION/SELECT MACRO/NOT SET

No matter where I am in a session or where my controllers are banked too. I can hit my DX A Select button and everybody jumps to my DX A tracks since they are all now selected. Rinse and repeat for all your other categories. From here it just a just a button push or key command away to REC ARM, MONITOR, READ/WRITE, SOLO, MUTE, TOGGLE LANES, OPEN CLOSE FOLDERS etc.

That is just the PLE. You can follow this up with macros. In fact if I wanted to select all my fx tracks and delete all the muted unused regions.. That could be one button.
that one is a time saver!!!!!
It makes me wonder: if I adapt it for normal mixing (using for example vox1,vox2,..) and follow it with Link Channels command, instant VCA :)
With Drums the track name has to contain "drum" i.e kick_drum, snare_drum,
hihat_drum!? LOL

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:16 pm

Can anyone tell me if they have been able to use the PLE xml files I posted?

I'd really like to develop some sort of preset exchange
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 721
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:50 pm

Kid Dropper Sound wrote:Can anyone tell me if they have been able to use the PLE xml files I posted?
Yes, definitely. The "READ" and "WRITE" presets didn't work for me, which may have to do with differences between N4 and N5.

But the others work perfectly-- and will soon have a button home on the MC Control. Great that you're getting this started.

I'm going to take your advice and hunker down with the manual when the smoke clears around here-- whenever that may be.

Nice work!

Chewy
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:01 am

Here are a few nuendo macros that use regularly. Particularly with dialog editing and layered sound fx, I like to set myself up with defined loops that i'll use for automation of a given sequence. Unfortunately, Nuendo does not react very well with hard cut automation at the tip and tail of events and it's often necessary to pad the automation by a couple frames to avoid clicks and pop ( SB, anytime you want to fix that like protools did, that would be great).

So when I have edit complete, I select the bits I want to include and I use this.

PART MAKER
Audio - events to part
nudge - start left
nudge - start left
nudge - start left
nudge - start left
nudge - start left
nudge - start right
nudge - start right
nudge - start right
nudge - start right
nudge - start right

This basically wraps an event box around my edit with the automation padding of 5 frames on either side built in. This also serves another function. Let's say you have a dialog line built from multiple takes that you want to smoothly apply an offline process too. When you wrap the edit in an event box, you double click it and you'll see lanes activated. Just copy your edit down to the next lane and bounce it as one file. You can then apply your offline effects to this new version and always have access to the edit if you need to change something.



Checker Boarder
This one gets a lot of use on background amb editing. In a nutshell, take your background track and run it the entire length of the scene. Then scroll through and make a cut on every camera cut. Don't worry about fades. Be sure there is an empty or available track from the same food group below. Turn on AUTO SELECT EVENTS UNDER CURSOR and select the first event in the line and then run this.

Transport - locate next event
Nudge - down
Navigate - up
Transport - Locate next event
(you may need to add another Navigate - UP at the end)

Assign a key command and it will step through placing every other cut onto the track below.

Then...

Select all the parts and ..

The Two Frame Kick Out
nudge - start left
nudge - end right
audio - apply standard fade in
audio - apply standard fade out.

If your standard fades are 2 frames, then this is the macro for you!

After your done, you can use the Part Maker macro to wrap up the events on both tracks as a part and it's ready for automation.
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Sunshy » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:08 am

Just wanted to resurrect this thread. Seems like Jesse is the only person really using the PLE to it's potential--and there's a LOT of it. No one responded if these PLE presets could be exchanged and I'm not able to download the .zip as the link is no good any longer. If they are made available to me, I'll test them out on my windows machine.
N 7 Cubase 9.5.1
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit, UAD-1s, RME UFX, UR824, UR28M, CMD-PD, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

johngar
Member
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by johngar » Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:33 pm

Sunshy wrote:Just wanted to resurrect this thread. Seems like Jesse is the only person really using the PLE to it's potential--and there's a LOT of it. No one responded if these PLE presets could be exchanged and I'm not able to download the .zip as the link is no good any longer. If they are made available to me, I'll test them out on my windows machine.
Thanks, for reviving this thread I would have missed it otherwise.
I too have not used the PLE much, but now I will. Thanks to everyone.
PC | Nuendo 8 | Cubase 8 | i7-4930k | Win10 | 32gb ram | Intensity Pro | Radeon HD7700 | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

artifactdetroit.com

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Norbury Brook » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:28 pm

Can you explain how to map this to the Artist controller.


MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:42 pm

Create and test the PLE preset first.

restart nuendo

Then you'll be able to find it in the EUCON menu
Eucon-keycommands-process project logical editor
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Sunshy » Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:10 am

The link to the presets is dead. Any way you can upload again? Or am I doing something wrong?
N 7 Cubase 9.5.1
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit, UAD-1s, RME UFX, UR824, UR28M, CMD-PD, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:24 pm

I don't have it anymore
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Brain » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:01 pm

Hey guys, question.....

I have always wondered how to use the PLE.
I am still on N3.
The PLE is only listed in the working with midi pdf.
Can the PLE be used for audio tracks, and to write PLE routines for any portion of the program, or just midi related functions?

Thanks,
Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

Kid Dropper Sound
Member
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Kid Dropper Sound » Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:09 pm

You can do a lot with it, not just midi
Win7 64 i7 24gb
RME FF400
AVID CONTROL - MIX - TRANSPORT
N5.5.2 - Pro Tools 10.0 CPTK
JBL LSR4326+4312
Jbridge, EQuality, COMPassion
www.kdsound.net

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by Brain » Wed Feb 22, 2012 7:35 pm

After taking a look at the user manuals I see that Since I am still using N3 (not by my choice)
I will not be able to use the PLE because is wasn't introduced until N4.

I look forward to the day that I can do things the smarter way.

Later,
bummed out Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

infinaneek
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:29 pm
Contact:

Re: The Project logical Editor and Eucon Macro Thread

Post by infinaneek » Thu Sep 17, 2015 4:32 pm

Hey guys, I need a PLE for this but can't seem to make one that works.

What i want is to select a bunch of tracks and have cubase perform the old 'Use previous track colour +1' command on them all.

However in the PLE, one can only set track colour.

Any ideas?

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests