reset the scanning for waves

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
scarsosb
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:12 pm
Contact:

reset the scanning for waves

Post by scarsosb » Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:41 pm

hello all,

I uninstalled my waves 8 bundle as I wanted to do a fresh install for my new waves 9.

Now every time I start N5.5.2, it ask to locate the waves plugins 8.0 folder.

Can you tell me how can i stop this warning. I verified and I don't see any trace of waves anywhere in my computer.

Thanks,

H

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2299
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Post by Fredo » Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:44 pm

Apparently you didn't un-install V8 correctly.
Search for waveshell.dll's and remove those.

Fredo

scarsosb
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Post by scarsosb » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:02 pm

I can't find any waveshell anywhere.

Is there a way to reset Nuendo scan at the loading ?

it must be a preference or a setting in Nuendo.

Thanks so much
H

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2299
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Post by Fredo » Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:55 pm

I don't understand (anymore) ...

Is this the same issue you are talking about or two different?
If Nuendo ask for Waves 8 upon startup, then it means that Waves V8 is not properly uninstalled.

Nuendo scans all plugins upon the first launch of Nuendo (and when daylight savings are changed).
After that first launch, all should be smooth and fast.
And with Waves V9 it should be lightning fast.

Fredo

scarsosb
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Post by scarsosb » Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:11 pm

Hey Fredo,

thanks for your help.

It is still the same problem. I uninstalled the waves 8 and apparently it wasn't done well. But when I look for anything "waves" related in my computer, i don't find anything. dll included. (I am running Mac OSX 10.6.8)

So is there a way for me to reset that warning on the Nuendo side which could be a preference reset or something else you would suggest ?

And every time I start Nuendo, it ask to locate the Waves 8.0 folder.

Thanks again.

H

maxhowarth
Member
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:14 pm
Contact:

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Post by maxhowarth » Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:01 am

there are no dll files on a mac. if you've got a spare 10 minutes i'd happily do a teamviewer session with you. email max at redfacilities dot com
best wishes
max

http://www.redfacilities.com

2 x 3.3 6core mac pro | 12gb ram | mac os 10.7.3| n5.5 | rme multiset/audiolink96 | 3 x 19" flat panels | decklink xt | waves8 | altiverb7 | mc mix

scarsosb
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Post by scarsosb » Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:39 pm

thanks so much all,

finally i found the files with Waves 8.0 after realizing spotlight didn't list them.

HD:MAcintosh/Library/Audio/plug-ins

I was able to delete them and not have these warnings again.

Thanks.

H

AgusHardiman
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:15 pm
Contact:

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Post by AgusHardiman » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:38 pm

There's one alternative solution to this problem, check this video (sorry it's on Studio One, but it's the same on Cubase) :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3k_Bcp04Cr4

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests