Page 1 of 1

Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 2:08 am
by StudioRay
Hi All,

Does anyone know an easy way around this?

I Have Nuendo's "Audio Pre-Record" set to 20 seconds. I've noticed that If I want to use the "Move to Origin" command for audio that I recorded near the beginning of the project - say 10 seconds in, that I get the error message, "Event cannot be moved. Origin is before project start". I never had this problem in N3. I use "Move to Origin" ALL the time in N3 when I want to experiment with tweaking the timing on something - like a vocal - and then want to quickly see again where the original timing was for a moment and then go back to tweaking. Also it's an absolute lifesaver for those times when an errant drag of the mouse moved something and you have no idea where it went!

I know that I could obviously take off Audio Pre-Record, or use a duplicate track for tweaking, but those seem like poor workarounds that aren't great as far as work-flow goes. And they don't compensate for that errant drag of the mouse.

Thanks!
Ray

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 8:23 am
by Fredo
The problem is what the error message indicates: "Origin is before project start".

When the pre-record is recorded, that portion is *before* the start of your project start. Project start minus 20".
So if you try to move "to origin", it wants to move that recording to project time minus 20".
Which it can't do, 'cause your project time is set to start 20 seconds later.
So all you have to do is change the project start time to a value that is at least minus 20" than the one you have now.

Fredo

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:38 pm
by Big K
20 seks pre-record ...
Did you have an infight with a tsetse fly or is the comfy heating that far away?
;-)
JK

Big K

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:38 pm
by Chewy Papadopoulos
Big K wrote:20 seks pre-record ...
Did you have an infight with a tsetse fly or is the comfy heating that far away?
;-)
JK

Big K

Now, that's funny.

But... fwiw, in a studio situation, how many times have you been working in one of those industry-magical situations where something cool was happening and the transport wasn't rolling... and if you'd only got back from your high trans-fat/low nutrition snack break ten or 20 seconds earlier you could have caught the whole thing?

Ok, you can always blame the 2nd, but it's still great to have a failsafe.

I won't say it's ever happened to ME... :oops: , but I've seen it happen enough to make sure a good overkill prerecord was on tap in one-of-a-kind situations.

On the other hand, when I'm working at home, I keep it at about a second...

Chewy

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:43 pm
by Chewy Papadopoulos
On the "other" other hand, it would probably make more sense for the audio event to respect the used portion rather than the entire bit including pre-record.

Or at least have it be a pref.

Having to re-set project start times is an unwanted, and I think un-necessary hassle. I've been up against this once or twice, myself. Didn't make sense; the pre-record buffer ought to be a SECRET weapon. If you can have a clip referring to a longer audio file that doesn't screw up your start time, pre-record ought to at least give you the option for the same.

I hate to say this... but sort of the way OMF works with handles.

Chewy

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 9:41 am
by Big K
Hmm, .. actually, up to now I did not have those magical moments -before I was "in the saddle" and prepared to kick the machine into gear... Probably because of the analog and digital tape machines I started off on. Of course, I use pre-record, too, and it safed my butt on many occasions ...also on voice recordings when actors just love to start before the maestro has waved his flag. But I have set it to ...errhh .. I believe 3 secs.
I am not saying that it is wrong to give it any amount of time, but when you look at some members who bicker about for some MBs that they deem waisted, to add 20 secs to every recorded event might really eat up hdd memory substantially. True is, if you captured the moment of excellency of a musicians performance it is worth it. For such critical jobs I have a litte digital portable recorder ticking along in a drawer, recording through the whole sessions.

All in all, giving the project a 20 additional secs pre-extension seems not to much of a hussle. If SB decides to takes care of the pre-record thing... all the better.

Big K

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:31 am
by Fredo
Well, we can argue about the need for 20" pre-roll.
The fact is that it gives you 20" to *react* whenever you hear something that is interesting ...

Fredo

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:59 pm
by StudioRay
The 20 seconds has been a lifesaver HUNDREDS of times for me.

Probably most often when I've been coaching a singer in-between takes, especially when it's a line that they're having a hard time getting the interpretation right on. There comes that point when they finally get it right while rehearsing it acappella, and I say "You got it!" and then play it back for them even though I wasn't supposedly recording. Being able to hear themselves singing the line properly really helps them get it into their head. Also there have been times when that line became the one that I then dropped into the song. Ditto for instrumentalists rehearsing their parts in between takes. Also there have been many times when an artist has decided to improvise along with a song when were just having a listen back, and I was able to capture something magical because I hit record after I heard them start. Lastly, it has happened when I thought I had engaged record during a take and then noticed that the machine wasn't recording, and so hitting record 10 seconds late was no problem at all. Sometimes I wish I had it set to forty seconds!

But that's just me.

Anyhow, back to the original intent of my post: Thank you for the reply Fredo, I can understand the reasoning behind why Nuendo wont let me move to origin for something recorded early in the project, and yes, going back and changing the project start time even after getting the error message is a workaround. But why isn't this an issue in N3? In N3 I can always move to origin, even with a take at the beginning of the project and with my pre-record set to 20 seconds.

Thanks,
Ray

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:21 pm
by Fredo
Was there a pre-record in pre-stone ages of N3?
Don't think so ...

Fredo

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:49 pm
by StudioRay
Fredo wrote:Was there a pre-record in pre-stone ages of N3?
Don't think so ...

Fredo

Oh absolutely! It first appeared in N3. I agree it's the stone ages for a lot of people and especially for you, who must be at the forefront of all things Steinberg, but I still use N3 all the time. For me some things are still easier in it as I learn N5. And some things I even like better, like being able to edit other instruments while recording. I am pretty much only a recent convert to N5 and completely skipped over N4, having never upgraded when it was out.

Thanks,
Ray

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:29 am
by Fredo
It was my believe that midi pre-record was there, but audio pre-record not.
My mistake then.

Fredo

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:16 pm
by Brandy
Yep it was there since N3 :-)

Hehe, BigK, thanks for the good laugh! :-)

Well:
Probably most often when I've been coaching a singer in-between takes, especially when it's a line that they're having a hard time getting the interpretation right on. There comes that point when they finally get it right while rehearsing it acappella, and I say "You got it!" and then play it back for them even though I wasn't supposedly recording. Being able to hear themselves singing the line properly really helps them get it into their head. Also there have been times when that line became the one that I then dropped into the song. Ditto for instrumentalists rehearsing their parts in between takes. Also there have been many times when an artist has decided to improvise along with a song when were just having a listen back, and I was able to capture something magical because I hit record after I heard them start. Lastly, it has happened when I thought I had engaged record during a take and then noticed that the machine wasn't recording, and so hitting record 10 seconds late was no problem at all
I can second that 1/1! All situations!!

Though I have only 2 sec of pre-rec... When doing these vox-training stuff I usually just solo the track by hitting S and then recording - just doing this by default when I feel this could be usefull..

But these 2 sec are enabling me to catch a manual drop in even when beeing distracted by typing an SMS or something ;-) Usually I catch it but it CAN happen that the 2 sec prerec is usefull here :-)

Yes, sometimes I wish that I have set to 40 sec pre-rec or something .. when something funny happened and when you hit rec the beginning is still missing... But I am recording that much, I would get lost in Terrabytes of useless data...

Re: Move to Origin and Audio Pre-Record

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:23 pm
by Brandy
I have to add - these little feature (pre-rec) is one of the smartest features of Nuendo. It is just something little... but this is just a daily lifesaver - even when only set to 2 or 3 seconds... And it usually makes you look like a god in front of your clients when someome said something funny in front of the mic and you just tell them "well, I have it, I recorded it afterwards"... 3 sec can be long if the joke is short and you are fast.