Lost video on laptop...

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:37 pm

I transferred a project from my win 7 x64 desktop to my new laptop and it's not playing back video. Any input would be great.

Original was N5.5.5, win 7 x64, and quicktime installed by installing iTunes.

Laptop is Lenovo y580, win8 x64, and again tried iTunes installer.

Anyone?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:30 am

Really? Nobody uses Nuendo 5.5 on a laptop or on Win 7/8?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 585
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by Big K » Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:57 am

Hmmm, maybe no one has lost a video, yet....
Worked flawless last time I used it...

Big K
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:15 am

When I've had problems like this it's pretty much always come down to not having the same set of codecs between systems. Have you checked? Or a video card on one that couldn't handle what the other could. It might be helpful to know more about the problem-- are you getting a blank/black video window? Is the window not showing up at all? Do you get a static image/poster frame, but no motion?

FWIW, I'm having no video problems on my laptops with 5.5.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:18 am

Big K wrote:Hmmm, maybe no one has lost a video, yet....
Worked flawless last time I used it...

Big K
If you've used it flawlessly on Windows 8 I'd like to know which version of Quicktime you're using.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:22 am

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:When I've had problems like this it's pretty much always come down to not having the same set of codecs between systems. Have you checked?


Thanks for the response. As I wrote, same project, which means same video.
Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:Or a video card on one that couldn't handle what the other could.
Good question. Video plays back outside of Nuendo from opening up from the Win8 desktop in Windows Media Player.
Chewy Papadopoulos wrote: It might be helpful to know more about the problem-- are you getting a blank/black video window? Is the window not showing up at all? Do you get a static image/poster frame, but no motion?
Window shows up but with black frame.
Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:FWIW, I'm having no video problems on my laptops with 5.5.

Chewy
OS?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:48 pm

Lydiot wrote:
Thanks for the response. As I wrote, same project, which means same video.


OS?
Same project, yes... but my point is that the laptop may not have the same codecs installed as your other (video working) computer. Just one possibility.

I don't know how Windows Media Player works, codec-wise, but do know that VLC, for example, has the codecs built into the program, so it can play just about anything regardless of what's installed; Quicktime, depending on the file type, doesn't necessarily have what you need right out of the box, and when they're not there you get black screen. So... it could be worth checking out.

Throughout my experience with Nuendo I've had (evolving) issues on both Macs & PCs, mostly having to do with the three factors of codec, video card and file type. It's taken experimentation (mainly with file type) to find the situation that works with each variation.

OS? XP and OSX. So I can't actually dive into your issue beyond this first-level troubleshoot. Sorry not to be of more help. Hope a W8 user can give you more specific and practical advice!

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:13 pm

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Lydiot wrote:
Thanks for the response. As I wrote, same project, which means same video.


OS?
Same project, yes... but my point is that the laptop may not have the same codecs installed as your other (video working) computer. Just one possibility.
My video file plays back in Win Media Player though, so surely it wouldn't be a codec issue.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

Bodo
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by Bodo » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:23 pm

Hi Lydiot.

Does the video play back in quicktime?
Does your "Video Player" setup (Devices/Device Setup) look correctly?

Regards

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:23 pm

Bodo wrote:Hi Lydiot.

Does the video play back in quicktime?
Does your "Video Player" setup (Devices/Device Setup) look correctly?

Regards
It did play back fine. As for the Video Player setup, I'm not sure what "correctly" means. What are you referring to?

EDIT:

Not sure if it did play back fine in QuickTime Player.

I just wish Steinberg could make public which version works with a Wintel x64 machine and where to find it. At least then we'd have a starting point. It simply makes no sense to have a media application (flagship no less) that requires Quicktime for video playback and then not tell users which version goes along with the application one buys.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

Bodo
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by Bodo » Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:34 pm

Open the Devices menu and select Device Setup.
In the Device Setup window open the Video Player setup page.
Is there a message hinting your graphics driver needs to be updated?

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:04 pm

No message.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2573
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by Fredo » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:08 pm

Lydiot wrote:It simply makes no sense to have a media application (flagship no less) that requires Quicktime for video playback and then not tell users which version goes along with the application one buys.
It is stated in the minimum requirements that QT 7.1 and video card supporting open GL 1.2 is needed.
Any newer version of QT will work.

Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:30 pm

Fredo wrote:
Lydiot wrote:It simply makes no sense to have a media application (flagship no less) that requires Quicktime for video playback and then not tell users which version goes along with the application one buys.
It is stated in the minimum requirements that QT 7.1 and video card supporting open GL 1.2 is needed.
Any newer version of QT will work.

Fredo
I just installed QT 7.7.3 as per recommendation and it's not working.

I tried to run the video by itself in QT player and it asks for "Apple Application Support". I remember now all the hoops I had to run through to get this crap to work on Win7.... Well, clearly not the specific hoops.

So where does one get AAS?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:13 pm

Nevermind. Solved it. The solution is simple:

1. Spend way too much time googling instead of getting info from Steinberg
2. Download iTunes for windows
3. Google some more on a way to avoid installing that crap
4. Download 7-zip
5. Extract iTunes installer
6. Run the appleapplicationsupport.msi file inside the extracted iTunes installer folder.

You're welcome Steinberg. Feel free to copy/paste the relevant part and put it on your webpage (I know you won't though).
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:14 pm

Fredo wrote:
Lydiot wrote:It simply makes no sense to have a media application (flagship no less) that requires Quicktime for video playback and then not tell users which version goes along with the application one buys.
It is stated in the minimum requirements that QT 7.1 and video card supporting open GL 1.2 is needed.
Any newer version of QT will work.

Fredo
See my previous post.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat Dec 22, 2012 1:29 pm

Spoke too soon!

Today it's not working again.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Lost video on laptop...

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:04 pm

Ran the ".msi" installer again and chose "repair" and now it's working.

Image
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest