How to see if a VST 2.4 effect is 64 bit?

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

How to see if a VST 2.4 effect is 64 bit?

Post by rumlee » Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:40 pm

How to see if a VST 2.4 effect is 64 bit? I am using Camel Crusher a lot, so I would like to see, if it is 64 bit. Or is cubase 9 accepting vst 2.4?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: How to see if a VST 2.4 effect is 64 bit?

Post by rumlee » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:48 pm

Anyone? What I want to know is, if a VST 2.4 will work in Cubase 9? Is a VST 2.4 also 64 bit, or can it also be 32 bit?
please see screen shot from Cubase. If it says win 32, does this mean, that all the ones without the win32 extension, that they are 64 bit?
Attachments
Unavngivet.jpg
(185.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: How to see if a VST 2.4 effect is 64 bit?

Post by neilwilkes » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:26 pm

Cubase 9 is fine with VST2.x plugins, but be careful as old VST2 might not work correctly.
You cannot use 32-bit plugins in Cubase 9 - bit bridge is now gone (and good riddance) but J-Bridge may still work.
To check 32 or 64-bit, look at where it is installed. If the dll is in the "Program Files (x86)" folder it is 32-bit.
There are several possible install locations, which does not help:
C:\Program Files (x86)\VSTplugins
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VSTplugins
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Cubase_x\VSTplugins
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\VST2
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Steinberg\VST2
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest