Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
seabreeze
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:30 pm
Contact:

Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by seabreeze » Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:22 pm

Hi,
I have Cubase 6 on a Windows 7 PC.
I have tried to install the version of HSO that came with my Cubase 6 upgrade but cannot find the programme anywhere on my computer after the install.
I first tried installing it in my VST file under my Cubase 6 file tree, I then installed it in the default location but with no success either time.
If I try to uninstall it it shows up in the list of programmes to uninstall and seems to uninstall succcessfully.
Could some suggest where iI should install it.
I also had this on Cubase 5 and paid for the upgrade to the full version.
The full version licence is on my eLicenser.
I have tried using the media bay to look for it but no success. 2 hours wasted!!
Thanks.

Ok, I've found out a bit more about this on some of the other threads.
Media Bay shows the Symphonic Orchestra is installed but searching for orchestral samples doesn't show up which plug in as being accessed. I'm still not sure which sounds are from HSO 16 bit and which are from Sonic SE.
Is there any way to show which plug an instrument is from?

Thanks.

Chris Beuermann

Re: Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by Chris Beuermann » Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:12 pm

Hello,


Please have a look at the following knowledge base article

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... /2020.html

Cheers,

Chris

Biss
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:26 am
Contact:

Re: Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by Biss » Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:13 am

I have a similar problem. I read the article but I can't find HSO library for Halion Se anywhere. I already asked this many times in the forum but no answer.

Wotansring
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by Wotansring » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:14 pm

I have the same problerm. The link suggested by Chris does not help because it does not address the Cubase connection to the full version of HSO. Or are they not compatible?

handroid
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 8:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by handroid » Sun Nov 06, 2011 8:33 pm

on my pc I moved it to a subdirectoty of the Halio folder in appdata. At first it was inside of VST Sound, found at the same location:
C:\Users\handroid\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Content\HALion\VST Sound - HSO

I had to uninstall the trial version of HSO, I was told to do it by the support person, as a solution to the problem that is that if I install it, Cubase gives me an error " a valid license was not found" for it.
Has anyone encountered a License problem with the trial version of HSO?

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by galvinstephen » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:52 pm

Chris Beuermann wrote:Hello,
Please have a look at the following knowledge base article
https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... /2020.html
Cheers,
Chris
Chris! The knowledgebase article says:

"Open the preset browser in HALion Sonic SE (picture below)"

There is no picture below.

I presume you refer to Halion Sonic SE/Load Preset/ .

"Click on a title menu like e.g. „Key“ and select „Audio – Assets / Library Name“

There is no 'Menu' nor 'Menu title' .
There are columns marked 'Category', 'Sub Category', 'Style' etc.

"Activate the filter for „HALion Symphonic Orchestra“ below the now available menu „Library Name“ and you get the HALion Symphonic Orchestra presets displayed."

There is no „HALion Symphonic Orchestra“ nor any menu or column „Library Name“.

Are we on the same page or is something getting lost in translation? :?:
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.5 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 3 Wavelab Pro 10
Laptop: MSI Intel i7-9750 CPU @ 2.6GHz 32GB RAM. Windows 10 64bit. Intel SSD 300GB +500GB.
Desktop: Intel i7-9700 CPU @ 3 GHz 32GB RAM Windows 10 Intel SSD 500GB +1TB +1TB.

Focusrite Scarlett 1820, Octopre, Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by Elektrobolt » Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:48 pm

Click on Program/Patch selector (on Track or in HALion Sonic SE), click the button "Logical", click on "Any Attribute" and select "Library Name", type in "HALion Symphonic Orchestra" in the Search String text field (to the right of "matches"), hit enter.

You should now see the HSO presets in the Search Results (on the right).
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Halion Symphonic orchestra VST install problem

Post by galvinstephen » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:44 am

Elektrobolt wrote:Click on Program/Patch selector (on Track or in HALion Sonic SE), click the button "Logical", click on "Any Attribute" and select "Library Name", type in "HALion Symphonic Orchestra" in the Search String text field (to the right of "matches"), hit enter.

You should now see the HSO presets in the Search Results (on the right).
Umm. No results.

I wonder if we should just start again.
I want to install HSO on my new laptop.
I have two install discs which came from Cubase 5 and marked 'Trial version'.
Another disc call ' Halion Symphonic Orchestra VSt Sound Instrument Set.
I also downloaded an upade from the the Steinberg website. 3.5.0.592 :?

Where would I go from here?
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.5 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 3 Wavelab Pro 10
Laptop: MSI Intel i7-9750 CPU @ 2.6GHz 32GB RAM. Windows 10 64bit. Intel SSD 300GB +500GB.
Desktop: Intel i7-9700 CPU @ 3 GHz 32GB RAM Windows 10 Intel SSD 500GB +1TB +1TB.

Focusrite Scarlett 1820, Octopre, Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest