HSO 16bit on a Win7 64 bit

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
dsoffner
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:30 am
Contact:

HSO 16bit on a Win7 64 bit

Post by dsoffner » Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:58 am

Hi,

I installed Cubase 5 with the HSO 16 bit version on a Windows 7 32-bit system last year.

Now I am planning to upgrade my system:
- Rebuilding my operating system to Win7 64 bit
- Updating Cubase 5 to Cubase 6

What happens to the HSO 16 bit version ? Is it still possible for me to use that in the new environment ?

Thanks.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO 16bit on a Win7 64 bit

Post by JMCecil » Fri Nov 25, 2011 4:59 pm

Yes, make sure you read as many of the posts in this forum as possible about C6 and HSO patches that are in vst3 format that can be used with Halion Sonic SE. There is an x64 version of the HSO player, but HSO is one of the worst interfaces ever designed by man. Much easier to use HS-SE. There are already many threads about this topic. READ THEM.

If you are going to use C6x32, then it will work exactly how it works now.
If you start using C6x64, you can use the existing stuff bridged, or install the x64 HSO player (again .. YUK, why would you? well stand alone I guess)
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: HSO 16bit on a Win7 64 bit

Post by galvinstephen » Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:50 am

JMCecil wrote:There is an x64 version of the HSO player, but HSO is one of the worst interfaces ever designed by man.
I though it was just me. an intelligence test I sadly failed...
JMCecil wrote: Much easier to use HS-SE. There are already many threads about this topic. READ THEM.
Where?
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.5 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 3 Wavelab Pro 10
Laptop: MSI Intel i7-9750 CPU @ 2.6GHz 32GB RAM. Windows 10 64bit. Intel SSD 300GB +500GB.
Desktop: Intel i7-9700 CPU @ 3 GHz 32GB RAM Windows 10 Intel SSD 500GB +1TB +1TB.

Focusrite Scarlett 1820, Octopre, Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

dsoffner
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:30 am
Contact:

Re: HSO 16bit on a Win7 64 bit

Post by dsoffner » Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:36 am

Here is a good intro into the topic:

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... /2020.html

I installed HSO (from Cubase 6) into Halion 4 today without any problems. It recognized my old licence I had acquired for the HSO version that shipped with Cubase 5.

Only problem I saw when trying it out that the volume of the HSO instruments was extremely low. Will have to look into that.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO 16bit on a Win7 64 bit

Post by JMCecil » Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:26 pm

dsoffner wrote:Here is a good intro into the topic:

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... /2020.html

I installed HSO (from Cubase 6) into Halion 4 today without any problems. It recognized my old licence I had acquired for the HSO version that shipped with Cubase 5.

Only problem I saw when trying it out that the volume of the HSO instruments was extremely low. Will have to look into that.
Mod Wheel
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2449
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: HSO 16bit on a Win7 64 bit

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:14 pm

dsoffner wrote:What happens to the HSO 16 bit version ? Is it still possible for me to use that in the new environment ?
The "16-bit" in HSO refers to the resolution of the audio samples and has nothing whatsoever to do with whether the OS or Cubase is 32-bit or 64-bit. On the Cubase 6 DVD you'll find the HSO content, revised in .vstsound format which you can load into the HALion Sonic SE synth which is part of Cubase 6. Your license for the original HSO VST plugin will allow this -- in fact, if you don't need to use HSO outside of Cubase, you can even uninstall the original (VST2) version and save about 11GB of disk space.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.12 • WaveLab 10.0.20 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest