Hypersonic 2: Mac OSX Mountain Lion

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
jim99
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Hypersonic 2: Mac OSX Mountain Lion

Post by jim99 » Fri May 10, 2013 5:58 pm

A few month ago I updated to "Mountain Lion".
Last times I only install the OSX update over the active installation.
But this time I used a clean install - I think that's the problem!

If I try to use Hypersonic 2 as a VSTi-plugin, Cubase is asking about the content (screenshots).
The saved song asked again and again - the path is lost!

I can't use the "Set HS2 Content Location.app", because Mountain Lion is not able to run the old app.

Any idea?

Regards,
Jim
Attachments
_Library_Audio_Plug-Ins_VST_Hypersonic_Hypersonic Content.png
(137.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_115.png.png
(410.12 KiB) Not downloaded yet
iMac, Cubase, HALion 4, diverse VSTi, nanoKONTROL2

vibetribe
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:56 am
Location: London/New York
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2: Mac OSX Mountain Lion

Post by vibetribe » Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:51 pm

This has happened to me and really sucks. Hypersonic is no longer supported by cubase and therefor it means that old projects are compromised. i am trying to make sense of what someone wrote in a post here. >> http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... ic#p279838

not sure if it means that halion sonic has the hypersonic sound sets etc...

another option is to use jbridge (mac version here > http://jstuff.wordpress.com/jbridgem/ ) so that you can use 32bit plugins in 64bit daws.

What i usually do in your situation is select the plug in from the inspector, click on the plugin/instrument iself which leads to a folder browser window asking you to locate the content folder, then I select the folder for the path which you can search for in your finder or explorer called "Hypersonic Content" as in your image (ignore the content location link in this folder as it does not work anymore,,, you put a ring around it in your image) ... once done... I have to toggle to any sound, and then back to the desired sound to make it stick. Now the content folder will stay locked for the duration of your DAW remaining open... I still find buggy things going on ... and it makes my daw crash sometimes :( ... so now im just on the lookout for similar patches on other current virtual instruments.

Please post any other solution you may find to this issue :)
Always looking for talented individuals to collaborate with :)

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2: Mac OSX Mountain Lion

Post by ffg » Wed Nov 27, 2013 12:36 pm

Confirm this happens, but it isn't necessarily related to Mountain Lion. I had Hypersonic 2 running fine on ML on my old MacPro, but when I started using the newer MacPro, I get this message the first time I open H2 in a new project. Once I've located the folder, it seems to remember where the folder is until the next day. Very annoying, I really like H2 for some of the sounds and it's small cpu usage.

I seem to have lost the original installation disc (still have the authorisation on elicencer, obviously) and I can't find a copy of H2 in the legacy ftp download section - they have Hypersonic 1 and 1.1 but not H2. Does anyone know if it's available anywhere?
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.3
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800

zvenx
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2: Mac OSX Mountain Lion

Post by zvenx » Wed May 27, 2015 10:42 pm

Hi,
Found a solution.
I have an old imac running SL that allowed me to see the contents of the
com.steinberg.plugins.Hypersonic 2.plist
found in Library/Preferences:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Content Location</key>
<string>"whereveryourcontentis"</string>
</dict>
</plist>

where "whereeveryyourcontentis" is replaced by your actual location.
in my case an external hard drive called mac stream

/Volumes/Mac Stream/Steinberg/Hypersonic/
so mine looked like:


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Content Location</key>
<string>/Volumes/Mac Stream/Steinberg/Hypersonic/</string>
</dict>
</plist>


then compared my plugin and the plist ownership properties with other such plists and plugins... fixed them with batcmod and restarted.
seems I am good to go.
hope this helps others..
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest