HSO Soundset Volume Problems

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
synchronizer
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:30 pm
Contact:

HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by synchronizer » Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:10 am

Hello everyone. I've been working with the orchestral soundset, and there's one problem; The volume for all the instruments is impeccably low! I see there's another topic, but changing the expression to velocity does not make the instruments loud again. I'm looking forward to responses so I can troubleshoot, as I'm trying to compose a song that requires these instruments. Thank you.
Old System: 2010 macbook pro i7 Mac OS 10.9, Cubase 6

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2442
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by MrSoundman » Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:38 pm

Is there any nice way to tell you that the answer is in the manual? 8-)
Or here: No sound from HSO inside Cubase
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.10 • WaveLab 10.0.20 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

synchronizer
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:30 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by synchronizer » Sat Mar 26, 2011 2:03 am

That doesn't have to do with my problem. I can hear the samples perfectly fine, but they are extremely quiet compared to other HS-SE sounds. the HSO samples rely on the modwheel, this I understand, but the virtual modwheel in the HS-SE vst doesn't seem to actually increase the volume when I edit it. I will try again when I can, but I am doubtful.
Old System: 2010 macbook pro i7 Mac OS 10.9, Cubase 6

Egebjerg
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by Egebjerg » Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:39 pm

Just to add further confusion Steinberg has added yet another “No Sound In HSO” feature in HALion Sonic HSO VST Sound Instrument Set. ;)

The MIDI controller “CC11 Expression” now work as an additional gain control in series with the normal “CC7 Main Volume”.

Normally it isn’t a problem because HALion Sonic SE at startup set the Expression (CC11) to 127 (even though the Generic Editor shows 0 until you move the slider).

But if you for instance import a project from the original HSO, you might have set “CC11 Expression” to something else (because CC11 was used to set expression in the same way as “CC1 Modulation” is used in the new VST Instrument Set).

I solved the problem by adding a controller CC11 with Data 2 set to 127 in the beginning of each MIDI lane in the List Editor, but perhaps other have a more elegant solution.
iMac 21.5 | 3.06 GHz | 12GB | OSX 10.8.5 |
CB 7.5.0 64 bit | Phonic HB 12 FW MKII

Pete A
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:32 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by Pete A » Tue May 03, 2011 3:48 pm

Is there any update to this please? I also have the problem where the HSO patches are barely audible through Halion Sonic.

Egebjerg
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by Egebjerg » Fri May 06, 2011 3:21 pm

Exactly how loud are they?

When I load “Violin Solo Combi” I read -11.2 db FS when playing C3 with maximum Modulation (CC1), and thats seems enough for me ;)
iMac 21.5 | 3.06 GHz | 12GB | OSX 10.8.5 |
CB 7.5.0 64 bit | Phonic HB 12 FW MKII

xz69Micky
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:08 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by xz69Micky » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:50 pm

Did anyone actually solve this problem? Because I'm in the same boat, the HSO sounds within Halion Sonic are barely audible. They're there so it's not no sound, just very low sound. Same sounds in HSO are fine.

I need to understand and resolve this before moving to Lion OSX and thus losing HSO. Relying on a HSO soundset in Halion Sonic is not an answer at the moment.

Thanks.
Cubase Pro 10.0.10, OSX 10.14 El Capitan, Steinberg MR816X

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2442
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by MrSoundman » Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:21 pm

xz69Micky wrote:Did anyone actually solve this problem?
It's not really a problem if you consider that the soundset represents an entire orchestra which will have a pretty massive dynamic range as soon as you start adding more and more instruments; the -12dB headroom is to allow for the fact that many instruments playing simultaneously could cause the output to overload.

If you're not playing massively orchestrated pieces, i.e. just need a solo violin here and there, you can customise each patch so that it's individual output has less headroom and is effectively louder when heard in isolation. You can do this via Edit -> Zone, click the speaker icon ("Show Amplification Section") and change the headroom from -12dB to -6dB or even 0dB.

[EDIT] Just realised this is about HSSE and not H4, sorry, followed the link in the email :oops: You can however achieve the same result in the HSO patches in HSSE by just raising the amplifier section from 0dB to say, +6dB.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.10 • WaveLab 10.0.20 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by JMCecil » Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:44 am

About every 5th post in this forum is this problem. Simple answer and yes it is in the manual several times

MOD WHEEL
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2442
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by MrSoundman » Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:17 pm

JMCecil wrote:About every 5th post in this forum is this problem
The OP claimed he understood this when it was pointed out to him at the time ... when the revised soundset is played from HSSE there is in fact a difference but that can be compensated for as explained above.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.10 • WaveLab 10.0.20 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by JMCecil » Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:48 pm

That's weird, I play it through HSSE and I don't have the volume difference. I believe it is still not being properly automated through the mod wheel. If you don't have an external keyboard, try using a MIDI automation lane.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2442
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:00 am

It's difficult to compare the HSO plugin directly the HSO VST Sound Instrument Set in HSSE because the presets seem to be very much simplified in the HSSE soundset but in the HSO plugin, the presets are set at 0dB output level whereas in HSSE they are at -12dB by default.

Therefore the difficulties people are having are not only because they are not aware of the need to use the mod wheel (although that, and needing to RTFM is by far the most common problem) -- the presets are in fact different.

If you load "Vln solo combi Vel KS_16" in the plugin, it's louder than "Violin solo combi" in HSSE with mod at 127.

This is purely academic though because the differences are easily compensated for within HSSE.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.10 • WaveLab 10.0.20 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
metl4evr
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Massachusetts, US of A
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by metl4evr » Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:18 pm

Egebjerg wrote:Exactly how loud are they?

When I load “Violin Solo Combi” I read -11.2 db FS when playing C3 with maximum Modulation (CC1), and thats seems enough for me ;)
No way dude...

this is REALLY low. mine measures -35 db. So when i compensate for volume, i can actually hear the hissing from some other tracks.

its LOW.
Cubase Pro 8.5 | WaveLab 9 | Windows 10 | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Babyface PRO | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Ping G25 Diamana 'ahina 70g Stiff

Egebjerg
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by Egebjerg » Mon Apr 09, 2012 2:07 pm

Hi metl4evr

-35 dB will only go for the very low passages ;)

As JMCecil said earlier in this post, most problems with low output of HSO are related to low settings of the mood wheel, but if there are other reasons, it could be interesting to reveal them.

So I like to ask if you could try something out.

Make a 1/1 note C3 and send it to HSO “Violin Solo Combi” on a midi track.

Then in Note Expression for this note set:

CC1 (Modulation) to 127,
CC7 (Main Volume) to 127 and
CC11 (Expression) to 127

how much are you then reading on the output meter?


Best regards
iMac 21.5 | 3.06 GHz | 12GB | OSX 10.8.5 |
CB 7.5.0 64 bit | Phonic HB 12 FW MKII

User avatar
metl4evr
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Massachusetts, US of A
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by metl4evr » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:32 pm

Well funny... got it sorted...

I simply turned my modulation wheel and got it to like -6! thats more like it!

I wasn't aware that the Mod wheel acts as a volume knob in this capacity on Sonic SE.
Cubase Pro 8.5 | WaveLab 9 | Windows 10 | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Babyface PRO | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Ping G25 Diamana 'ahina 70g Stiff

User avatar
metl4evr
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:43 pm
Location: Massachusetts, US of A
Contact:

Re: HSO Soundset Volume Problems

Post by metl4evr » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:33 pm

JMCecil wrote:About every 5th post in this forum is this problem. Simple answer and yes it is in the manual several times

MOD WHEEL
Indeed...

I suppose I have to ask... why so low in the first place? no one wants lousy S/N ratio do they?
Cubase Pro 8.5 | WaveLab 9 | Windows 10 | RME HDSPe-AIO | RME Babyface PRO | Intel Core i7 980 3.33gHz 24gb RAM | Ping G25 Diamana 'ahina 70g Stiff

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest