CMC-PD not working

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers

CMC-PD not working

Postby CappacinoKid » Mon Jul 07, 2014 11:36 pm

Happy Monday all,

I just got this even though they're discontinued couldn't resist at $37, paid 100 each for my other two.

I saw the other post on this and did what was suggested there, firmware updates etc, as per instructions.

I have CH and TP that both work fine. PD lights up and I can open the browser etc., but no drum pads seem to work. I tried different banks, even tho 1 seems to be the right one, different drums plugins.

What am I missing? Thanks.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/16GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.10.125 64bit/Wavelab Elements 8.0.4/
User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby Rommelaar » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:57 am

Do you use an external powered USB-hub? I had a similair problem after I installed too many USB-devices without using an externally powered USB-hub.

Alternatively, re-install Yamahama midi controller driver.

Good luck.
Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 64 GB RAM, 3 x 24" LED, Asus Strix GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Audio hardware:Steinberg UR44 / CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD, Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, ZOOM H6, Akai MAX49, Akai MPD226
Steinberg Software: Cubase Pro 8.5, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, Grand 3, Groove Agent 4
Favourite plugins: Waldorf Largo / Nave / Lector / PPG Wave v3, Omnisphere 2 & Trilian, U-HE Diva/Hive/Zebra 2/Zebra HZ, Dune 2, Fabfilter plugins, Z3ta +2, Electra 2, Rob Papen synths, Sylenth1, Harmor, Sytrus, ImpOSCar 2, Oddity 2
User avatar
Rommelaar
Junior Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby CappacinoKid » Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:23 pm

Thanks for the reply. Yes I'm using a powered hub.

Guess I'll do the re-install thing and see what happens.
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/16GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.10.125 64bit/Wavelab Elements 8.0.4/
User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby CappacinoKid » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:33 pm

OK it's working now but only when I have the drum editor open and Superior closed, is that normal?
Asus Z97-A/i7-4790K/16GB/Win10 x64/Focusrite Scarlett 18i20/CMC-CH-TP-PD/Cubase 8.5.10.125 64bit/Wavelab Elements 8.0.4/
User avatar
CappacinoKid
Junior Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:17 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby Milocraft » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:10 am

I am having a similar issue. I have everything installed. Cubase recognizes it as a device. I have tried assigning every combination of midi in and out with no success. What is the magic secret?
Think Epic!
User avatar
Milocraft
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:54 pm
Location: Everett, WA, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby Milocraft » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:47 am

I realized I had not updated the firmware so I did that. Now it is recognized by Cubase as a controller. The lights work on the pads. I can open the "Browse" window in Battery so I know it is connected. But it will not send out any Midi signals. What should the Midi In and Midi Out be set to?
Think Epic!
User avatar
Milocraft
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:54 pm
Location: Everett, WA, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby Milocraft » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:59 am

OK, the problem was in my Midi Port Setup in the Device Setup. I did not have the check boxes checked for "In All Midi" for the 3 Ins so they were "inactive". Once I checked those boxes they became "active" and I could then set the Midi in and out channels in the Remote Devices window.

I ended up setting Midi Input to CMC-PD-2 and Midi Output to CMC-PD-1.

I hope that helps someone who has the same issue as me.

Now go create some music!
Think Epic!
User avatar
Milocraft
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:54 pm
Location: Everett, WA, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby BriHar » Thu Aug 14, 2014 12:10 pm

Why would you want to send MIDI Output to the PD it's an input controller?
(Unless of course you like to watch the blinking lights)
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2705
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 261 times

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby Milocraft » Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:01 am

Good question. I don't think I knew what I was doing back then. I basically know just enough to get in trouble but I seem to get by. :)
Think Epic!
User avatar
Milocraft
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 8:54 pm
Location: Everett, WA, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: CMC-PD not working

Postby bmckeen » Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:49 am

hi
i'm having the same problem with groove agent. I can't get the PD to function with GA as a standalone or plugin in cubase. My system recognizes the PD as a input device but i can't get it to function. I just reinstall the drivers and CMC utilities but no change.

any suggestions?
DAW: Cubase Pro 8.5.10 (64bit), OS: Windows 10, CPU: Intel Corei7-4770 CPU@ 3.40 GHz, RAM: 12GB, AI: Steinberg 824 Firebox, Mic Preamp: PreSonus Studio Channel, Studio Monitors: Yamaha HS5
bmckeen
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 11:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Steinberg CMC Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests