C7 - Cant get CMC FD to control Group Channels

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
garbagetruckdriver
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:26 am
Location: South East Asia
Contact:

C7 - Cant get CMC FD to control Group Channels

Post by garbagetruckdriver » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:28 pm

Wondering if I am the only one seeing this -

recently upgraded to C7. I have been running four banks of CMC-FDs to control subgroups. The FD only talks to Mixer 1 so I used to set that mixer to only show group channels, Mixer 2 to show only inputs, and Mixer 3 shows my active VSTs and audio channels.

Under C7, I can't get the CMC-FD to operate group channels on Mixer 1 - ONLY VST and MIDI tracks (not audio channels)

Have I missed a configuration option or a bulletin somewhere? I didn't see this listed in the known issues...
Can anyone else recreate this problem?

(Now on MacPro OSX 10.7.5, Cubase 7.00, latest CMC drivers)
Hardware MacPro 8core & 2x MacMini i7 OSX 10.9.5
RME RayDat and 3x ADI-8 Pro III
Neve & BAE Pres, Royer & Shure mics, AxeFxII, 65Amps, Dr Z, CAA PT-100, '69 Marshall Plexi Superlead 100, Evil Robot, Mesa Boogie Siletto, Eventide FX, Steinberg CMC controllers (all)
Software Cubase 8.0.5, Vienna Ensemble Pro, Vienna Instruments Pro, Spectrasonics, Native Instruments Komplete, AAS Lounge Lizard, 8DIO, Toontrack & SSD4, Heavyocity
Guitars Suhr, Mayones, PRS, Fender, Gibson, Ibanez
Keyboards Yamaha MoX8

garbagetruckdriver
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:26 am
Location: South East Asia
Contact:

Re: C7 - Cant get CMC FD to control Group Channels

Post by garbagetruckdriver » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:40 pm

Perhaps I should be more specific... I can't get the FD to control input channels, Mono or Stereo (recorded) Audio channels, Group channels, FX channels...

Then only channels the it will control our VST output channels and Midi Channels.

Anyone experiencing the same?
Hardware MacPro 8core & 2x MacMini i7 OSX 10.9.5
RME RayDat and 3x ADI-8 Pro III
Neve & BAE Pres, Royer & Shure mics, AxeFxII, 65Amps, Dr Z, CAA PT-100, '69 Marshall Plexi Superlead 100, Evil Robot, Mesa Boogie Siletto, Eventide FX, Steinberg CMC controllers (all)
Software Cubase 8.0.5, Vienna Ensemble Pro, Vienna Instruments Pro, Spectrasonics, Native Instruments Komplete, AAS Lounge Lizard, 8DIO, Toontrack & SSD4, Heavyocity
Guitars Suhr, Mayones, PRS, Fender, Gibson, Ibanez
Keyboards Yamaha MoX8

garbagetruckdriver
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:26 am
Location: South East Asia
Contact:

Re: C7 - Cant get CMC FD to control Group Channels

Post by garbagetruckdriver » Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:24 am

Ok, here's an update on where I got with this.

Issue 1 - Steinberg support suggested not to import old projects or templates from C6x. You need to recreate all your templates. To all my friends with orchestral or VSL templates, this sucks balls, unless you think that hours of setting up templates is 'fun'.
(given my next points this might not be the case always. As you'll see, I think the issue was that the CMCs were only talking to the first 16 channels and since I placed all my inputs first, i never got the CMC FD to find the group channels - see my workaround)

Issue 2. The CMC FD still does not appear to talk to Input channels or Output channels, but it will talk to Audio, FX, Midi, Group, Folder and VST channel types.

Issue 3. The CMC FD under Cubase 6x only addresses faders in Mixer 1. Under C7, it addresses channels in Mixer 1,2 & 3 simultaneously. (so my old approach of setting mixer 1 to display ONLY Group channels is no longer valid)

The workaround I am now trying, besides creating all new templates, is to put 16 group channels at the top of my Project Track List (therefore these will always be the leftmost channel faders). This way as new tracks are added, they will not reassign my group faders from the CMC.
I also tried this will 12 Stereo Group faders and 4 FX faders and that seems to be working ok too.
Doing this allows me to keep three Mixer windows on my second monitor, top being my tracks (Mixer3) Lower left being my inputs (Mixer2) and lower right being my Group faders (Mixer1), with the studio Control Room wedged in there too.

So if you want to lock the FD faders to specific channels, make them the top of the project track list.

I can appreciate that not everyone wants to work this way and the CMC FDs are designed to allow you to nudge/jump back and forth across track channels, but I have wired up my studio so that subgroups to go out of my DAW and get summed in the analog domain - thus I want those faders tied to controlling the output level of my sub groups.

Hope this saves someone some frustration...
Hardware MacPro 8core & 2x MacMini i7 OSX 10.9.5
RME RayDat and 3x ADI-8 Pro III
Neve & BAE Pres, Royer & Shure mics, AxeFxII, 65Amps, Dr Z, CAA PT-100, '69 Marshall Plexi Superlead 100, Evil Robot, Mesa Boogie Siletto, Eventide FX, Steinberg CMC controllers (all)
Software Cubase 8.0.5, Vienna Ensemble Pro, Vienna Instruments Pro, Spectrasonics, Native Instruments Komplete, AAS Lounge Lizard, 8DIO, Toontrack & SSD4, Heavyocity
Guitars Suhr, Mayones, PRS, Fender, Gibson, Ibanez
Keyboards Yamaha MoX8

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: C7 - Cant get CMC FD to control Group Channels

Post by BriHar » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:59 pm

From what I understand, the FD follows the Mackie HUI model, so thats where your problems might lay. The Mackie HUI model doesn't address input or output channels I believe. I had the same issue regarding using a BCF2000 in Mackie emulation mode.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: C7 - Cant get CMC FD to control Group Channels

Post by theRoyal1 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 10:12 am

garbagetruckdriver wrote:
Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:24 am
The workaround I am now trying, besides creating all new templates, is to put 16 group channels at the top of my Project Track List (therefore these will always be the leftmost channel faders). This way as new tracks are added, they will not reassign my group faders from the CMC.
I also tried this will 12 Stereo Group faders and 4 FX faders and that seems to be working ok too.
Doing this allows me to keep three Mixer windows on my second monitor, top being my tracks (Mixer3) Lower left being my inputs (Mixer2) and lower right being my Group faders (Mixer1), with the studio Control Room wedged in there too.

So if you want to lock the FD faders to specific channels, make them the top of the project track list.

I can appreciate that not everyone wants to work this way and the CMC FDs are designed to allow you to nudge/jump back and forth across track channels, but I have wired up my studio so that subgroups to go out of my DAW and get summed in the analog domain - thus I want those faders tied to controlling the output level of my sub groups.

Hope this saves someone some frustration...
It was 5 years later but YES. Absolutely helped me think clearly on how to accomplish my 8 Buss FD setup.

TY
djrtnyc
:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest