CMC-TP Discontinued?

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Makumbaria » Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:50 am

I bought CMC-AI today, and I was planning to buy QC next month...
Cubase 9.5 Pro / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.1 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 1.0.30 / Halion 5.1.10 / Halion Sonic 2 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 4 / Sampletank 3 SE / VSL / Bias amp & FX / Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI

501dubz
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:13 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by 501dubz » Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:25 pm

ah i'm having the best timing ever. I just bought the AI, QC and the PD in thoughts of Steinberg maybe improving their potential later on... but no.

Of course I cant tell Steinberg how to run their company but I sure wish I hadnt bought these now after reading about discontinuation. These products are, what.. two years old now and they're already discontinued?

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by BriHar » Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:52 pm

Odd isn't it. Yet the CC121 which is an older product is still being flogged.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by jamusic » Mon May 05, 2014 2:43 am

Just to chime in - I clicked on Steve's link on page 1 and it also gave me all the info & options right up to 'Add To Cart' and takes me to 'Your Shopping Cart' & to 'Proceed' if I want to.

The only thing that is different is the shipping isn't free, as displayed on the site.

But that's probably because I'm in Western Canada and the free shipping is most likely for the US as the price shows in USD.

But still looks available here.

I got mine about 6 months ago at the local music shop for $99.00 CAD though, which is cheaper. :D
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by BriHar » Mon May 05, 2014 12:51 pm

Hmm, could this be "dumping"?
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

mustech221
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:30 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by mustech221 » Wed May 07, 2014 11:40 am

They are not 'In' the web SHOP on the .net/en/shop site and there is no 'Buy Now' on the product info for them.

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by jamusic » Wed May 07, 2014 5:17 pm

Sounds like it's location specific regarding any remaining stock, most likely then.
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


mustech221
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:30 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by mustech221 » Mon May 12, 2014 2:28 pm

Incidently, who actually manufactures the CMC's for Steinberg? It wouldn't by any chance be the German company, Wergin and Korfhage,WK-Audio who produced the ID-CONSOLE for Nuendo 6? they look very similar in finish. They ceased trading at the begining of this year (2014)
Image
"ID-CONSOLE by WK AUDIO is one of the most advanced software controller available today. Developed in tandem with Steinberg's Media Production software NUENDO, ID-CONSOLE ensures unprecedented levels of integration. The unique versatility and advanced usability concept make ID-CONSOLE suitable for any audio work, including post production, music tracking, broadcast and sound design. The ID-CONSOLE is made of premium hardware components. Precision engineered and hand-built in Germany, ID has been designed with absolute attention to detail, to give you not only full control but also absolute transparency in your project. ID-CONSOLE is fully compatible with Nuendo 6 (6.04 and higher) and Cubase 7 (version 7.04 and higher)"

User avatar
jamusic
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by jamusic » Mon May 12, 2014 9:03 pm

Wow!!! :shock:

Just look at that f 'n thing!

My head hurts now.

Good thing my wallet doesn't too.

I don't have the space nor the money for that thing, whatever it may cost! :roll:

And hand-made?

Can you say, "Ka-ching!"?
-C7.5.4/8.0.4 -Win 7-x64 -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16G RAM
-ASUS nVidia GeForce Video Card -Hyper 212+ Cooler -3 SSDs -1TB Black Caviar HD -2 1TB External USB 3
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Advanced Audio CM67se Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre-Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre-Amp
-Roland V-Piano -Yamaha P-200/88 key & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules -Way Too Many VSTs -Little To No Talent ;)


User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by BriHar » Tue May 13, 2014 7:00 pm

mustech221 wrote:Incidently, who actually manufactures the CMC's for Steinberg?
They're manufactured in China by Yamaha Corp.; says so on the boxes. ;)
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

mustech221
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:30 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by mustech221 » Wed May 14, 2014 10:53 am

Fair doo's ;)

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Sunshy » Fri May 23, 2014 11:57 pm

I sympathize. I love my CC121 and wish it were updated more. To Steinberg's credit, they did bring back Houston and Midex, which were VERY old products indeed.
N 7 Cubase 9.5.1
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit, UAD-1s, RME UFX, UR824, UR28M, CMD-PD, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

mustech221
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:30 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by mustech221 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:26 am

FINALLY, a response from Steinberg. Very unprofessional and after all these months.

Airyck
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:27 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Airyck » Fri Jun 06, 2014 5:00 pm

Sunshy wrote:I sympathize. I love my CC121 and wish it were updated more. To Steinberg's credit, they did bring back Houston and Midex, which were VERY old products indeed.
Do you mean they brought back support for them?
OS 10.10 iMac (mid 2012) i5, 16gb ram, Scarlett 18i20, Cubase 8.0.5 64bit. CMC-TP, CMC-CH, CMC-QC, CMC-AI, CMC-PD

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4659
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Strophoid » Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:57 pm

Not really. They released unofficial, unsupported drivers for the midex that enabled them to work in 64-bit long after they were discontinued. Unofficial but completely functional in my case anyway :)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Airyck
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:27 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Airyck » Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:54 pm

Strophoid wrote:Not really. They released unofficial, unsupported drivers for the midex that enabled them to work in 64-bit long after they were discontinued. Unofficial but completely functional in my case anyway :)
Well that's much better than nothing... hopefully the drivers continue to work for a long time.
OS 10.10 iMac (mid 2012) i5, 16gb ram, Scarlett 18i20, Cubase 8.0.5 64bit. CMC-TP, CMC-CH, CMC-QC, CMC-AI, CMC-PD

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 723
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Jalcide » Sun Aug 03, 2014 4:43 am

I'm not sure how I missed this sub-forum, and the news that the hardware has been discontinued, before just now purchasing 4 units (at very good prices).

Oh, I know why ... there's zero indication of that fact on the Steinberg main website's product pages, that I reviewed before purchasing. :roll:

I get it. I understand why the pages are still up, but it's still irksome.

Not sure knowing this fact would have dissuaded me. I have a hunch the controllers will continue to work without much development effort from engineering.

But even without any effort from engineering, if they coded it right, DAW features would have been highly decoupled from the controller messages, in the code, and are likely highly isolated from concerns with each other.

As for the whole Windows / Mac USB driver support concern, hopefully those will survive, as well.

My only fear there, is that both Windows and OS X are going through major architectural changes for the sake of the mobile, desktop unification.

There is, however, some hope Steinberg will do the right thing and honor its obligation to at least provide bare-minimum support.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 723
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Jalcide » Thu Aug 07, 2014 3:34 am

I decided to double-down and get the full CMC series before they're gone, completely. The fader units are still available from some sellers in Japan, for some reason.

They're great little units.

I have faith they're going to be supported and if not, there's always Bome MIDI Translator Pro.

I've confirmed that they show up and transmit messages that can be manipulated by Bome MT. So going out of the CMCs is straightforward.

As for getting back in the CMCs (for bidirectional feedback), reverse engineering the messages they respond to might be trickier, but not impossible.

Worst case scenario, I've got a rack of PCs, so even if the drivers are not supported in some future OS version, or even in Cubase itself, I'll be able to dedicated a cheap 1U rack build to Win 7 and re-route the MIDI messages out physical MIDI cables to Cubase where they could be mapped via a Generic Remote (a reason to hang on to those old Win 7 licenses before they're all gone -- as Microsoft doesn't sell Win 7 anymore).

No promises, but if Steinberg drops support and I end up creating some useful Bome MT patches, I'll be sure to share them here -- unless Steinberg drops this forum, altogether. :lol:

Folks, we're living in a modern dystopia were technology somehow gets uninvented. Stuff we used to have, that was good, goes away.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by resomedia » Sat Aug 09, 2014 2:11 am

Disappointing as I think more development and advancement could have been made with these units. I ended up ditching my FD units and brought back my old Houston. Going up on Ebay shortly. The automation curves draw way smoother using the Houston faders, plus I get 8 LED track names. Keeping the other units for now, but might unload those as well.
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 723
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Jalcide » Thu Sep 04, 2014 4:10 pm

Looks like everything that worked with Cubase and its CMC controllers, and those things that didn't, stays unchanged in 7.5.30. So, that's good. I'll take it.

The lack of AI working for many of Cubase's params is still annoying. Some are just begging for AI, too. Like the track time shift slider "delay". Of all the ones to not work... to be able to close your eyes and focus on the groove, while shifting the time with the knob is the kind of thing control surfaces were designed for.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: CMC-TP Discontinued?

Post by Ed Doll » Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:35 am

Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud!

Locked

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests