Page 2 of 2

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Mon Nov 03, 2014 8:36 am
by curteye
'Houston'...we have a problem?????

Hello 'Houston', are you there.......? are you there.......???

Guess not.

Seems we are on our own boys. So smoke um' if you got um'!

{'-'}

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:24 pm
by ChrisDuncan
I've been enthusiastically recommending the CMC controllers since buying my own. It's a shame they didn't make the cut.

I try to stay up to day on Cubase versions, but if 8 doesn't have support for my CMC investment (I have them in two studio environments and one live) I may have to press pause.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:47 pm
by BriHar
What makes you think they won't work with C8?
Why rant before you know the facts?
Chill
8-)

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:50 pm
by ChrisDuncan
This is the second time you've told me to relax for the same issue.

Also, don't believe the above post really constitutes a rant. Am I mistaken?

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:42 am
by BriHar
Perhaps "Rant" was a bit strong. It just seemed you were getting yourself upset over what is very likely a non-issue. I'd be extremely surprised if the CMCs didn't work with 8x at least as fluently as with 7x.
Having also invested in the full complement of CMCs, I'll likely be DLing 8 soon, so I'll let you know if there are any issues in this regard.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:58 am
by ChrisDuncan
No worries, man. I've been following some of the 8 threads and it sounds like they still work fine.

That series certainly didn't live very long. I think they only came out last year, so I suspect there's some kind of story behind the scenes on their sudden demise. Maybe someone whipped a patent out of their portfolio or something. Normally you'd expect a company to release a new series and then let the older ones fade away.

Of course, there is the Nuage series, which is the sexiest stuff I've seen out there, but I can't really justify dropping $30k - $40k or more since this is just a project studio. But if wishing made it so... :)

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:54 pm
by BriHar
Have you checked out the X-Touch?

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 4:16 pm
by ChrisDuncan
When I bought my live console I ended up going with the Soundcraft Expression, but the Behringer 32 channel was also in the running. The X-Touch looks like another nicely designed product from them.

Plenty of features, and I really prefer physical flying faders to the CMC touch faders. To me, the biggest challenge with full featured controllers like this is size and fit, i.e. physical integration with both the audio mixer and qwerty keyboard / mouse. For instance, in your studio, the CMCs make a nice row and are short enough that you can still reach over them to your mixer - a nice looking setup. The X-Touch appears to be about twice as deep, so that could be a hassle. Even if your console furniture was deep enough, you still have a long reach to the mixer.

That said, it looks like their audio mixers also support automation. Here's a video of a guy setting up an X32 to control Cubase. You only get 8 channels (HUI protocol?) and then have to bank switch, but you only get 8 on the X-Touch as well. So, it could (perhaps) replace both your mixer and your Cubase controllers in one nice little package.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fROkwtcVzv0

Of course, I'm full of ideas when I'm spending someone else's money. :)

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:22 pm
by BriHar
Currently I have no intention of replacing the CMCs in the Studio. I have a BCF2000 connected but it's just being used as a MIDI port (pity they didn't include a MIDI port on the UR28m - would have made it perfect).
I'm looking at the X-Touch to possibly use on my Laptop though.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 12:49 am
by Lundin
All CMC's work in C 8 64 bit mac OSX 10.9 something.. had to reboot before it found them.. otherwise i didn't have to add them in the Setupmenu.. they were instantly added - instantly working..

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:02 am
by ChrisDuncan
BriHar wrote:Currently I have no intention of replacing the CMCs in the Studio. I have a BCF2000 connected but it's just being used as a MIDI port (pity they didn't include a MIDI port on the UR28m - would have made it perfect).
I'm looking at the X-Touch to possibly use on my Laptop though.
That CMC strip in the studio is nice. Hooking up the X-Touch to a laptop could be a pretty sweet mobile rig.

And hey, you can never have too many toys!

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:57 am
by Jalcide
The CMC controllers do work fine in v8.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 10:41 am
by Potential - o- meter
Just updated to Cubase 8.0 and found that most of the CMC functions still work BUT NOT ALL !!!

For example, I use f3 on the CMC-CH to operate 'inspector/toggle standard section' so that I can open and close the top part of the channel inspector when necessary... and guess what...

What is the point in buying this stuff and placing it into your subconscious to increase workflow when doing so will make you slower in the long-run because you'll be stuck with the habit of trying to use stuff they tricked you into buying. Same old tedious choice... stick with the buggy version or update to the new bugs.

Sorry to sound negative but just spent days trying to workaround a control room issue and upgraded to try and escape it. Tired and a bit fed-up.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 12:09 am
by BriHar
F3 default function on the CH executes the transport stop function, you have obviously reprogrammed this function - in Cubase 7.5!
Now that you've installed Cubase 8, the CMC buttons are back at default - meaning you'll have to reprogram your preference changes.
You could copy these over from the defaults xml file but I would recommend simply going into the CMCs from the devices window and actually reprogramming them.
It's generally considered good houskeeping to keep such button (re)assignments documented in a section of the studio log for just such exigencies :)

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 7:41 pm
by Potential - o- meter
BriHar wrote:F3 default function on the CH executes the transport stop function, you have obviously reprogrammed this function - in Cubase 7.5!
Now that you've installed Cubase 8, the CMC buttons are back at default - meaning you'll have to reprogram your preference changes.
Hi BriHar

Cheers for this. Yes it's a change I made to default but all settings carried over fine from 7.5 to 8 without any hassle, using the update route.

However, I just couldn't get this functionality to work as it did... or as I was convinced it was working. I've been playing out live so not been able to get back into the studio and try the suggested 'Arranger window in focus' solution, but will get back if this doesn't solve it.

That said, I don't recall any instance when it didn't just work previously when I pressed f3. I'm also a bit confused as to why a command available in any of the CMC setup menus would rely on whether the window concerned was in focus. Kind of defeats the point in a shortcut, but hey ho.

I'm also intrigued that many report exactly the same issue with the keyboard shortcut not working for this function regardless of focus, so we'll see what gives there.
See: http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 31&t=69728

In any case, thanks again for your time / input. It really is appreciated. Hopefully I'll nail this shortly.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:12 pm
by ChrisDuncan
Potential - o- meter wrote:I'm also a bit confused as to why a command available in any of the CMC setup menus would rely on whether the window concerned was in focus.
File this under useless triva that probably won't improve your life, but Windows is an event driven operating system, e.g. keyboard presses, mouse moves, etc. generate events. When you bang on the keyboard, the events go to the active window. That's why you can have Cubase and a web browser both running, and typing something into a Google search doesn't do anything to Cubase.

As with all programming there are ways around this, but if you're wondering why the focus matters, this is one common reason. Of course, that's Windows. I know zero about Macs, other than the fact that since they're an Apple product, they just magically work somehow. I suspect that burning incense and sacrificing chickens is involved.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:29 pm
by Potential - o- meter
Cheers Chris

That all makes perfect sense... and I wondered what the weird smell was in some studios :-D

I've just posted elsewhere (http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 59&t=70073) that;
I think Steiny confirm in the title of this thread viewtopic.php?f=231&t=69728 that this is an issue with the keyboard shortcut (and thus also the CMC mapped to the same command ?)

I've also just had it confirmed that this issue is the same using the keyboard shortcut and the CMC controller regardless of focus. This is an issue in Cubase 8 which is not in 7.5.3.

--

In short, the issue I've highlighted looks to be a genuine bug in Cubase 8. The good news is that it does not necessarily herald a lack of ongoing support for the CMCs, just that one of the commands available in the CMC setup menus is not functioning properly because it is not functioning properly as a keyboard shortcut either, ie it needs sorting.
Obviously, my hope is that once this is sorted in Cubase it will again function on the CMC... fingers crossed :-)

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:30 pm
by mbr
My CMC's work fine here in Cubase 8.0.0 :geek:

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:41 pm
by Potential - o- meter
mbr wrote:My CMC's work fine here in Cubase 8.0.0 :geek:
Unless you choose "inspector/toggle standard", or what?

Please help to move this issue on, ie can you confirm whether you are able to make the above function work or are you just saying that everything appears normal specifically to your setup because you don't use this function ?

Sorry to harp on about this, but it's really hard to highlight an issue if others undermine it by saying that their setup is fine purely because they never use the bits that are now broken ? :)

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 9:34 pm
by mbr
Sorry I don't use above mentioned function :oops:


When I find something not working I will post here :!:

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 11:15 pm
by Potential - o- meter
Hi MBR

No worries. Thank you for posting back. That helps.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:46 am
by BriHar
I reckon then this has perhaps something to do with the new windows handling in that the Project window may no longer generally have the focus as it did previously.
What happens if you maximize the project window?
I'm thinking this might perhaps restore the focus as it should merge the menu-bar with the Project window as it was previously.

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:36 pm
by Potential - o- meter
Hi BriHar

'fraid it makes no difference. The command is broken in cubase 8. It is now a recognised fault with the keyboard shortcut to the same function, so is most likely related to that. All other toggle commands work fine on all other inspector tabs regardless of what you click or where your 'focus' is. Quite simply it's broken in this version of cubase :-(

Re: Unavailability of CMC controllers

Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 3:11 pm
by BriHar
Old post, but here we are now in Cubase 10.5 and the CMCs are still supported :D