Controlling group faders

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Controlling group faders

Post by ChrisDuncan » Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:49 pm

Hey, guys.

I'm running the full version of Cubase 7.0x and have CH and FD controllers that work fine on individual track faders. However, I often do submixes to groups and then do final levels from the group faders. The CMC fader controls seem to ignore group faders, meaning I have to reach for the mouse to control my groups.

Is there a configuration setting I'm not seeing that would allow me to control group faders via CMC?

Also / alternatively, do the CMCs work on Cubase 8 VCA faders, i.e. the fader that controls the group?

It may be some time before I upgrade to 8, so if there's a way to get control of group faders in 7 it would be most appreciated.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Controlling group faders

Post by Jalcide » Fri Dec 05, 2014 7:16 am

The CMC faders (an I would assume all hardware surface controllers) appear to skip over VCA faders in Cubase 8.

It does not appear they can be controlled via hardware (EDIT: from the CMC CH, they can. Not sure about other surface controllers, but perhaps it's possible via Generic Remote, etc.).
Last edited by Jalcide on Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Controlling group faders

Post by BriHar » Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:35 am

...and yet, in the C8 presentation video they are in fact shown being controlled by the Nuage ;)

Perhaps a shortcoming in the Mackie protocol, but then I didn't think the CMCs used Mackie Protocol - would think they would use something perhaps Yamaha proprietary, something similar to the Nuage if not the same.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Controlling group faders

Post by ChrisDuncan » Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:12 pm

Jalcide wrote:The CMC faders (an I would assume all hardware surface controllers) appear to skip over VCA faders in Cubase 8.

It does not appear they can be controlled via hardware.
Jalcide,

Smedberg appear to have had success with this. Thought I'd point you to his post to see what the differences are.

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 82#p405282
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Controlling group faders

Post by Jalcide » Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:36 pm

ChrisDuncan wrote:
Jalcide wrote:The CMC faders (an I would assume all hardware surface controllers) appear to skip over VCA faders in Cubase 8.

It does not appear they can be controlled via hardware.
Jalcide,

Smedberg appear to have had success with this. Thought I'd point you to his post to see what the differences are.

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 82#p405282
Thanks, Chris.

Yeah, we found the answer: CMC FD faders don't work (they skip over VCA faders), but the fader on the CMC CH module does work.

I consider that good news.

(Also, the CMC FD's LEDs do respond as one would expect if they're controlled from a VCA fader, so no issue there.)
BriHar wrote:...and yet, in the C8 presentation video they are in fact shown being controlled by the Nuage ;)

Perhaps a shortcoming in the Mackie protocol, but then I didn't think the CMCs used Mackie Protocol - would think they would use something perhaps Yamaha proprietary, something similar to the Nuage if not the same.
Good point about the Nuage.

Btw, I do think the CMC is based on HUI / Mackie if not 100% to spec.
Last edited by Jalcide on Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Controlling group faders

Post by ChrisDuncan » Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:42 pm

Excellent. I'll have to test the CH on my group faders.

I'm running 7.0x but if they work on groups (not just vca) in 8 I'd be surprised if it wasn't the case in 7. I think like you I just tried the FD.

Fingers crossed...
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Controlling group faders

Post by ChrisDuncan » Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:57 am

Confirmed, the CH fader does work on group channels in 7.0x. Thanks to you both for helping me get a handle on this.

Having to bank switch to access to four faders at a time isn't really that much faster than just leaning on the channel button to scroll the active channel, so as long as the CH can handle both channels and groups, I'm good to go.

Honestly, I'm still getting used to the CMC style fader. I don't know if it's my guitar calloused fingers or just the nature of the beast, but I often have to touch more than once to snag the fader. Once I get hold of it, it's a bit more manageable than fading via mouse, but I still miss physical faders. However, I really love everything else about the CMC, the small form factor being a significant part of it. Now if someone would just make CMC sized physical faders...
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Controlling group faders

Post by BriHar » Sun Dec 07, 2014 12:28 am

Make sure VCA Faders are selected in the Channel Types Filter!
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest