Retrologue is silent on 1st MIDI note

All topics on Retrologue
Post Reply
User avatar
Whirly
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:49 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Retrologue is silent on 1st MIDI note

Post by Whirly » Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:04 pm

Every now and then Retrologue does not play back the first note in a MIDI clip.

1. record/draw in midi notes in a midi clip over a few bars. Place the first note on the first beat in bar 1.
2. place the locators at the start/end points of the midi clip
3. place the cursor at the same position as the left locator (start of the first note).
4. hit play

50% of the time the first note is silent and sound is comming in only on the second note. I don't have this problem with any other synth plug-in (...except for PadShop? I have to check).

Is anyone else experiencing this?
Cubase Pro 9.5.3 + Cubase Pro 10 (partly, unable to install content due to a bug)
Macbook Pro l OSX 10.14 Mojave l 2.6 GHz i7 l 16 GB
Wavelab 7.2 l HALion 6 l Groove Agent 5 l MR816x
Stuff I do: https://vimeo.com/190392395

krudler
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Retrologue is silent on 1st MIDI note

Post by krudler » Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:09 pm

Maybe you've already checked this, and/or it's not the case for you, but whenever I have experienced this it's always been because the the beginning of the note was prior to the boundary of the part - which is to say, it might LOOK like they are in the same spot, but if the note is even a hair to left of where the part boundary is then it won't play that first note.

User avatar
Whirly
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:49 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Retrologue is silent on 1st MIDI note

Post by Whirly » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:11 pm

Thanks krudler, but I've chcked this. Besides, once the cursor has cycled through the looped area and start over again at the left locator, the first note is played back fine.
Cubase Pro 9.5.3 + Cubase Pro 10 (partly, unable to install content due to a bug)
Macbook Pro l OSX 10.14 Mojave l 2.6 GHz i7 l 16 GB
Wavelab 7.2 l HALion 6 l Groove Agent 5 l MR816x
Stuff I do: https://vimeo.com/190392395

TheBaker
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Retrologue is silent on 1st MIDI note

Post by TheBaker » Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:23 am

Yes I have the same issue since getting C7 in Oct(and is also present still in C7.5), Retrologue is now my go to synth replacing my beloved Synth1, sounds great and light on CPU!

This issue is quite annoying though, is Steiny even aware of it?

Post Reply

Return to “Retrologue”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests