Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post Reply
User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by LSlowak » Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:35 am

Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Dear all,

Below please find the summary of known issues / limitations when using Audio Unit extensions with Cubasis 1.9.8.

Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions
• Using multiple instances of an Audio Unit plug-in in a Cubasis project, or quickly switching between projects that contain Audio Unit instances can lead to AU instrument loading issues, instabilities, or render Cubasis unreliable.

We expect this iOS bug to be fixed by Apple sometime soon. If you encounter loading errors with Audio Unit instances please try to load these plug-ins manually using the “reload” button or quit and restart Cubasis to reload your project.

• Performing edits in a project that contains Audio Unit plug-ins during playback can lead to temporary timing issues. A workaround for this iOS related issue is planned to be released with the next Cubasis update.

• The maximum number of Audio Units that can be loaded in a project depends on the device in use. Memory and CPU limits can be exceeded by loading just a few Audio Unit instruments or effects, resulting in errors or stuttering during playback.

• Loading complex Audio Unit plug-ins can take some time, even on newer devices, since the process is comparable to loading a complete app inside Cubasis.

• If an Audio Unit plug-in fails to load, Cubasis might also become unresponsive or unreliable. If you encounter problems, please quit and restart Cubasis. Cubasis cannot compensate for issues caused by 3rd party Audio Unit plug-ins.

• Depending on the Audio Unit plug-in “state saving” might not be supported. As a result, plug-in parameters are reset to their default values every time a project is reloaded.

• With Cubasis 1.9.8 Audio Unit plug-in parameters cannot be automated. This feature is planned to be added in a future Cubasis update.

Best
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

PUMP
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by PUMP » Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:53 pm

I don't have the option in my Cubasis is it because I don't have an app that is compatible?
Attachments
image.png
(1.02 MiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by LSlowak » Fri Feb 19, 2016 8:22 pm

Hi Pump,

Audio Unit extension requires iPad Mini 2, iPad 4 or newer model and iOS 9.
Next to this a compatible AU instrument/effect is required to be installed.

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

PUMP
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by PUMP » Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:43 pm

Ok that's the problem I have the iPad pro but I know now I don't have any compatible apps

Plan9
Senior Member
Posts: 1708
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:03 pm
Location: Wuppertal
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by Plan9 » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:30 pm

Hi,
The Arturia iSem is a AU App.

My Apps, Animoog, Nanolog, Nave, iSpark, iProphet, iMS 20, iMPCPro, SampleTank, SMPLayer. All have interapp audio but no AU.
---------------------------------
Sony Vaio SVE1711Z1EB (I7- 3612QM 2.1GHz Passmark 6869/ Windows 7 Home) / Cubase 9.5 64Bit / Ableton Live 9 Suite / Komplete Audio 6 / iPad Air 2 / Cubase IC Pro / M-AUDIO AXIOM 49 (2ND GEN)
--------
Die beste Technik/Software ist nur so gut wie die Frauen und Männer die sie bedienen.

User avatar
bigcatrik
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 3:52 am
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by bigcatrik » Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:32 pm

There's a free AU synth on the app store called Bassalicious. There's an IAP to upgrade the synth but the free version (with one oscillator) is fully functional as an AU if you want to test out AU functioning in Cubasis without paying anything.

I, too, own a bunch of iOS synths but none have upgraded to AU.

Applelover
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:51 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by Applelover » Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:58 am

Hi Lars,

Thanks for the update.

I've had problems with the iOS audio aswell, is there anything that you suggest me doing in order to fix that, as a temporary solution?

Thanks in advance.
Love what you do, and do what you love

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by LSlowak » Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:23 am

Hi Applelover,

Please specify more in detail, what problems you've experienced.

Thanks
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

focin123
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubasis 1.9.8 - Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by focin123 » Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:03 am

Applelover wrote:Hi Lars,

Thanks for the update.

I've had problems with the iOS audio aswell, is there anything that you suggest me doing in order to fix that, as a temporary solution?

Thanks in advance.
Is that fixed or not yet? i am getting same error if you have fixed it then please suggest me the same way to get it done!
InfantigoPiercingFordyce
Last edited by focin123 on Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by LSlowak » Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:02 am

Hi focin123,

Please specify more in detail what problems you've experienced, so I'm able to comment.
Here is a guide how to report issues: viewtopic.php?f=183&t=105096

Thanks
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Alastair10538
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by Alastair10538 » Mon May 08, 2017 3:45 am

IMG_1334.PNG
(634.94 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Please help

I've just seen the disclaimer so I now know it's an older issue

But I risk losing a track I've spent months on

Any way of taking off Amazing Noises Limiter so I can get my track back

I use iPad Pro and latest IOS, all up to date

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by LSlowak » Mon May 08, 2017 9:44 am

Alastair10538 wrote:
IMG_1334.PNG
Please help

I've just seen the disclaimer so I now know it's an older issue
But I risk losing a track I've spent months on

Any way of taking off Amazing Noises Limiter so I can get my track back
I use iPad Pro and latest IOS, all up to date
Hi,

Please specify your problem more in detail.
Does the project fails to load (also if you wait a moment)?

Best,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Alastair10538
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by Alastair10538 » Mon May 08, 2017 10:30 am

Yes the project fails to load totally, it just hangs indefinitely ☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️

I've tried deleting the AU apps (I presume I've gone over the 'threshold' max no of AUs in a project, I wasn't aware there was an issue or a limit until the problem occurred and then I found this post) but this doesn't work either

Also tried hard re-start of the Ipad, but this doesn't work either

Any ideas, how I can just get into the project and then I would remove or turn off all the AU effects....?

Alastair

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by LSlowak » Mon May 08, 2017 3:25 pm

Alastair10538 wrote:Yes the project fails to load totally, it just hangs indefinitely ☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️

I've tried deleting the AU apps (I presume I've gone over the 'threshold' max no of AUs in a project, I wasn't aware there was an issue or a limit until the problem occurred and then I found this post) but this doesn't work either

Also tried hard re-start of the Ipad, but this doesn't work either

Any ideas, how I can just get into the project and then I would remove or turn off all the AU effects....?

Alastair
Hi Alastair,

Please have a look at the private message I've sent you.

Thanks,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Alastair10538
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 3:35 am
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by Alastair10538 » Wed May 10, 2017 1:56 pm

Just to say Lars and the guys resolved my problem (superheroes!) with minimum of fuss and maximum of great customer service attitude!

Wizik
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by Wizik » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:33 pm

Hi Lars

I’ve also got the same problem as Alastair10538 and didn’t realise there was a limit to the amount of aus’ you could use on a project. Subsequently my project won’t load and crashes cubasis after a short while.

Is there anyway to rescue the project?

Thanks

Glenn

User avatar
LSlowak
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1739
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Limitations of Audio Unit extensions

Post by LSlowak » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:48 am

Wizik wrote:
Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:33 pm
Hi Lars

I’ve also got the same problem as Alastair10538 and didn’t realise there was a limit to the amount of aus’ you could use on a project. Subsequently my project won’t load and crashes cubasis after a short while.

Is there anyway to rescue the project?

Thanks

Glenn
Hi Glenn,

Please upload the project to Dropbox or similar and let me have the download link via private message.

Thanks,
Lars
Lars Slowak - Project Management & Team lead Cubasis
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Post Reply

Return to “Cubasis”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests