[FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Read only! All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 6 can be posted here.
Locked
johngar
Member
Posts: 564
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Contact:

[FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by johngar » Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:33 pm

Key Commands/Eucon commands to "activate" Mix Console sections WITHOUT having to click on them first with the mouse in order to use any Mix Console key commands.
Having to click on a Mix Console section with the mouse in order to use key commands for that section, interrupts workflow when using hardware controllers like an MC Control for example.

If we had key commands to activate the mixer sections, then we could program the keys on an MC Control or any other controller, so that we could execute them no matter where the "focus" or "active" window is in Nuendo.
PC | Nuendo 8 | Cubase 8 | i7-4930k | Win10 | 32gb ram | Intensity Pro | Radeon HD7700 | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

artifactdetroit.com

Thomas
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by Thomas » Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:46 am

+1
Win7 64 - i7 X980 - 24 GB Corsair DDR-3 - Corsair CSSD F120GB2 - 2x Seagate Sata3 2TB - Apollo Quad - UAD2 - Nuendo 6.5.20 64 - WaveLab 7

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:42 pm

I haven't gotten to setting up KC's yet. I probably will this week if I find time.

Is this for real? You have to select a section before using the KC? What the heck? Might as well just keep using the mouse/trackball at that point....

Absolutely feels like I'm doing way more clicking around in this version. At least so far.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

johngar
Member
Posts: 564
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by johngar » Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:17 am

Lydiot wrote:
Is this for real? You have to select a section before using the KC? What the heck? Might as well just keep using the mouse/trackball at that point....
Yes it is for real.
You have to make the Mix Console "active" in order to use any key commands associated to it.
So that means if you are working on the project page and want to use the key command to expand the inserts on the mix console, you have to click on the mixer window, WITH THE MOUSE, in order to execute the key command, even though you have a shortcut key on your MC Control that says "expand inserts".
We need a key command to activate the window, so we can program macros and not have to click with mouse.
PC | Nuendo 8 | Cubase 8 | i7-4930k | Win10 | 32gb ram | Intensity Pro | Radeon HD7700 | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

artifactdetroit.com

User avatar
Domilik
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by Domilik » Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:38 am

+1

That's crap! Mouse-Clicking is needed for the use of shortcuts... For me it more and more seems like we got a Nuendo which is supporting Nuage. Not a Nuage which is supporting Nuendo.
johngar wrote:We need a key command to activate the window, so we can program macros and not have to click with mouse.
I disagree strongly! We do not need to program macros, we need the old functionality, which we lost through the update. I will not program an "activate mixer" command in front of every other mixer-command. That also would mean to program a "activate editwindow" in front of every edit-command for going on...
Nuendo 7 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 6700k, Asus Z170-A | RME Fireface 802 | RME Babyface | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Yamaha 01v96i | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Revial 6 | Avid S3 | Mackie Control Universal | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 12 HD

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:21 pm

Domilik wrote:+1

That's crap! Mouse-Clicking is needed for the use of shortcuts... For me it more and more seems like we got a Nuendo which is supporting Nuage. Not a Nuage which is supporting Nuendo.
johngar wrote:We need a key command to activate the window, so we can program macros and not have to click with mouse.
I disagree strongly! We do not need to program macros, we need the old functionality, which we lost through the update. I will not program an "activate mixer" command in front of every other mixer-command. That also would mean to program a "activate editwindow" in front of every edit-command for going on...
EDIT: It occurred to me after writing the stuff below that I don't know if the key commands are exclusive in addition to windows having to be made active. In other words - can one key have different functions depending on which window is active, or does it always have the same function but just doesn't work when window isn't active?




I can actually see the point in having to program a "activate window" macro by making "activate window" a key command-able function, believe it or not. For example:

Suppose we have one set of key commands active for Nuendo. Let's also assume we're working with dialog (or sound) editing and use left hand only for keyboard commands and right hand for track-balling. On my split ergonomic keyboard my left hand covers 29 keys, plus the modifiers ALT, CTRL and SHIFT. This may seem as a massive amount of combinations since you can combine the modifiers as well, but when you divide all of those over the entire software and consider the workflow of different tasks, i.e. dialog editing versus sound design versus mixing versus recording etc, it can actually be limiting.

In addition, when you set up key commands you can use a "logic" for the layout. So that you can map it according to what is easy to remember rather than where there are "available keys" if you know what I mean.

A concrete example would be mapping key commands to increase volume of selected clip when in the project window, but allowing that same keys to increase volume of fader when in the mixer.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

johngar
Member
Posts: 564
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by johngar » Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:12 pm

Lydiot wrote:
EDIT: It occurred to me after writing the stuff below that I don't know if the key commands are exclusive in addition to windows having to be made active. In other words - can one key have different functions depending on which window is active, or does it always have the same function but just doesn't work when window isn't active?
Well you can't assign a key to more than one key command, so it has only one function, it just does not work if the mixer window is not "active"
For example, my MC Control keys for the mixer "do nothing" unless the mixer window is "active". The same is true for any key command.
PC | Nuendo 8 | Cubase 8 | i7-4930k | Win10 | 32gb ram | Intensity Pro | Radeon HD7700 | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

artifactdetroit.com

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Mar 22, 2013 6:57 pm

johngar wrote:
Lydiot wrote:
EDIT: It occurred to me after writing the stuff below that I don't know if the key commands are exclusive in addition to windows having to be made active. In other words - can one key have different functions depending on which window is active, or does it always have the same function but just doesn't work when window isn't active?
Well you can't assign a key to more than one key command, so it has only one function, it just does not work if the mixer window is not "active"
For example, my MC Control keys for the mixer "do nothing" unless the mixer window is "active". The same is true for any key command.
Ah. Well then it's just plain stupid.

I could totally see how it would make sense if you had a key available per window. Then you'd effectively multiply the amount of key commands available, which wouldn't be a bad thing.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

ErikG
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by ErikG » Wed Apr 03, 2013 8:14 pm

There used to be a mixer to front command. Unfortunately it's been removed.
Not beeing able to access these great new keycommands without the mixer window beeing active is indeed a bad implementation that just have to be fixed.
Personally I'd like to get unique keycommands for copy and paste of the individual sections and full channel as well.
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3158
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Dec 11, 2014 3:40 pm

+1 again
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by Dog and Pony » Sun Dec 14, 2014 3:34 am

+1
5 systems with N7, N8, Cubase 9.5, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
Rotund
Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Key Commands to activate mixer sections

Post by Rotund » Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:13 pm

I think we lost this fight people.
This has been discussed and fought over since the key commands
went screwy. Since the Cubase 7/Nuendo 6 release.

How does it work in Nuage? Probably just the way it should huh?
Sucks for the rest of us. I mean the majority of us.

My work around:

Control + Tab: This is a windows shortcut that will bring the next open window into focus.
If you only have the project window and the mixer window open,
it will work like the old "Mixer to front" key command.
If more windows are open it will cycle through them.

I use 4, sometimes 8 mixer configurations per project.
These are all assigned KCs.
So a quick "Control+Tab" and then hitting the mixer configuration gets me where I need to be.
Almost as fast as it used to be.

or

You can make a macro that calls the mixer twice in a row.
The 1st one will close it and the second will open it in focus.
I tried this for a minute but I settled with the above procedure.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Samplitude Pro X2, Studio One 3.5, CD Architect 5.2, Raydat, UAD PCIe Quad+Duo, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Zebra 2, Arturia V Collection 4, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation, M1), N.I. Monark, Roland SH-2, Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Audient ASP-880, Saffire Pro 40, ADA-8200, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Original Moog Model D, Moog Sub 37, Moog Minitaur, Moog Slim Phatty, OB-6 Desktop, DSI Prophet Rev2 8 Voice, Roland Integra 7, Roland JD-XI, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest