Disable Video Thumbnails

Read only! All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 6 can be posted here.
Locked
Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1402
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Disable Video Thumbnails

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:21 am

I never use video thumbnails, so it would speed up my workflow if I could disable Nuendo's need to create the video thumbnail overview.

Ollie
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, macOS 10.14
Avid ProTools S3

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Disable Video Thumbnails

Post by Fredo » Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:30 pm

You can disable thumbnails, but it will have no effect on the speed of the creation of the cache file.
The not show thumbnails at best saves a few CPU cycles.

Fredo

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1402
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Disable Video Thumbnails

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:53 pm

Well I meant it would be great if I could tell Nuendo that I never use the function anyway, therefore it should just not create the file in the first place.
;)
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, macOS 10.14
Avid ProTools S3

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Disable Video Thumbnails

Post by Fredo » Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:13 pm

The cache is not created for displaying thumbnails, but for better video performance.

Fredo

User avatar
nuagec9
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 6:51 pm
Location: Milano
Contact:

Re: Disable Video Thumbnails

Post by nuagec9 » Fri Oct 04, 2013 7:09 pm

Sorry to chime in but if you import video directly from a SAN location (i.e. Avid Unity) Nuendo creates a .videocache file in the very same folder, along with the video file.
In a shared workflow with dozens of audio and video files that leads to a cluttered space and Avid guys yelling at you.
As many others apps around, Nuendo should create cache files locally, instead.
My 2 cents..
Marco.
Nuendo 6.0.6 - WIN7 64 sp1 - Xeon ES2640 12 core - 32GB RAM - Corsair ForceGS + Marvell Raid Disks - Nvidia NVS510 + Blackmagic Decklink SDI (Video) - 2 x RME hdsp AES32 + TCO (Audio) - Yamaha Nuage Master 1.03.

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1402
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Disable Video Thumbnails

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:08 am

Fredo wrote:The cache is not created for displaying thumbnails, but for better video performance.

Fredo
Ah, did not know that.
In that case my request is plain stupid, of course.

Ollie
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, macOS 10.14
Avid ProTools S3

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest