Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Read only! All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 6 can be posted here.
Locked
User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Post by MattiasNYC »

Pro Tools has this. It's a simple button that when pressed triggers punch-out conditions without stopping playback or changing the desired automation state (write on/off, latch/touch etc).

Example:

1. I set a track with automation already written to it to write enable / latch
2. Press play
3. Begin to write automation in latch mode
4. Want to stop automation write and return to previously written automation AND

a - not stop playback
b - not change write enable / auto type

This is where that button press would engage auto-match.



Also; it would be a good feature (better than PT's) to have this on a per-track basis if possible (perhaps via key command). Use the example above but when writing automation (#3 above) you begin to write on several tracks during the same section, and when you want to return automation to normal it applies to one track only, not the rest. In PT (to my knowledge) auto-matching then = punching out all tracks, meaning I'll need to keep touching the tracks I want to keep writing while triggering punch-out on the rest.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Post by audiomonkeys »

Sure could use this, +1
Nuendo 10.2.20, Video Decoder for Avid DNxHD(R) Spectralayers Pro 6 Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.3
Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 Ghz - 12 core, 32 Bg RAM. OS10.12.6 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, Dolby Atmos Suite, Blackmagic Intensity Pro - 5 litres of good Japanese Sake (and more coming) and 100% no CRACK plugins

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Post by MattiasNYC »

As per suggestion I created a macro that consists of:

"Automation - write automation for selected tracks on/off"
"Automation - write automation for selected tracks on/off"

and trigger it with a key command. It actually does exactly what I was looking for.

If this requires a bunch of development time to accomplish I'm actually fine with the macro-workaround and rather have them work on getting the Control Room GUI to not suck instead.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Post by audiomonkeys »

good option, Thanks Lydiot
Nuendo 10.2.20, Video Decoder for Avid DNxHD(R) Spectralayers Pro 6 Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.3
Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 Ghz - 12 core, 32 Bg RAM. OS10.12.6 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, Dolby Atmos Suite, Blackmagic Intensity Pro - 5 litres of good Japanese Sake (and more coming) and 100% no CRACK plugins

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt »

+1
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

ju
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:57 am
Contact:

Re: Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Post by ju »

+1

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4210
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Automation: "Manual" punch-out triggering

Post by MattiasNYC »

Turns out the keycommand macro workaround doesn't actually work in the mixer! It only works in the project window.

I wonder why on earth commands that affect automation states aren't available in the mixer. If there was one place in an application where I'd use automation of parameters wouldn't it be the darn mixer?

Hello? Steinberg? Anybody there?

Has this been solved in 6.5?

This is just nonsensical.....
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest