64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Windows

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
archiveng
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:38 pm
Contact:

64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Windows

Post by archiveng » Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:17 am

Does anyone know why a 64-bit version of Wavelab 8 wouldn't launch on a 64-bit version of Windows 10?

I recently upgraded my machine, moved over the dongle and tried installing Wavelab 8 on the machine. While I can install both the 32 and 64 bit versions, only the 32 bit version will launch. The 64 bit version does nothing.

I have Cubase Elements 8, 64 bit, on the same machine and that works splendidly, and I had no problems with Wavelab 8 on Windows 7. Seems odd that on a 64 bit windows machine, Cubase 64 works, but not Wavelab in 64 bits.

Also, I tried to do a search for this info, but returned zero hits as apparently 64 bit is a really common search.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Window

Post by Arjan P » Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:38 am

Well, ofcourse it -should- work, and does for many others. So you say the 64 bit version 'does nothing'. What happens when you try launching, and how do you launch it?
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.30 | Cubase 9.0.30 | HALion Sonic 2.0.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

archiveng
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Window

Post by archiveng » Sun Oct 09, 2016 4:09 am

Thanks, Arjan. I installed it by the installer wizard, which leaves an icon on the desktop. I double click it and... nothing. If I double click the 32bit version of Wavelab, it launches with the splash screen, etc., as does the 64bit version of Cubase.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2107
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: 64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Window

Post by bob99 » Sun Oct 09, 2016 5:48 am

You could try going to Program Files > Steinberg > Wavelab 8 and double clicking the Wavelab .exe in the program folder. It could be a bad desktop shortcut.

If that doesn't work, you could try resetting the preferences.

archiveng
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Window

Post by archiveng » Mon Oct 10, 2016 6:05 pm

bob99 wrote:You could try going to Program Files > Steinberg > Wavelab 8 and double clicking the Wavelab .exe in the program folder. It could be a bad desktop shortcut.

If that doesn't work, you could try resetting the preferences.
Thanks for this. Unfortunately, it didn't work.

Which preferences do you mean?

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2107
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: 64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Window

Post by bob99 » Mon Oct 10, 2016 7:11 pm

This is on Steinberg support for Cubase and Nuendo but it works the same for Wavelab.

under Initializing Preferences:

windows
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... ndows.html

mac
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... -os-x.html

Or, reinstall Wavelab.

archiveng
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Window

Post by archiveng » Tue Oct 11, 2016 12:25 am

Thanks, all. I tried the preferences edits and reinstalling Wavelab; still no dice.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 bit version of Wavelab 8 not opening on 64 bit Window

Post by PG » Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:09 am

Are you using the latest version? This is 8.5.31, found there:
http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=d ... s_wl85&L=1
Philippe

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest