Batch Process wav to mp3 time-length errors

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
WillBthr
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:41 am
Contact:

Batch Process wav to mp3 time-length errors

Post by WillBthr » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:17 pm

Did a search and no luck:
WL8.0 export a five minute wave file to mp3 vbr results in a file that in various Windows 10 audio players (Groove and Media Player) indicate the file while playing back is over twenty-eight minutes in time/length. The file plays back ok.

Does anyone know the cause of this issue? On my system this is not a new problem but I've ignored it in the past however sending the files to others causes alarm.
MS Windows 10 64. Nuendo 1 - 3 / Cubase 4 - 9. HP I7-6700k, RME UFX, Lenovo Thinkpad Workstation W540, RME UCX, MS Surface Pro 4, Halion 5, RND 5033 & 5043, WaveLab 4-9, DMG EQ & Compression, Limitless RME ADI-8 2x, TAB 76m x2, Calrec PQ1061 x2, Ampex ATR-100 w/ LNP-2, Houston.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6275
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Batch Process wav to mp3 time-length errors

Post by PG » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:44 pm

The file does not contain a time table. Hence the file length to display is guessed by the players.
Don't use vbr if you want to be on the safe side.
Philippe

WillBthr
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: Batch Process wav to mp3 time-length errors

Post by WillBthr » Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:37 pm

Thanks for the fast response Philippe. VBR sounds "better" if there is such a thing in the mp3 world.
MS Windows 10 64. Nuendo 1 - 3 / Cubase 4 - 9. HP I7-6700k, RME UFX, Lenovo Thinkpad Workstation W540, RME UCX, MS Surface Pro 4, Halion 5, RND 5033 & 5043, WaveLab 4-9, DMG EQ & Compression, Limitless RME ADI-8 2x, TAB 76m x2, Calrec PQ1061 x2, Ampex ATR-100 w/ LNP-2, Houston.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2455
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Batch Process wav to mp3 time-length errors

Post by Arjan P » Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:28 pm

VBR only sounds better compared to lower bitrate CBR MP3s. If you use 320 kbps CBR you have constant highest 'quality' - but indeed also a relatively big file.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.35 | Cubase 9.0.30 | HALion Sonic 2.0.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

WillBthr
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: Batch Process wav to mp3 time-length errors

Post by WillBthr » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:07 am

Thanks Arjan
MS Windows 10 64. Nuendo 1 - 3 / Cubase 4 - 9. HP I7-6700k, RME UFX, Lenovo Thinkpad Workstation W540, RME UCX, MS Surface Pro 4, Halion 5, RND 5033 & 5043, WaveLab 4-9, DMG EQ & Compression, Limitless RME ADI-8 2x, TAB 76m x2, Calrec PQ1061 x2, Ampex ATR-100 w/ LNP-2, Houston.

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests