[R-9397]: Frame accuracy

Read only! Use this forum for an overview of collected issues.
Locked
AlexBell
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:17 pm
Contact:

[R-9397]: Frame accuracy

Post by AlexBell » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:30 am

Hi, there's something I quite don't understand here, when you're working in frames, why doesn't the cursor slave to whole frames? If I don't zoom all the way in and place the cursor sampleaccurate at 1.000000 I have no control of where the cursor ends up, it might be 1 frame and 237 ms. And during the course of an hour you're suddenly 1 frame off the picture lock...

Is there a on/off button anywhere I haven't spotted? ;-)

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2136
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by Fredo » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:40 am

Sure that snap to zero crossing is not active?

Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Senior Member
Posts: 2862
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:50 pm

Fredo, if you zoom in so that each number in your timeline is a frame with a chunk of space between each you can clearly see that even if you have snap to grid set and grid set to frame it won't snap. Seems like this is one of those things many of us would overlook simply because we're looking at the timecode display which ends in frames and frames are such a small value, and some of us also usually locate by typing numbers in, so we never get the feeling something is wrong.

But I just checked and sure enough, rather than snapping to a frame on the grid it chooses a finer subdivision. So in practice this means that if we locate using the cursor then even though it may read a timecode of 01:01:01:01 it could be closer to either 01:01:01:00 or 01:01:01:02, and the only way to see it is to show subframes (which you can also land between incidentally).

Feature or yet another broken function?

Or do we have to trash the preferences again?
The corporation shall not be criticized.

AlexBell
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by AlexBell » Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:23 am

Hi, back from holiday.

What he said really,short and simple. ;-)

User avatar
Domilik
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by Domilik » Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:43 pm

+1 for fixing this.

Getting into this very very often. When i set grid to frame, I really want the curser to snap into frame grid. Nothing else.
Nuendo 7 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 6700k, Asus Z170-A | RME Fireface 802 | RME Babyface | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Yamaha 01v96i | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Revial 6 | Avid S3 | Mackie Control Universal | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 12 HD

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Senior Member
Posts: 2862
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by MattiasNYC » Sun Aug 04, 2013 4:00 pm

Zero communication. I'm shocked.

Alex, put "issue" in the thread title, or better yet, "BUG" in all caps. They hate that. THEN they find the time to look at threads...
The corporation shall not be criticized.

audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by audiomonkeys » Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:17 pm

Lydiot wrote:Zero communication. I'm shocked.

Alex, put "issue" in the thread title, or better yet, "BUG" in all caps. They hate that. THEN they find the time to look at threads...
Lydiot my friend, not everyone really cares to read about your rants on this public Forum all the time, go have a beer on us ;)

cheers,
Last edited by audiomonkeys on Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nuendo 8.0.15, Pro Tools HD 12.8 (comes with massive headache) , Mac Pro 12 core, OS 10.8, OS10.12 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, 5 litres of good Japanese Sake and 100% no CRACK plug ins

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Senior Member
Posts: 2862
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by MattiasNYC » Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:20 pm

audiomonkeys wrote:
Lydiot wrote:Zero communication. I'm shocked.

Alex, put "issue" in the thread title, or better yet, "BUG" in all caps. They hate that. THEN they find the time to look at threads...
Lydiot my friend, not everyone really cares to read aout your rants on this public Forum all the time, go have a beer on us ;)

cheers,
Thanks for your contribution. I'll make sure to help you out should you ever need any.
The corporation shall not be criticized.

audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by audiomonkeys » Mon Aug 05, 2013 12:05 am

Lydiot wrote:
audiomonkeys wrote:
Lydiot wrote:Zero communication. I'm shocked.

Alex, put "issue" in the thread title, or better yet, "BUG" in all caps. They hate that. THEN they find the time to look at threads...
Lydiot my friend, not everyone really cares to read aout your rants on this public Forum all the time, go have a beer on us ;)

cheers,
Thanks for your contribution. I'll make sure to help you out should you ever need any.
Your contributions are always appreciated Lydiot, it's just the ranting against Steinberg is getting a little old.

cheers Mate!!
Nuendo 8.0.15, Pro Tools HD 12.8 (comes with massive headache) , Mac Pro 12 core, OS 10.8, OS10.12 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, 5 litres of good Japanese Sake and 100% no CRACK plug ins

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Senior Member
Posts: 2862
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Aug 05, 2013 1:00 am

audiomonkeys wrote:
Your contributions are always appreciated Lydiot, it's just the ranting against Steinberg is getting a little old.

cheers Mate!!
The one way to shut US "ranters" up is to communicate. Perhaps if you got them to do that WE would "rant" less.
The corporation shall not be criticized.

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 945
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Frame accuracy

Post by TimoWildenhain » Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:08 pm

Hello,

thanks for the report. We have tracked this problem under issue No. R-9397.
It will soon be added to the "Collected issues" section.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Senior Manager
Marketing & Business Development ProAudio
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

Locked

Return to “Collected Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest