preference for single plugin window

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

preference for single plugin window

Post by TuckerMix » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:56 am

Posted this in the cubase forum, just wanted to see if this is on the radar at all...
  • It is beneficial to have more then one plugin on screen.
  • It is also beneficial to dock plugins windows.
The best choice is the option to do both simultaneously. Like protools current implementation.

Why is docking plugin windows important?

I have 5 screens on my mix rig. TV on the wall up high, three LCDs across the middle, one touch LCD in front of me. In Nuendo 5, Cubase 6's current implementation every plugin remembers its last location on screen, requires me to drag every plugin to the touch screen. I installed MOOM, a mac windows manager that lets you move windows by key command, but there is an odd caveat with windows that have always on top enabled. You mustn't click the white plugin window header, but just below it or it won't move the window. Also, always on top is remembered by plugins. So if you ever had the preference set to make all plugins always on top now you have to disable the preference, load every plugin, right click and uncheck always on top.

Most of the time, I want EVERY PLUGIN to just appear in the same location, on the touch screen. I don't wanna d1ck around with window management apps, key commands, always on top, plugin window remembering "things", dragging windows around, etc.

Protools does it, Cubendo should have a preference too.

Kinofango
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:47 pm
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by Kinofango » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:22 am

+1

I really mis Protools for that kind of reasons. In 10 secs I organize all my plugs for the session i have to mix...
But nobody's perfect...
Windows 7 - Nuendo 5.5.6 - Fireface UFX - Smart AV Tango

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by TuckerMix » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:18 am

Logic does this too. The link icon in top left of the plugin header allows all plugs to open in that window, rather then all over the place.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by TuckerMix » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:11 am

Worst case if SB doesn't want to implement, it would be good to know how to make the plugins "not remember" their previous position. A fresh install of Cubendo would do this so there has to be a preference or file of some kind that can be trashed.

Any workaround suggestions would be good too.

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by neilwilkes » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:23 pm

The only thing that really irritates me about the current implementation is running on a 2 monitor system where all new plugin instances open up slap-bang between the 2 screens.......
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

User avatar
Domilik
Member
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by Domilik » Thu Jan 17, 2013 6:03 pm

Nuendo 7 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 6700k, Asus Z170-A | RME Fireface 802 | RME Babyface | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Yamaha 01v96i | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Revial 6 | Avid S3 | Mackie Control Universal | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 12 HD

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by TimoWildenhain » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:48 am

Hello,

we understand the situation and benefits. The upcoming WaveLab version will already include such functionality.
We may also consider this for a future Cubase/Nuendo update.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

olamo
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by olamo » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:02 am

neilwilkes wrote:The only thing that really irritates me about the current implementation is running on a 2 monitor system where all new plugin instances open up slap-bang between the 2 screens.......
+[

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1365
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:28 am

neilwilkes wrote:The only thing that really irritates me about the current implementation is running on a 2 monitor system where all new plugin instances open up slap-bang between the 2 screens.......
Not on OS X, but I remember this from the windows version. There was some setting in the graphics card driver that changed that behaviour. I *think* it had to do with setting up the screen as two desktops rather than one large desktop.

Ollie
Nuendo user from 2005 until late 2018, then switched to ProTools Ultimate

Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, macOS 10.13

Cube100
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 11:15 pm
Contact:

Re: preference for single plugin window

Post by Cube100 » Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:14 am

+1.

I'm surprised this feature wasn't included in Cubase 9 Pro.
Cubase 9 Pro
Software: macOS Sierra 10.13.1
Mac Pro (Mid 2012)
Processor: 2 x 3.06 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Memory: 64 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rockrecorder and 2 guests