Muting question. [Resolved]

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Muting question. [Resolved]

Post by fenderchris » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:48 pm

I have several tracks permanently muted in the current project.

If I mute the Stereo Out in the Mixconsole while listening to the playback, all sound is muted as it should be, but if I then un-mute the Stereo Out in the Mixconsole it un-mutes all tracks - including the ones I want permanently muted, so I then have to go through the entire project re-muting the unwanted tracks.

Is this normal?

Can the mute status be restored after muting/un-muting the main Stereo Out?
Last edited by fenderchris on Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 907
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Muting question.

Post by twelvetwelve » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:37 pm

This is normal if you have the preference 'VST -> Group Channels: Mute Sources as well' enabled.

I would suggest disabling the tracks rather than muting or use the control room to do a stereo mute/unmute.

User avatar
Rickard
Member
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Muting question.

Post by Rickard » Sun Aug 24, 2014 7:55 pm

I do the same as Fenderchris. I disable track I don't want to use but don't want to delete.

Dean
Win10|i7|16gig ram|Orion 32+ with Madiface USB|N10|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Muting question.

Post by fenderchris » Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:33 am

likelystory wrote:This is normal if you have the preference 'VST -> Group Channels: Mute Sources as well' enabled.

I would suggest disabling the tracks rather than muting or use the control room to do a stereo mute/unmute.
Many thanks. That solved the issue. At the same time, I also found that I could move Cue Sends to Pre-Fader so that the headphone mixes remain audible with the Stereo Out muted.

Thumbs-up given :)
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.

Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10.2.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest