Crashes N6.5

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Crashes N6.5

Post by Brain » Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:25 pm

I am getting Tons of crashes. I created a project that only has the N6.5 NEK VST instruments.

I get crashes when....
I load a project.
when I change sounds in Groove Master.
I change the midi channel feed from Groove Agent to GA-SE.
(see attached screen shots).
N6_5 crash notice (when learning Loopmasher).png
(309.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
After a crash while testing the Loopmasher.png
(684.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I can't even load performances (sound banks) in HalionSonic-Se or Groove Agent-SE. It appears to load to 50% and then gets a red X, and the progress bar stops.

I also get crashes when I close a project.
When I try to export an AES-31 file it takes a full minute to open the Windows drive selection Dialog.
In fact accessing any windows function (find folder, save as new, export selected tracks, etc.) seems to stall frequently.

It can't find retrologue.

And since I installed 6.5 it seems that 6.0 is less stable.

Can Somebody tell me what's going on ??????

If I need to reinstall 6.5 do I uninstall first?
Will this erase anything in the 6.0 installation ???

This system is an Intel i7, 3.5gHz, 4Gb ram, running Win-7 pro 32 bit.

I have also had crashes that only had 1 mono audio track, 1 stereo audio track, and 1 instance of Waves IR-1 parametric convolution reverb.

I will update with more details/issues as I remember, or encounter them.

Thanks,
Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 907
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: CRASHes !!!!!!! N6.5

Post by twelvetwelve » Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:36 am

running Win-7 pro 32 bit
'

That could be your problem right there.

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Crashes N6.5

Post by Brain » Thu Aug 28, 2014 3:13 pm

likelystory wrote:
running Win-7 pro 32 bit
'

That could be your problem right there.
??????
you're going to have to explain this cryptic comment.

Thanks,
Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2479
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Crashes N6.5

Post by Fredo » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:34 pm

A 32bit OS (and host) an only use up to 2 point something memory. Even if you computer has much more installed.
So, with "modern" hosts and plugins, you pretty much need all of the memory to even be able to run the host.
A VST instrument is a Memory dinosaur ...

Fredo

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Crashes N6.5

Post by Brain » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:39 pm

Fredo wrote:A 32bit OS (and host) an only use up to 2 point something memory. Even if you computer has much more installed.
So, with "modern" hosts and plugins, you pretty much need all of the memory to even be able to run the host.
A VST instrument is a Memory dinosaur ...

Fredo
I thought the 2Gb limit was in Win XP
I thought Win-7 pro had a somewhat higher limit. Is that incorrect ?

Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Crashes N6.5

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:52 pm

4 Gigs for Windows 7 32. Optimally. Starter Edition is 2G.

Fredo's point, however, stands. Would not be surprised if your issue had to do with RAM... or plugins that don't play nice with 32.

Worth checking out!

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest