RX4 connect

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
User avatar
Hopetown
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Hopetown » Sat Oct 18, 2014 3:50 pm

Lydiot wrote:
Hopetown wrote:Sorry if this was covered already, but is there anyway to send more than one clip via connect?
You can read my findings on it here.

Thanks. So it's as bad as it seems. Sonic (Soundblade) NoNoise is the same price these days, makes me wonder about the workflow differences. If NoNoise will simply work with the existing Steinberg offline model it seems like it would be better for us. This one clip at a time thing is crippling.
Pier Giacalone
Hopetown Sound Recording Studio
Doylestown, PA
http://www.hopetownsound.com

Nuendo 8.2.1 : 27" 4.2ghz 5K Imac (i7), 32g RAM | OSX 10.13.6 : Lynx Aurora (n) 24 Ch TB | UAD2 PCI (Quad+Duo >TB Chassis) | The Grand 3.1 | Wavelab 9.5

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat Oct 18, 2014 4:12 pm

But it depends on what you want to achieve.

For using EQmatch or Ambiencematch you need to be in RX (if I understand correctly), so those are the times you really need to send/receive clips between the two. If you're doing DeNoising etc you can still use the offline processes without using RX standalone, just like you did before.

So there's a lack of enhancement of the workflow in general, and an inconvenience in workflow for the new functionality. So I'd say if you need those two new functions then it's still worth it probably, and if you don't then you can either stay on RX3 or simply use RX4 the way you did before. Spectral Repair hasn't changed much from RX3 I think, so you can still use RX3's version as offline.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat Oct 18, 2014 4:18 pm

Hopetown wrote:This one clip at a time thing is crippling.
I agree with this.

What I've found is that the bar is much higher for my editing work because of this. In my workflow I do certain 'tasks' first and then follow with other tasks. To deal with the single-clip issue I end up consolidating events into a longer single file to be treated in RX. Of course when this is done I'm locking myself into a corner, especially when sending it back to Nuendo. So the only real solution is to make better choices before then.

So the biggest problem for me is really when things that are outside of my control change. If there are re-edits that need to be conformed, possibly with new content, it is always easier to have access to all the previous edits in a non-destructed workflow. Clearly here that doesn't apply as easily. So to me the most important thing is to adapt my workflow to deal with this.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

GTBannah
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by GTBannah » Sat Oct 25, 2014 3:30 am

.... so, am I to infer, that the restorative features in Wavelab are no match for RX?
Derrkins

If that's really what you hear, Play It, Sing It, Write It or Program It!

Mac Mini, 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM; OS X El Sierra 10.12.4; Nuendo 7 + NEK, Sibelius 7.5, iPad Pro 13", Cubasis, WaveLab 9.00, (Dorico V1.2.10.139). (Couldn't wait anymore. Started learning it).

User avatar
Hopetown
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Hopetown » Sat Oct 25, 2014 3:33 am

Yeah not in the same ball park. Wavelab actually bundles Sonnox restoration plugs. Not as good by a long shot.
Pier Giacalone
Hopetown Sound Recording Studio
Doylestown, PA
http://www.hopetownsound.com

Nuendo 8.2.1 : 27" 4.2ghz 5K Imac (i7), 32g RAM | OSX 10.13.6 : Lynx Aurora (n) 24 Ch TB | UAD2 PCI (Quad+Duo >TB Chassis) | The Grand 3.1 | Wavelab 9.5

Phonetical
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Phonetical » Thu Oct 30, 2014 12:40 pm

Hi all - wondering what luck you're having with RX Connect. I'm at about 65% success rate right now.

Nuendo is crashing quite a bit when connecting files back from RX4 Advanced to Nuendo 6.5. I think I've narrowed it down -

Working on an extensive dialogue edit for a short film, most shots are LONG (in time) so pulling a lot of PFX from the parent region matching the cut. I'm on an NR pass of the PFX, RX Connecting the region from Nuendo > RX4 Adv, processing, then RX Connecting them back from RX4 Adv > Nuendo. I'm noticing that when I send a region from PFX (again, edited from the main recorded track, obvs.) to RX4, the entire parent region is showing up to be processed in RX4. I've only cut out the door slam, but the entire track shows up. As you would expect, when I Connect the next region, (a door open, from the same file but later in time) the entire parent region shows up in RX, again. Connecting the files back successfully can mean multiple copies of the same file.

Like I said, I have success but not nearly as much as I would like. I'm wondering if there's a Nuendo pref in regards to file handling that I should have selected. As a workaround, I'm RX Connecting files from Nuendo to RX, processing, then simply exporting from RX to a folder with files to import with new, TC-based filenames. Would love to hear any suggestions.

iMac, Mac OS 10.8.5, Nuendo 6.5.3, Apogee Duet

User avatar
Hopetown
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:58 am
Contact:

RX4 connect

Post by Hopetown » Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:07 pm

Its a drag but you could bounce audio in place before connecting - create new files. Easier than exporting from RX to a new folder.

There is a pref in Nuendo to ask you if you want to create a new file after offline processing, but I think it defaults to "on". Either way, it won't help with what's being sent to RX. I think bounce before RX is the only solution.
Pier Giacalone
Hopetown Sound Recording Studio
Doylestown, PA
http://www.hopetownsound.com

Nuendo 8.2.1 : 27" 4.2ghz 5K Imac (i7), 32g RAM | OSX 10.13.6 : Lynx Aurora (n) 24 Ch TB | UAD2 PCI (Quad+Duo >TB Chassis) | The Grand 3.1 | Wavelab 9.5

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:28 pm

What's weird is that I at first had no problems with Nuendo crashing using RX connect, then all of a sudden I started getting them. The experience is similar: Select event in Nuendo, connect it to RX, edit in RX and send it back, and then upon using connect to "re-import" it I get a dialog box and Nuendo freezes with no way out except for a "force quit".

I did update to the latest version of RX but it changed nothing. So I agree, either bounce audio or skip 'connect' all together. I'm inclined to do the latter now. No time for frozen apps and then having to redo work.

Very disappointed this doesn't work better.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Phonetical
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Phonetical » Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:16 pm

Agreed, Lydiot - I upgraded thinking it would solve the issue, but it appears that the more I use it, the more consistent the problem becomes.
iMac 3.2GHz I5 / 24GB 1600 MHz / OS 10.8.5 / N6.5.3 / Apogee Duet

Phonetical
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Phonetical » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:04 pm

One of the issues I think I'm coming up with is duplicate file names on the way back to Nuendo, without matching files. After a crash, I'll reopen my session and pick up where I left off. I think that, despite that Nuendo didn't import the file into the timeline, a file with an identical name has replaced the original at that point. Re-opening the session and reconnecting what I thought was the original file caused crashes on way back to Nuendo over and over. Not 100% sure, but I think this is a cause of my headache.

Again, workflow killer. Definitely bounce the files before sending to Connect and Connect them back if that's how you want to work - if you don't bounce, it appears that the original TC metadata (origin) is erased after exporting from RX. Additionally, if you don't bounce, you're left with a TC-less PARENT file with no time information for sync.

UGH.
iMac 3.2GHz I5 / 24GB 1600 MHz / OS 10.8.5 / N6.5.3 / Apogee Duet

Phonetical
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Phonetical » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:51 pm

Just confirmed that the problem on my end involves a duplicate filename, perhaps originating in Nuendo. I've found that bouncing the file twice, and using the last (2nd) file as the file to process in RX alleviates the crashing for now.
iMac 3.2GHz I5 / 24GB 1600 MHz / OS 10.8.5 / N6.5.3 / Apogee Duet

Phonetical
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Phonetical » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:51 pm

Alright, so processed a file in RX via RX Connect, sent back to Nuendo, Connected no problem. Cut a piece of that *just Re Connected region*, sent that to RX via Connect, processed, sent back to Nuendo and got a crash.
iMac 3.2GHz I5 / 24GB 1600 MHz / OS 10.8.5 / N6.5.3 / Apogee Duet

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:58 pm

I'm working on a show right now so I won't have time to test until later. I noticed however that after a crash Nuendo would revert to the previous version of the file. This to me is bizarre since I would think RX would either a) write to original file, or b) write to new file and tell Nuendo to reference that new file. However, if it's the latter I would expect to find that file somewhere on my computer, and I haven't so far. If I did, at the very least I could re-import that into Nuendo after it's rebooted. As it stands now not only is my Nuendo crashing and restarting without the latest cleanup in RX, the file disappears in RX after the attempted connect leaving me with lost work, period.

But I suspect you may be right. I started bouncing files before connecting and it worked for a while, but I also haven't paid attention to how or if I labeled those bounced files. I'll do some testing since my hunch was what yours is, that something is funky with duplicates. Perhaps relabeling will help....
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Fri Oct 31, 2014 5:58 pm

I sure appreciate this thread. I've been slammed since RX4 showed up, and based on all of this I've sidestepped the Spectral Editor/ RX Connect thing completely. I'm running the regularly offline processable RX4 plugins as key commands, but am, as Lydiot suggested earlier, sticking with the RX3 Spectral Editor. Wish I had time to jump in on the testing.

Sure wish they hadn't removed it, but the old one still does the job as well as it ever did.

Chewy
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:13 pm

My previous workflow (that I'm still using since connect ain't workin') is to just create a separate track called "to rx" and then move any event on there in the dialog edit process, then bounce it, then switch over to RX and import a bunch at a time. I then just export back to the audio folder and import back in Nuendo to a "from rx" track and line up. With 'connect' being so wonky it's actually just as fast once key commands are set.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

JonnyD
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by JonnyD » Sat Nov 01, 2014 5:37 pm

does anyone uses Nuendo 6.5 and RX4 connect on Yosemite? I get a crash of Nuendo everytime. Does anyone has a fix for Yosemite?

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:55 pm

JonnyD wrote:does anyone uses Nuendo 6.5 and RX4 connect on Yosemite? I get a crash of Nuendo everytime. Does anyone has a fix for Yosemite?
http://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeven ... -2945.html
N8x, C8, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.11.6; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.4

Phonetical
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Phonetical » Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:33 am

Another quick update/notice -it would appear that the waveforms of previously RX Connected files are, at times, incorrectly displayed.

FRUSTRATING.
iMac 3.2GHz I5 / 24GB 1600 MHz / OS 10.8.5 / N6.5.3 / Apogee Duet

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:57 am

Phonetical wrote:Another quick update/notice -it would appear that the waveforms of previously RX Connected files are, at times, incorrectly displayed.

FRUSTRATING.
In what way?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Phonetical
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Phonetical » Mon Nov 03, 2014 4:14 am

Should have posted. Best I can tell is that they are displayed as the original file (instead of RX processed), in this case very low gain files.

Copying a file and bouncing it shows the correct waveform.
iMac 3.2GHz I5 / 24GB 1600 MHz / OS 10.8.5 / N6.5.3 / Apogee Duet

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MattiasNYC » Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:47 pm

Phonetical wrote:Alright, so processed a file in RX via RX Connect, sent back to Nuendo, Connected no problem. Cut a piece of that *just Re Connected region*, sent that to RX via Connect, processed, sent back to Nuendo and got a crash.
Yes, I see the problem as well. I think this is related to how Nuendo handles audio file labels in folders. I just tried to record a file on an audio track, called "spdif in" resulting in the file "spdif in_12". I then copied and pasted that audio and then bounced it which gave the name "spdif in_01". But it just so happened that the audio files folder already contained a file with that name and now contained two, and upon reconnecting from RX back to Nuendo it crashed.

What is weird is that I restarted and did the same and now the name of the bounced file is "spdif in-01", i.e. a different naming convention...!

Either way one has to be careful here. I suspect that this issue may compound as crashes occur if files aren't automatically deleted in the crash. What I mean is:

1: You have a project with a bunch of files, call it "set A".
2: You do edits etc including bouncing files and get "set B".
3: You round trip to RX fine, except somewhere in the previous step you ended up with a duplicate that now crashes Nuendo when using connect.
4: You force-quit and restart Nuendo which now has references to "set A". Since it doesn't remember "set B" - because it wasn't properly shut-down/saved - further bounces can yield more duplicates (?), which yields more crashes.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Swi
Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:39 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Swi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:13 pm

It's not working for me at all. I used to use RX denoiser for cleaning up guitar parts and electric bass hum but I can no longer get it to work inside Cubase. I tried the connect feature and sometimes it opens up but it does not process anything.

Does anyone have a fix or workaround for this?
swi
Cubase 9.5.10
5960 i7 X99 @4.4GHz Windows 10
32GB ram
RedNet 3 x 4
Motu Midi Express 128 x 3
4 Windows 10 VEP slave / servers

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:33 pm

Start a new topic in the Cubase forum, and specify the version of RX you're currently using please. It will help us to help you.
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 | WaveLab 9.5.35 | HALion 6.1.15 | Groove Agent 4.2.40 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | x64 only

Swi
Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 6:39 pm
Contact:

Re: RX4 connect

Post by Swi » Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:58 pm

I don't know where the "Process" button is that it is asking me to press??
It seems that I perform the fix, send it back, and then it asks me to "press process to commit changes" but there is no button to press? When I hit apply it just takes me back into connect. Does anyone know how to process this?
swi
Cubase 9.5.10
5960 i7 X99 @4.4GHz Windows 10
32GB ram
RedNet 3 x 4
Motu Midi Express 128 x 3
4 Windows 10 VEP slave / servers

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests