6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
ghuinink
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:45 pm
Contact:

6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by ghuinink » Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:25 pm

Hi,

I just bought the 6.5 upgrade but when i try to install i get "wrong OS version, cannot install"

last week i upgraded to Yosemite too, is that the problem, and can i fix this?

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by curteye » Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:58 pm

Aloha g,

Sounds like version 6.5 is not compatible with Mac OSX 10.10.0.

I do know that version 7.5 (and perhaps more products) is still being tested by Steiny and they recommend
to NOT install Yosemite at this point.

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 34&t=67855

From that statement one could imagine that version 6.5 would be looked at after the 7.5 tests; if at all.

But all is not lost.
There are ways to 'roll back' to Mac OSX 10.9.5 (Mavericks)
check here:
http://www.macworld.com/article/2458050 ... -beta.html

Good Luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

sonictimbo
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by sonictimbo » Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:47 am

I had to go back to Mavericks, it was crashing WAY too much, I still find Nuendo 6 (in 32 bit mode) more stable than 6.5.
My 6.5 won't stay open for any old songs (I know there are plugin incompatibilities on 6.5)

Yosemite came out a bit too quick for my liking (or a bit slow for Steny!)
Nuendo 7.0.35, Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Westmere processors, 48Gig RAM, UAD Quad, OSX 10.10.5 Focusrite Rednet 2 (X2) and 3

ghuinink
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by ghuinink » Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:52 am

thanks guys for your replies, and how did you go back to Mavericks?

sonictimbo
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by sonictimbo » Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:57 am

Time Machine backup - it's a bit painful, make sure you backup your important files on your system drive on another drive first.

http://osxdaily.com/2014/10/22/downgrad ... mavericks/

You'll have to re authorise a lot of your software and plugins, but I couldn't continue with Yosemite - way way too many crashes. It was slowing me right down
Nuendo 7.0.35, Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Westmere processors, 48Gig RAM, UAD Quad, OSX 10.10.5 Focusrite Rednet 2 (X2) and 3

ghuinink
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by ghuinink » Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:59 am

same problem here, but the thing, that i dont have all the registration option anymore.... i dont have all the activation codes etc, due to a calamity... so thats no option too then :(

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by curteye » Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:02 am

sonictimbo wrote:Time Machine backup -
Aloha S,

Did you finally get that 'phasing' prob fixed?
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 94&t=68306

And if so, how? (if you don't mind) :) :) :)

TIA (thanks in advanced)
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

sonictimbo
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by sonictimbo » Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:05 am

Not yet!

Trying lots of stuff - nothing working yet. It's really frustrating, I've never had this problem before!
Nuendo 7.0.35, Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Westmere processors, 48Gig RAM, UAD Quad, OSX 10.10.5 Focusrite Rednet 2 (X2) and 3

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by curteye » Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:25 am

sonictimbo wrote:Not yet!
Trying lots of stuff - nothing working yet. It's really frustrating, I've never had this problem before!
Is this only happening with older works?

Have you tried a 'new' project to see if the prob persists there as well?
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

sonictimbo
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by sonictimbo » Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:29 am

When I say old. I mean a couple of days!
Nuendo 7.0.35, Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Westmere processors, 48Gig RAM, UAD Quad, OSX 10.10.5 Focusrite Rednet 2 (X2) and 3

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 971
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by TimoWildenhain » Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:19 am

Dear forum-members,

we are currently still working on providing full product compatibilty with OSX Yosemite.
We will have more information in detail very soon.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

jarleiceman
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by jarleiceman » Wed Nov 05, 2014 12:26 am

I have just installed CUBASE 7 on my iMac with Yosemite but I can't find it after it sucsessfully installed....?

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by curteye » Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:16 am

jarleiceman wrote:but I can't find it
Aloha j,

Did you have a look in the 'Applications Folder?

If it is not there, then your installation was not successful and you may have to try to re-install.


Also there is an 'official letter' from back in July about installation of Cubase under Yosemite.
You may need additional software from Steiny.

Check here:
http://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeven ... -2837.html

Good Luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

jarleiceman
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by jarleiceman » Thu Nov 06, 2014 12:03 am

No its not in the folder: 'Applications Folder, I´v had a successful install, and I have search everywhere, but will it came as an application file and what is the full name of the start file of CUBASE 7..?

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by curteye » Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:56 am

Normally most Mac installation software puts all applications (including Cubase) in the 'Applications Folder'.

However you can 'override' this procedure and put your app somewhere else at certain points
the during the installation. This might have been what accidentally happened to you.
So now you can't find it.

A couple of approaches:

1-Re-install Cubase and this time when the installer does ask you for the location,
make sure it is pointed at the 'Applications Folder'.

2-Use 'Spotlight' to search your entire hard drive for Cubase. It works best if your drive has been recently 'indexed'.

Here is what mine looks like in the Applications Folder: [ Cubase 7.5 ] Use Spotlight to search for that term.

If your installation was successful but Cubase is hiding somewhere, Spotlight will find it.

Good luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

jarleiceman
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by jarleiceman » Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:21 pm

OK...thanks for the help guys....but I"m going crazy here.... I had An 27" iMac 2013, sold it and buy the 27" iMac 5K....Ok( I know, stupid....But, but...) on the first iMac I had MAVERICK, and everything went well....and I upgraded this iMac to YOSEMITE, and the CUBASE 7 still working fine.....??
I have tried too reinstalled CUBASE 7 Withe help from the install-file from STEINBERG, and everything is OK...successful installation, but when its finished I can't see anything from it..I see on the Hard-Drive that its installed some where because there missing/used 4- 5 GB, so its installed some where...I tried "SPOTLIGHT" and search with; "APP", "CUBASE 7", "STEINBERG"......but I can't find the APP-file for my CUBASE 7....Im going crazy, how long shall STEINBERG industries wait.. !!!!! THIS IS VERY.."""##%%$&&/FF::&&CC
I"M SORRY, BUT IM SO FRUSTRATED.....
so please help me buddies...;-)
jarleiceman the man from the North

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by curteye » Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:38 am

jarleiceman wrote:I had An 27" iMac 2013, sold it and buy the 27" iMac 5K..
This is a real bummer because your new iMac comes with Yosemite installed and so far Steiny is having probs with Yosemite.
(I have two of um' sitting here waiting for Steiny)

Two approaches at this point; and neither very satisfying.

1- Try to re-install Mavericks on your new iMac
Use the app store and check under 'purchases'. Since you already owned it, they might let you re-download it.

2-Like me just wait for Steiny to fix the current OSX 10.10.0 (Yosemite) probs.

Good Luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

jarleiceman
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by jarleiceman » Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:39 am

I have just installed Halion Sonic 2 and halon sonic 4 + updates, on my iMac with Yosemite (with the help-program from STEINBERG), and it works 100 %....but the FU##&%§S CUBASE 7... I can Install fine (with the help-program) but after a successful install....I CANT FIND IT ANYWHERE on my Mac !!!!????? soooo
Where can I find a version of MAVERICK, so I can install that and then CUBASE 7, and then upgrade to YOSEMITE......
I ´m beginning to loose control.......how hard can this be for STEINBERG ????

jarleiceman
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by jarleiceman » Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:58 am

Can somebody tell me if there is something new about CUBASE 7 and Yosemite......I`m going crazy here !!!...:-)
jarleiceman

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 6.5 fails to install because of OSX Yosemite

Post by curteye » Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:16 am

jarleiceman wrote:Can somebody tell me if there is something new about CUBASE 7 and Yosemite......I`m going crazy here !!!...:-) jarleiceman
Aloha j.

Nothing new with C7/7.5. But Yosemite is new and.........

1-most of Stein'y products are not yet 'officially compatible' when using Yosemite as an OS.

2-they are working on it.

3-watch this space for new info:
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... emite.html

Good Luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests