How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:59 pm

I'd also add that Nuage looks very very good. I think it's probably a very suitable alternative to the Avid lines of controllers, considering pricing. The only question mark is how long it'll last. Houston, WK-Audio ID, CMC, and audio i/o and midi interfaces have had a tendency to get discontinued pretty "quickly", though the word "quickly" is obviously subjective. (I believe I got the devices right)
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 573
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by Getalife2 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:04 am

Lydiot wrote:I'd also add that Nuage looks very very good. I think it's probably a very suitable alternative to the Avid lines of controllers, considering pricing. The only question mark is how long it'll last. Houston, WK-Audio ID, CMC, and audio i/o and midi interfaces have had a tendency to get discontinued pretty "quickly", though the word "quickly" is obviously subjective. (I believe I got the devices right)
I think the new element there, as compared to the previous hit and miss efforts from Steinberg, is the "Yamaha" stenciled on Nuage. Yamaha is making a statement with Nuage and they have the resources to see it through without it having to pay for itself in a hurry. I can't think of a time when Yamaha has ever orphaned a product in the same way as the more egregious examples above. But it's a fair question to ask.

I had the opportunity (through the kindness of Yamaha US) to get hands on with Nuage at my studio for several weeks. I have had years of hands-on with Euphonix Sys 5 Eucon and plenty of session time with the usual assortment of Control 24, etc. Nuage is extremely well thought out and easily the most professional and tightly integrated solution to DAW control I have seen. I think it outpaces any other DAW controller to date.

I am a one man operation and so have my space extremely customized (think Doc's lab from Back To The Future) to whatever fancy I like. Touchscreens and custom keypads and odd ancilliary devices aplenty crowding my workspace, so I pose an odd case and a challenge for wedging in a larger control surface. But if I was operating a commercial Nuendo based room(s) with multiple engineers, I would grab Nuage for sure. Once set up, it never failed to work properly throughout my time with it. And I did weird things with it!

Nuage is very well done and I have to congratulate Yamaha/Steinberg for it.
N10.0.20 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7/64 - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2472
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by Fredo » Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:29 am

Getalife2 wrote:Nuage is very well done and I have to congratulate Yamaha/Steinberg for it.
As not being a fan of controllers - I think that they slow down some processes/routines too much- I was immediately hooked on Nuage. I am absolutely madly in love with this thing and wouldn't want to change it for any other controller.

Fredo

User avatar
Rotund
Member
Posts: 619
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by Rotund » Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:58 pm

Working here like a dream. One crash in the last month.
Mostly just doing music production with the occasional video project.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Samplitude Pro X2, Studio One 3.5, CD Architect 5.2, RME Raydat, UAD PCIe Quad+Duo.

Outboard:
Moog Model D (Vintage), Sub 37, Minitaur, Slim Phatty, DSI OB-6 Desktop, Prophet Rev2 8 Voice, Roland Integra 7, SE-02, Korg Prologue 16, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo.

bcslaam
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by bcslaam » Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:58 pm

Thanks everyone for the replys and openess to dicuss the direction of Steinberg.
I will re-install Nuendo again and hopefully some of my 400hrs are left. I had to wipe my drive in a hurry to try and get eucon to work in windows 8.1 64bit.

Regarding AAF, is there long standing issues or is it getting better? There seemed to be some conflicting opinions expressed here.

How is re-conforming working for post using ediload/maisch? Is that the best combo?

Thanks for the welcome Timo, if you're still listening, is there any future plans for built in conforming tools, similar or better to the Field Recorder Guide expand feature in PT?

Do you have any comment on whether or not SB has plans to go to subscription licensing?

And to the wider comunity; Is there a need for reference video frame locking and extra sync hardware in order to keep video and audio precisely locked or can you rely on using an extra monitor via desktop extension? PT cant and still needs sync HD with a Decklink card or similar. Having said that I dont have a sync HD and get by without it but I have had some occasional sync issues because of it.

Best Regards
Ben Chase
http://www.filmsonic.com.au

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3799
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:39 pm

bcslaam wrote:Regarding AAF, is there long standing issues or is it getting better? There seemed to be some conflicting opinions expressed here.
It's supposedly getting better. My issue was marketing the compatibility and then it not being there. If it gets better then I'm stuck having to pay for it (again) rather than it being compatible at the time I initially bought it. People say 6.5 is much better. I'm guessing we still don't have the options we have in PT for importing session data though. Depending on the project I may nuke all automation/rendered effects etc, or translate clip-gain to automation or whatever - on import-, which you can't do in Nuendo.
bcslaam wrote:Thanks for the welcome Timo, if you're still listening, is there any future plans for built in conforming tools, similar or better to the Field Recorder Guide expand feature in PT?

Do you have any comment on whether or not SB has plans to go to subscription licensing?
You're not the only one who wants to know, and since you asked about the company Steinberg is terrible at giving out information ahead of time. I even asked a specific question about a controller at one point, a question acknowledged by someone here which wasn't answered with anything but a somewhat snide remark, leading me to buy hardware from a competitor instead. A lost sale in other words. It appears they simply don't care about that. Fine by me as the hardware was discontinued shortly after introduction anyway.
bcslaam wrote:And to the wider comunity; Is there a need for reference video frame locking and extra sync hardware in order to keep video and audio precisely locked or can you rely on using an extra monitor via desktop extension? PT cant and still needs sync HD with a Decklink card or similar. Having said that I dont have a sync HD and get by without it but I have had some occasional sync issues because of it.

Best Regards
Ben Chase
http://www.filmsonic.com.au
I always run my video out through my regular consumer card. I don't do film at home so one could argue that sync is allowed to be a bit more "loose". I know that's probably a questionable stance, but I've found that the editors I work with typically have synced the audio fine, and I never have issues with delivered mixes coming back because of bad sync. But my guess is that it is highly system-dependent.

As I said earlier, as long as you have tested a feature and it works for you Nuendo is highly reliable and does a great job. A really great job.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1395
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:48 pm

bcslaam,

aaf is working well in 6.5, no complaints at all here. it was very buggy in the os x version 5.5-6.0x.

I know subscription licensing has been considered.

If it comes and it will be implemented as in PT they will see me jumping off the platform faster than they can say "sorry"

I hope they don't force me to leave, because I really love Nuendo.

Ollie
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2472
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by Fredo » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:20 am

Oliver.Lucas wrote:I know subscription licensing has been considered.
Where did you get *that* from?

Fredo

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1395
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:08 pm

Okay, I am sorry.
I don't actually know. I assume as a result of questions I have been asked.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings

Yellowcab
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by Yellowcab » Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:17 am

Hi Ben,
here at Yellow Cab we have been using Nuendo since v2, and started in 2004 after finding that the upgrade path for our Fairlight MFX3+ machines was very, very steep. We now have a dozen Nuendo rigs, that cover everything from corporate film voice overs to feature film mixing.
We only recently started used N6 as the 6.5 release was a great one, and we had a few issues with 6.0 that forced us back to N5.5 (very stable, that one).
We also have a few PT HD rigs, including a new HDX rig in a TV mix studio that is there for outside mixers that dont have time to learn Nuendo. And from my perspective the list of things missing in Nuendo vs PT is getting smaller and smaller.

One great addition to Nuendo, as some have stated, is the ADR Taker tool. This is just such a time-saver on ADR session prep time, as well as for the session itself! We recently recorded group ADR for Taken3, and it was a breeze.

Controller-wise, we are very much Euphonix fans here. We just installed our 3rd System 5 console (and we also have a S5-MC), in our new TV mix room, and the new eMix v6 software allows the S5 to be a very complete controller (all automation and transport functions on the S5 can now control Nuendo directly).

If you have any questions dont hesitate to ask.

Steven
Steven Ghouti
YELLOW CAB Studios
--------------------------
11 x N7 PC - 3 Euphonix S5 - 1 Euphonix S5MC

spiderbridge
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How is Nuendo working for you in 2014

Post by spiderbridge » Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:35 pm

I moved to Nuendo from PT almost ten years ago and never looked back. The only feature I missed in PT was the ability to have multiple track versions. Now that it's available in N6.5, I'm very happy.
Mac OSX 10.13.6/Nuendo 7.1.40/lotsa plug-ins

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests