FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Brain » Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:22 am

I take a project that has a bunch of mixes, each mix has a cycle marker.
I open the 'Export Audio Mixdown' window, check the "export cycle markers"
BUT I still have to individually check each marker or the mix(s) will not be exported.

Then the next time I use 'Export Audio Mixdown' I have to Un-Check each marker from the last project.

It would be really nice to have a checkbox to select All, and de-select all
I have included a screen grab of a project to show a typical project.
Export w-markers.jpg
(343.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Thanks,
Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Dec 03, 2014 12:32 am

+100 markers.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2469
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Fredo » Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:04 pm

You currently can select the (all) markers and flag/unflag them all with one click.
!?

Fredo

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:59 pm

Fredo wrote:You currently can select the (all) markers and flag/unflag them all with one click.
!?

Fredo

A button to select all markers in the export window? I know I need new glasses... but... I've never seen anything like that. Is that what you're talking about?

If not, and you mean "drag-selecting" everything in the export markers box, that's the issue we're talking about here. For example, If I have, say, 90 markers to export (not unusual), then I have to scroll-select all of them (there's no key combination I know of to select everything at once), then click; if there are boxes selected from the previous export I have to double-click to deselect/re-select to get them all... and it's very easy to miss the last few at the bottom of the list. A button at the top of the box to "select all" would a) speed things up and b) increase confidence that all markers were indeed being selected. The more markers there are in a project, the more inconvenient this issue becomes.

If I'm missing a key command-- lay it on me, Fredo! :)

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3782
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by MattiasNYC » Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:10 am

If you look at the screenshot in the first post you'll see that there's a check box to the left of each source (top section) / cycle marker (bottom section).

In my version of Nuendo, 6.0.7, there is an additional check box in the top section (sources); one next to each "type" of output. So to the left of "Output Channels" I have a check box, and the same is the case to the left of "Group Channels" and "FX Channels" etc. If I select the check box for "Output Channels" all of them get selected.

If you look at the screenshot in the first post you'll see that's not the case. It is curious that this is not the case.

In neither the screenshot nor my version of Nuendo do I have the ability to select all cycle markers the same way, because neither has that cycle marker check box (that selects all cycle markers).

What is possible though is selecting the first cycle marker, then shift-clicking the last cycle marker to highlight them all, and then selecting one box will select them all. Maybe that's what Fredo was talking about.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:17 am

Lydiot wrote:What is possible though is selecting the first cycle marker, then shift-clicking the last cycle marker to highlight them all, and then selecting one box will select them all. Maybe that's what Fredo was talking about.
Maybe it is... and that's basically what I do. But when you've got 90+ (I often deal with more than a hundred files in an export session), it'd sure be a lot handier to just click a box. Ya know? Especially with those often unpredictable "leftover" checked boxes from previous exports.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Brain » Thu Dec 04, 2014 6:35 am

Everything Chewy said is spot on!
I couldn't say it any better.

I will take a closer look at all the suggestions, but...
1. I do not see a
Fredo wrote:You currently can select the (all) markers and flag/unflag them all with one click.
Fredo
2. as Chewy said...
Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:... But when you've got 90+ (I often deal with more than a hundred files in an export session), it'd sure be a lot handier to just click a box. Ya know? Especially with those often unpredictable "leftover" checked boxes from previous exports.

Chewy
I will try the suggestions and get back to you guys.
Thanks,
Brain
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2469
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Fredo » Thu Dec 04, 2014 8:36 am

-Flag Export Cycle Markers
-Select the first marker
-Select the last marker while holding the shift button
-Flag all selected markers.


Fredo

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 773
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos » Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:16 am

Fredo wrote:-Flag Export Cycle Markers
-Select the first marker
-Select the last marker while holding the shift button
-Flag all selected markers.


Fredo
Right, as referenced previously in the thread. The point is that when dealing with large numbers of cycle markers, this method is often cumbersome. It would be much more elegant to have either a "select/deselect all" one-click option-- or at least to be able to use standard keyboard (control/a or command/a) functionality to select.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: FR: export marker select/deselect ALL option

Post by Brain » Thu Dec 04, 2014 3:08 pm

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Right, as referenced previously in the thread. The point is that when dealing with large numbers of cycle markers, this method is often cumbersome. It would be much more elegant to have either a "select/deselect all" one-click option-- or at least to be able to use standard keyboard (control/a or command/a) functionality to select.

Chewy
YES !!!
++++++1000
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest