VCA faders in Nuendo

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Cochrane
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:10 pm
Contact:

VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Cochrane »

Hello,

I've just watched the intro videos for Cubase Pro 8 and the obvious question which raises up is: when will Nuendo get the much anticipated VCA faders?
Will it be a Nu 6.x thing or we have to wait for next Nu release? (Nu 7.0 or Nuendo Pro Pro :roll: 8.0 )
Expected timeframe??

I know that it's all so new, but I think Nuendo deserves VCA faders (and maybe the new audio engine...) as soon as possible.

Many thanks indeed,
Cochrane
Last edited by Cochrane on Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
NUENDO 5.5.6 NEK, NUENDO 6.5 NEK (yes, it works on Vista!), Nuendo 8.x (waiting for new PC...) - Q9650 3GHz Quad - VISTA/64 - 8GB RAM - 4TB HDs - RME HDSP 9652 - nVidia 8500GT passive - nVidia NVS 290 passive - 2*24" + 2*20" --- CUBASE 7.5 - Q9550 2.8GHz Quad - W7/64 - 8GB RAM --- Wavelab 7.2, HALion Sonic, VG2, GA3, HALion 4.5, VB, The Grand 3

bilekt3
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by bilekt3 »

Same obvious question here! Timo some timeline will be very appreciated (C8Pro features, Yosemite etc).

Thanks
Tomas Bilek | Solution Architect, Functional Developer (Clojure, F#) | Prague, Czech Republic

MacBook Pro 15', Nuendo 7.X+NEK, Absolute Collection 2, Fab Filter Plugins, RND Portico Bundle, Softube Tube-Tech Classic Channel, 2CAudio Reverbs

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Fredo »

VCA faders are working nicely on the Nuendo 7 beta version.
;)
They will not be included in Nuendo6.x

Fredo

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1423
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

7 BETA. He said 7 BETA!!!
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Fredo »

Well, yes ... Nuendo and Cubase are developped alongside for the most part.
Now there are some extra (very cool) exclusive Nuendo features that need to be finished before they can launch Nuendo 7. For the moment you'll simply have to drool over Cubase 8.

(Cynism/ON)
(That being said, it surprises me that there aren't any "dissapointed" "unusable" "rippoff" and_the_likes threads appearing yet....) (Cynism/OFF)

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by jorisdeman »

Fredo, I know this is the Nuendo forum but do you know when we'll be able to test drive Cubase 8? It looks awesome....


Also, is the performance between mac and pc closer now? I was able to test previous versions on the same machine and found the mac version to be both visually and cpu-wise about 20-25% slower...and larger sessions tended to make the program visually (scrolling, updating, moving around the session) *a lot* slower on the mac compared to the pc...
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

User avatar
Bifop
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Bifop »

Nuendo 7 in beta ! Wow ! So quick guys.

I am disappointed.
Not by Steinberg or the lack (yet) of hate threads, telling the world will collapse because of new features.
No, I'm just disappointed.
No appointements today. No dates. Nada.


Still, when is Nuendo 7 coming. It is long overdue etc.... :mrgreen:
Personal setup : Nuendo 10 on ASUS PRIME Z270-A -I7 7700K - Win10 pro 64bits- SSD - 4 x LCD screens + 40" on Blackmagic intensity. Steinberg UR824 + MR816 - 2 X Avid Artist Mix + Artist control + Euphonix transport. LCR Focal Twin.

Nuage 32 faders on Mac Pro 12 cores. 5.1 Focal twin. Ssl Xlogic Alpha link Madi at workplace.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4384
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by MattiasNYC »

Improved window management and VCAs is probably enough for me to warrant an upgrade (I skipped 6.5.x). I'd still love to see key command focus fixed, as well as better grouping, but together with 6.5.x improvements it's a no-brainer to me. VCAs will improve my workflow tremendously. Finally.

2015?

edit: Cubase 7 and Nuendo 6 were announced at the same time Nov 14, 2012, with Nuendo 6 actually being released end of Q1 the year after... iirc
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Robin Walsh
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Robin Walsh »

I am really excited for N7! VCA's = YES!
Nuendo 10.3 - Windows 10 - i9 9900K - Gigabyte Aorus Ultra Z390 MOBO - nVidia GeForce 1060 - Lynx Hilo/Auroura(n) - Gigabyte Titan Ridge Thunderbolt3 PCIe - Amphion

roel
Member
Posts: 802
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by roel »

Fredo wrote:Well, yes ... Nuendo and Cubase are developped alongside for the most part.
Now there are some extra (very cool) exclusive Nuendo features that need to be finished before they can launch Nuendo 7. For the moment you'll simply have to drool over Cubase 8.

(Cynism/ON)
(That being said, it surprises me that there aren't any "dissapointed" "unusable" "rippoff" and_the_likes threads appearing yet....) (Cynism/OFF)
How can someone be dissapointed by an upgrade like that? If even half of it is true, and with the given price setttings, this is what many people have been hoping for. I think that once the words are being spread out, and as it seems that is being tested for months now and is thus quite issue-free, you will see a lot of people who were complaining in the past, rush for this update.
Cubase 10.5, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Getalife2 »

I have to say that it would really cool if Nuendo owners could get a trial license for Cubase 8 from now until N7 releases.

Hurts no one. Doesn't negatively impact sales or the impetus to upgrade for current Nuendo owners. Just makes a bunch of top shelf users feel valued by Steinberg as they wait for N7 to be finished.

Yes?
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4 GHz Win 7 Pro 64bit - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1423
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

I had a closer look at the fantastic marketing material, that looks really great and makes me think this is a no brainer for Cubase users. I see quite a bit of Nuendo in this update, hence the pro in the name.
Obviously we'll have too see how mature the new stuff is, but I'd like to say I am really impressed from what I see and hear.
This looks like yet another winner to me and it's very reasonably priced as well.

You guys do an amazing job!
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

User avatar
Bifop
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Bifop »

Oliver.Lucas wrote:I had a closer look at the fantastic marketing material, that looks really great and makes me think this is a no brainer for Cubase users. I see quite a bit of Nuendo in this update, hence the pro in the name.
Obviously we'll have too see how mature the new stuff is, but I'd like to say I am really impressed from what I see and hear.
This looks like yet another winner to me and it's very reasonably priced as well.

You guys do an amazing job!
I totally agree ! I'm glad they got rid of the premature lad... The presentation movies are inticing !
Personal setup : Nuendo 10 on ASUS PRIME Z270-A -I7 7700K - Win10 pro 64bits- SSD - 4 x LCD screens + 40" on Blackmagic intensity. Steinberg UR824 + MR816 - 2 X Avid Artist Mix + Artist control + Euphonix transport. LCR Focal Twin.

Nuage 32 faders on Mac Pro 12 cores. 5.1 Focal twin. Ssl Xlogic Alpha link Madi at workplace.

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 1000
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by TimoWildenhain »

Dear forum members,

as Fredo mentioned, Nuendo 7 will get VCA faders as well as all Cubase 8 features.
We are currently still in the process of developing additional features that will only
be available in Nuendo 7.

There will be some very nice things coming to Nuendo 7, making this update one of
the biggest in Nuendo's history. We'll be able to deliver totally new functions and
workflows which cannot be found in other DAW. Plus, Nuendo will get (probably)
all product maintenance of the Cubase 8 lifecycle until the release.
Now, enough "heat up" ;-)

That being said, Q1 2015 for Nuendo 7 seems to be unrealistic so far.

As for Yosemite compatibility, I believe early 2015.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1423
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

TimoWildenhain wrote:
That being said, Q1 2015 for Nuendo 7 seems to be unrealistic so far.
It's great to see this company learn from past mistakes... :lol:
If you need a life post Nuendo product management I am sure that all political parties would hire you for being able to give information without being too specific...

Looking forward to N7, whenever you want me to throw my money at you.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by HughH »

I'm curious if the way VCA faders are implemented in CP8 would bother anyone here:

My problem is that, after creating a VCA group, it is impossible to "select" a single channel within the group.
Selecting one selects all.

The issue with this for me is that any actions that are applied to a "selected" channel are now applied to all.

For instance, if the Channel Edit window is open simply selecting a channel by clicking on it anywhere would bring that channel into focus for Editing.

This is no longer possible within a VCA Group.

A problem?

Hugh
Nuendo 10, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home, Dual Monitors RME Digiface PCIe
Dell XPS 15 7590 Laptop i9 (10th Gen) 32 Gig Win 10 MOTU 8Pre-ES
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
UR22

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4384
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by MattiasNYC »

TimoWildenhain wrote:That being said, Q1 2015 for Nuendo 7 seems to be unrealistic so far.
Thanks,
Timo
Well, I skipped 6.5 since it had no VCAs and lacked some other improvements. The sooner the better. I'm content with the 6.5 features plus the Cubase 8 features (i.e. VCAs for example). But I understand others have other wishes.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4384
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by MattiasNYC »

HughH wrote:I'm curious if the way VCA faders are implemented in CP8 would bother anyone here:

My problem is that, after creating a VCA group, it is impossible to "select" a single channel within the group.
Selecting one selects all.

The issue with this for me is that any actions that are applied to a "selected" channel are now applied to all.

For instance, if the Channel Edit window is open simply selecting a channel by clicking on it anywhere would bring that channel into focus for Editing.

This is no longer possible within a VCA Group.

A problem?

Hugh
Sounds odd. In the video you can see the guy applying a VCA to linked faders and then changing their properties both via VCA and individually on individual tracks.

Could it be in how you set up the linked-faders (hate the terminology.... why not just "group"?)? Did you link the parameters that are now controlled for all tracks? In the video when he creates the link-group he hasn't selected a bunch of stuff. Could that be the issue?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by HughH »

Lydiot wrote:
HughH wrote:
The issue with this for me is that any actions that are applied to a "selected" channel are now applied to all.

For instance, if the Channel Edit window is open simply selecting a channel by clicking on it anywhere would bring that channel into focus for Editing.

Hugh
Sounds odd. In the video you can see the guy applying a VCA to linked faders and then changing their properties both via VCA and individually on individual tracks.
Perhaps I was not clear.

You CAN, of course, tweak the levels of individual members of the VCA Group.
Just as you can with the "Link" function using the Alt key (no Alt key needed with VCAs).

My issue is that the channels are no longer individually selectable.
When you "Select" one member of the group they all become selected.

In my specific case this is a problem because - using an MCU - I used to select a channel and then open the "Channel Edit" window for that channel with the dedicated switch on the MCU.
This is not possible within VCA groups now.
I would think this limitation would apply to other hardware controllers also.

Even using only a mouse, it was possible to have the Channel Edit window open and it would follow (with the option enabled) any channel selection - which was possible by clicking on numerous areas of the channel.
Now only the "e" button works.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home, Dual Monitors RME Digiface PCIe
Dell XPS 15 7590 Laptop i9 (10th Gen) 32 Gig Win 10 MOTU 8Pre-ES
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
UR22

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Brandy »

Maybe I am looking like a dump dude now - but can one please explain "VCA faders" to me? I watched that C8 vid and those faders exactly reacted like control-linked-channels. What's the difference to that?

Regarding Nuendo vs Cubase etc - That video impressed me so hard that I now will throw those 100 bucks on the Cubase update and as it seems I have to use Cubase again - along with Nuendo. Oh no!
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Brandy »

Aaaaah I just stepped over it in the Cubase Forum... C8 needs the Aero mode!! No!!

I will nut change my studio daw to aero mode.. I am in an modified classic mode for years and I love it that way. No way to enable Aero mode - had nothing but issues back in my first days of Win7... So no Cubase 8 for me ATM.

I hope that this will not the same in Nuendo 7.
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Fredo »

Brandy wrote: What's the difference to that?

A bunch of faders can be controlled by an additional VCA fader.
Still, you can change any individual fader within that group, without affecting the others.
And you can have gourps within groups, within groups.

So, for a drum kit, you cna have a VCA for kick & Snare, a VCA for Toms, a VCA for OH's, etc ....
Then one VCA which controls all of these together, and so on.
But still, you can change the volume of the -for example- Hihat individually.

Fredo

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Fredo »

Brandy wrote:AaaaC8 needs the Aero mode!! .
So will N7.
Areo mode is needed to provide the current functionality.
It's not a choice Steinberg could made, it was a choice Steinberg was forced to make.

Get over it.
:)

(For those who are offended by this, Brandy an I go a long way back. I can say that.)
I hope ...


Fredo

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by Brandy »

Fredo, thanks a lot - again!! I just watched the video regarding the VCA faders. Ok - I understand. Well, then the way I mix is quite a "workaround" which works for me - a Bus/group for example on the drums is not needed for overall-level changes - but for processing (EQ, Comp etc, mostly only EQ) - when I want to change the individual faders VCA style I just quick-link the tracks and do it without an extra fader..

But that VCA thing seems like an awesome thing to me when it comes to automation.

Regarding the Aero thing.. well.. I just tried "how my DAW will look like" and I almost puked.

BUT: And I am sorry to hijack this tread now - it fixed TWO serious issues I am having in N6.5!!

- Scrolling in a mixer stretched via 3 screens is fast now (was clumsy since the new mixing desk)
- I had a serious issue with the East West "Play" instrument - when clicking with the mouse in an empty space in the project or in the midi editor (to select multiple events - audio or midi) I had CPU spikes and dropouts - till I freeze the instruments - and this is GONE..

I tried back and forth and all I can say: Aero fixed that. Both.

But it looks so ugly.. Oh man..

Isn' there a way to modify the window-bars? They are eating up so much space. And even when I set it to "grey" (which looks somewhat ok) the Nuendo Mixer is BLUE... and not transparent. everything looks like a GUI Error..
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

gph
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: VCA faders in Nuendo

Post by gph »

Hey Brandy -

The unnecessarily wide and high borders, sliders, and icons of the Aero-style themes are very ugly and a waste of space - I agree.

It's not a supported approach done at one's own risk, but I have modified values with RegEdit at the following path: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\WindowMetrics

Using this I have minimised the screen real-estate required by all of the useless rubbish.

Hope that helps stop you coming out in a rash! :)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests