How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Brandy » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:07 pm

I have a question.

In Nuendo I am used to have everything set up in a way that parameters (faders, sends etc) automatically snap back to the previous value after I stopped writing automation. Either when just riding a fader (maybe it was at 0db - then I ride it to -10 db, release the fader - then the fader snaps back to 0db, drawing the automation back to 0db as well) or when using the pencil to "draw" automation.

Now I am messing around in Cubase and I am not able to re-create that setup - when I release the fader or stop drawing with the pencil the fader or the line just stays there... so when I was at 0db before and I stopped writing at -10 db the track now remains at -10 db and I have to manually edit the automation to go back to the initial value...

I compared how I set up Nuendo and Cubase and can't find the culprit..

Thanks,
Brandy
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2467
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Fredo » Mon Dec 08, 2014 4:47 pm

If I remember well, there has been a change in the early days when Cubase enherited the Nuendo automation.
Cubase users go so used to the way it used to be in the "old" automation.
To satisfy the users they removed one of the functions which made the Cubase automation act -more or less- as if "to end" was permanently activated. Don't know if this is still the case today though ...

I think you can solve the problem by executing a "set initial parameters".

But I'm not 100% sure about this ...

Fredo

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Brandy » Mon Dec 08, 2014 5:58 pm

Mh.. yes that "initial parameter" thing was my workaround (doing this by hand) in very old days.. in combi with putting an automation dot in the very end.. that way I was able to use wildest gain riding without messing with the mix.

I prefer the Nuendo way. The Cubase way just feels "incomplete" in my opinion.

It is so fast just hold down alt and then quickly draw a "tomfill" or a "snare hit". Gainriding is so important.

I hope to find a solution here.
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:57 am

So there isn't a"touch" automation in Cubase? :shock:
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Brandy » Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:26 am

Of course it is but After that the fader (of what else I am riding) is not snapping back to its initial value... Instead it stays were I released it.
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:19 am

Ain't that "latch" or "write" automation?
I hope I'm not missing something here?
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Brandy » Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:45 am

mh I tried everything - maybe I missed something here. I will check out again!

ITM I am mixing in N6.5 because it feels so "home-sweet-home" :-)
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:37 pm

Touch automation works so that when you crap for example a fader it starts to write automation for your fader ride. When you let go of the fader it returns to previously written automation values.
Latch automation works so that when you crap a fader it starts to write automation as in touch mode. But when you let go the fader it stays where you left it writing straight line to automation until you stop playback and then snaps to previously written automation values.
Please someone correct me if needed ;)
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Brandy » Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:51 pm

Yes - when I insert one single automation note somewhere in the end (Cubase) the automation behaves exactly like that. But when I use a new track - no automation yet - just enable "write" and crap the fader - then Cubase and Nuendo behave different - Nuendo always returns to the previous value... In Cubase it stays where I let the fader go.
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:52 pm

Brandy wrote:Yes - when I insert one single automation note somewhere in the end (Cubase) the automation behaves exactly like that. But when I use a new track - no automation yet - just enable "write" and crap the fader - then Cubase and Nuendo behave different - Nuendo always returns to the previous value... In Cubase it stays where I let the fader go.
Odd...
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by Brain » Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:38 pm

Brandy, I don't have Cubase, but does this section of the manual from N6 not apply to your Cubase ??
The initial value
An initial value is always used when “Use Virgin Territory” is disabled in the Automation Settings (see “Automation Preferences” on page 341).
When no automation data exists for a particular parameter, the starting point of an automation pass is saved as the initial value. When you punch out of the automation pass, it is this initial value to which the parameter will return.
This has one very important consequence: As soon as the initial value is set, the corresponding parameter is fully automated for the complete track, at any given timecode position of the project – even if your automation pass lasted only 2 seconds.
The straight line after the last automation event corresponds with the initial value.
When you release a control, it returns to the value defined by the automation curve – even when in Stop mode.
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: How is that Automation-Mode called?

Post by TSR » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:57 pm

The Virgin Territory made some confusion when it arrived in Nuendo back in the days as well.
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests