Well, THAT'S new!

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Keyplayer » Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:12 am

I installed VST Studio Connect Pro to run with N6.5.35. No problems there. But I didn't have a web cam. So I purchased a Logitech C525 and installed it about 3 hours ago. Since then, whenever I start Nuendo I get this error message saying that the video engine has stopped. :shock:
Nuendo 6.5 Video Engine Error Message.jpg
(218.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I select the option to search for a solution online and it corrects itself and Nuendo then launches without any further issues (so far). The ONLY thing that's changed in my setup is the addition of the web cam. Why is that screwing up Nuendo's video engine and how do I make these two get along? :?:
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Rob Brown
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:10 pm
Location: Bury St. Edmunds
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Rob Brown » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:37 am

....I select the option to search for a solution online and it corrects itself and Nuendo then launches without any further issues (so far)

Interesting that it corrects when you go on-line - maybe a good avenue to explore [having a web browser open before starting Nuendo, looking at your web setting both on PC and in Studio connect pro]. I am about to look into using this myself so I watch with anticipation.
Win 10 - 64 bit, Fireface UCX; Nuendo 7 + NEK 7; Wavelab 9; HALion 5; HALion Symphonic Orchestra; EWQL Symphonic Orchestra; Virtual Guitarist 2 etc...
Top of The Stairs Studio
Top of The Stairs SoundCloud

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Keyplayer » Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:43 pm

I THINK it has to do with being plugged into a USB hub. My PC is in a machine room on the other side of the wall. So, without a USB extension cord, I can't reach the computer. The USB hub was my closest connection and that got the camera connected to the PC.

For some reason, I never got the NEW DEVICE CONNECTED message when I plugged it in. So, I had to check the device manager to see if the PC even saw it. Once I saw it listed, I launched N6.5 to see if it worked and you know how that turned out from the opening thread.

Windows did an automatic update and re-booted the PC. When it re-started, I got the message saying that it saw the Logitech camera and had some associated software to install. Great! I installed it and launched N6.5 again. Still got the video engine crashed message (which resolved itself). But this time, the camera didn't light up(???)!

I closed N6.5 and launched VST Connect Pro directly. The camera lit up for a second and turned right back off. But every attempt opened the flash drives in the same hub. So, I'm going to buy a USB extension cord and do a direct connection to see if that solves the problem.
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Bifop
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Bifop » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:42 pm

Keyplayer,
Get something like this and be done with usb extension troubles. My machines are on a machine room and most passive usb extension cables I've found turned to be faulty after a while. Sometimes BSOD can be caused by these as well.
Personal setup : Nuendo 10 on ASUS PRIME Z270-A -I7 7700K - Win10 pro 64bits- SSD - 4 x LCD screens + 40" on Blackmagic intensity. Steinberg UR824 + MR816 - 2 X Avid Artist Mix + Artist control + Euphonix transport. LCR Focal Twin.

Nuage 32 faders on Mac Pro 12 cores. 5.1 Focal twin. Ssl Xlogic Alpha link Madi at workplace.

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Keyplayer » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:07 pm

Okay, I got the USB extension cord. The good news is that VST Connect Pro started up directly with no problem and the Logitech web cam worked just fine. The bad news is there was no change when I launched N6.5. I got the same Video Engine Crash issue.
Nuendo 6.5 Video Engine Error Message 02.jpg
(254.3 KiB) Not downloaded yet
N6.5 opened and VST Connect now saw the web cam in it's directory (so, it's working again). But how do I stop the video engine from crashing on each Nuendo launch?!!?
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Keyplayer » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:13 pm

Bifop wrote:Keyplayer,
Get something like this and be done with usb extension troubles. My machines are on a machine room and most passive usb extension cables I've found turned to be faulty after a while. Sometimes BSOD can be caused by these as well.
Thanks for the tip. But, so far, I've never had a problem with the extension cord before. But even if I used the converters you suggest, how many work group switches would I end up having to purchase to handle all of those cat-5 connections? I have loads of USB devices connected, hence the need for the hub. How did you make this work?
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Bifop
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Bifop » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:14 pm

I bought 3 of these kind of adapters.
They have a power plug on the receivers. Then you can use them as you would with a normal usb connector.
1 is used with a usb hub for a wireless keyboard and mouse + external dvd burner + occasional external storage ;
1 is used for motu midi express 128 (4 midi keyboards and 3 fader controllers) ;
1 is used for a wireless keyboard and mouse (second Daw).

But if your passive usb extension works, hey, keep it.

Have you tried to test the Webcam plugged straight on the comp to troubleshoot ?
Personal setup : Nuendo 10 on ASUS PRIME Z270-A -I7 7700K - Win10 pro 64bits- SSD - 4 x LCD screens + 40" on Blackmagic intensity. Steinberg UR824 + MR816 - 2 X Avid Artist Mix + Artist control + Euphonix transport. LCR Focal Twin.

Nuage 32 faders on Mac Pro 12 cores. 5.1 Focal twin. Ssl Xlogic Alpha link Madi at workplace.

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Keyplayer » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:17 pm

Bifop wrote: Have you tried to test the Webcam plugged straight on the comp to troubleshoot ?
Yeah, that's the first thing I tried. It worked great with VST SC Pro in stand alone mode. It is only when I open Nuendo that I get the video engine crash. I don't understand how the web cam is effecting it.
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Bifop
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Bifop » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:11 pm

Maybe the Webcam driver software installed a video or audio component that nuendo is sensistive to.
Personal setup : Nuendo 10 on ASUS PRIME Z270-A -I7 7700K - Win10 pro 64bits- SSD - 4 x LCD screens + 40" on Blackmagic intensity. Steinberg UR824 + MR816 - 2 X Avid Artist Mix + Artist control + Euphonix transport. LCR Focal Twin.

Nuage 32 faders on Mac Pro 12 cores. 5.1 Focal twin. Ssl Xlogic Alpha link Madi at workplace.

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Keyplayer » Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:49 am

I've found a work-around. If I unplug the web cam and launch N6.5, it opens up normally. Then I plug in the web cam and launch it inside of Nuendo. It works and I don't have that video engine crash when I start a session. It's rather annoying to have to do that. But I've lost count of all the work-arounds required to work with DAW/Computer recording. So, unless an actual solution shows up, I guess this is how it will have to work,

I did reach out to the VST SC Forum to see if they had any ideas on how to fix this. But, so far, no replies. In any case, thanks to those of you who offered help.
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

Bassman
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:44 am
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Bassman » Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:40 pm

Ok, it will not help you, but for years, I had bought a Logitech Webcam. On installation process, the routine install tons of software without ask me. My system (not my DAW, other pc) was full of things I don't need. The deinstallation of these whole sh** was very complicated if I remember correctly. At the end, I install the cam driver from INet only and buy no more Logitech stuff ...
Quadcore 3Ghz / 12GB RAM
3 x 250GB HD + 1 x 1 TB HD
1 x UAD-1 / MaXiO XD
Win10 (64Bit) / Nuendo 7 (64Bit) / WLab 9
Bassists come most deeply !

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1205
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Keyplayer » Fri Dec 12, 2014 4:07 pm

Bassman wrote:Ok, it will not help you, but for years, I had bought a Logitech Webcam. On installation process, the routine install tons of software without ask me. My system (not my DAW, other pc) was full of things I don't need. The deinstallation of these whole sh** was very complicated if I remember correctly. At the end, I install the cam driver from INet only and buy no more Logitech stuff ...
You're wrong about this not helping me. That's good information to know. I will definitely keep that in mind for next time! Thanks!!
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2470
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Well, THAT'S new!

Post by Fredo » Sat Dec 13, 2014 4:03 pm

What I do know from installing 2 logitec Webcams on the same computer is that I also ran into problems.
After a search on different fora, I found out that one Logitec Webcam "consumes" pretty much the entire bandwith of a USB connection. As soon as I put the two webcams on different USB feeds to the host computer, my problem was instantly gone.


HTH
Fredo

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests