Automation: Is this possible? ...

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Heiner Einbier
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:25 pm
Contact:

Automation: Is this possible? ...

Post by Heiner Einbier » Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:19 pm

Hey guys 'n' gals!

I'd like to do the following, and was wondering if any of you know if and how this is possible:
I would like, when I duck the M+E track to a narrator, that in addition to the volume to go down when I move the fader, that the EQ reduces the level of one band proportionately, but by a different factor. E.G. when I move the fader down by 6 dB that the EQ dips by 2 dB etc.
I would find this incredibly useful, as I usually take a little off the 1-2 kHz range off the M+E when the narrator kicks in, so that they are more clearly separated from the background. If I could do this in one go along with the ducking I'd love that.

If that isn't possible (yet), please file under "feature request"... ;)
ASUS/Intel Z270 chipset - Core i7-7700K CPU 4.2GHz - 32GB RAM
RME Fireface UCX, current driver
BlackMagic DeckLink MiniMonitor SDI, current driver
AVID Artist mix, current driver
Windows 10

Asus Notebook Core i7 5500U 12 GB RAM
Windows 10

Nuendo 10
Cubase Pro 10

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation: Is this possible? ...

Post by twelvetwelve » Thu Apr 23, 2015 9:53 pm

1) Use something like the Waves C6 with side-chain mode to duck a freq range based on sidechain input
2) Copy your volume automation to the EQ gain lane and use the automation scale tool to compress the range (could also create a logical editor preset for this)

User avatar
Heiner Einbier
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation: Is this possible? ...

Post by Heiner Einbier » Thu Apr 23, 2015 11:01 pm

Thanks a lot, likelystory, good idea, but:
likelystory wrote:1) Use something like the Waves C6 with side-chain mode to duck a freq range based on sidechain input
I was hoping to achieve this solely with automation, not with an extra plug-in.
likelystory wrote:2) Copy your volume automation to the EQ gain lane and use the automation scale tool to compress the range (could also create a logical editor preset for this)
That's in fact what I do right now, but that means I can't hear the result immediately during the first mix pass, which is what I'd like.
ASUS/Intel Z270 chipset - Core i7-7700K CPU 4.2GHz - 32GB RAM
RME Fireface UCX, current driver
BlackMagic DeckLink MiniMonitor SDI, current driver
AVID Artist mix, current driver
Windows 10

Asus Notebook Core i7 5500U 12 GB RAM
Windows 10

Nuendo 10
Cubase Pro 10

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3794
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Automation: Is this possible? ...

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:14 am

I agree with likelistory; side-chain a multiband eq or compressor.

Alternatively I'd see if you could possibly get a controller (real or virtual) to trigger two parameters at once. I have no idea how that would work, but it'd basically be something related to parameter-control rather than automation. See what I mean?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Heiner Einbier
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation: Is this possible? ...

Post by Heiner Einbier » Fri Apr 24, 2015 8:41 am

Yeah, I see what you mean. Still - being able to link and scale automation parameters to a single controller would be a cool feature.
ASUS/Intel Z270 chipset - Core i7-7700K CPU 4.2GHz - 32GB RAM
RME Fireface UCX, current driver
BlackMagic DeckLink MiniMonitor SDI, current driver
AVID Artist mix, current driver
Windows 10

Asus Notebook Core i7 5500U 12 GB RAM
Windows 10

Nuendo 10
Cubase Pro 10

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Automation: Is this possible? ...

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Fri Apr 24, 2015 9:57 am

not with cubase/nuendo, other daws can link parameters and you can write a formula to determine the scaling. apart from c6, i'd rather suggest a dynamic EQ with a sidechain input (this one's really cool: http://www.meldaproduction.com/plugins/ ... oDynamicEq )
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests