Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by WellBassd » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:13 am

Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

There is just no way

And no 500 midi&vstchannels with messed pdc does not work for something u can do with 1 mouseclick( on one channel ) in a refined daw

Try creating simple modern mix with gated snareverb in cubase

1 Snare source
2 Snare reverb + sidechain via midi-or-audio from Snare source & a gate modulated via midi from Snare source + EQ
3 Snare group with EQ/Other FX > sidechained via midi from kick

Cubase 30-100 mouseclicks and scrolling and 2-10 new midi & vst channels + messed pdc ( those who mix properly know what i mean ) + mixer organization all gone to crap

Bitwig,Live etc > 5-10 mouseclicks tidy mixer and routing organization on 1 single track

Whick one do you think helps creativity?

And thats just the beginning, now try adjusting some parameters and make the settings work in your song

> cubase does not have a real lower zone, thus user has to go back and forth in a mixer that has added midi and other channels messing everyting up

> daws with real lower zone have all parameters within reach and easy access / looks and feels tidy and is easy and clear to navigate

Jari Junttila
Junior Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by Jari Junttila » Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:21 am

"cubase does not have a real lower zone, thus user has to go back and forth in a mixer that has added midi and other channels messing everyting up"

I use visibility button to remove all unnecessery channels, when not used from the mixer view, i.e inputs, MIDI...
Format c:

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by Sunshy » Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:16 am

Post a video showing how you are doing this in both programs. Would love to see the bitwig workflow.
N 8.3 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by Winter Rat » Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:52 am

Sunshy wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:16 am
Post a video showing how you are doing this in both programs. Would love to see the bitwig workflow.
+1
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

TNM
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by TNM » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:34 pm

Just to the OP there is something definitely broken with cubase PDC and sidechains.. I am doing a video on this but keep running out of time to finish it properly.. will do asap to add my the topic i created about just that issue.

That said, bitwig is the worst DAW i have ever used in my life, equal with reaper.. I don't understand to be honest how you find it that difficult to create a gated reverb snare in Cubase, sorry.

And yes, post the workflow, so we can show you what you might be missing in Cubase.

Other than that, Cubase PDC is the best in the industry..

Bitwig had terrible PDC until they worked and worked on it and eventually fixed it.. so don't think it was some miracle overnight thing..

PS ableton live pdc is horrendous as of the last version i own, the last release of 9. If 10 fixes it I don't know. I can put an effect with latency say on track 16 in a 16 track project, and the cursor for playback is out of time then for the entire project, every track. Then monitoring latency is affected on every track. Then, if you use tempo synced effects in a certain way after latent effects, live can not sync them. Please tell me you are joking, live's PDC is atrocious and always has been. Before the mid cycle V9 update it was even worse.
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C Raid with Crucial MX500 1TB x2, Startech USB-C with 512Gb 860 Pro, Tbolt3 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, USB3 8TB Seagate MyBackup+, Tbolt Apollo 8 x 2, TBolt UA Satellite x 2, Tbolt Apollo Twin Duo, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons of midi synths, CB Pro 9.5.3.
2) Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, CBPro9.5.3/Logic10.4.1/PT2018.7, Internal Sound, Lacie Rugged SSD TBolt 512GB, G-tech 1TB 7200RPM TBolt, USB3 WD 2TB MyPassport.

teknatronik
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by teknatronik » Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:38 pm

Snare chanell, fx chanell with reverb, add a gate to the fx chanell via built in Strip, send snare. Now you have a gated reverb in the form of an fx chanell for all sounds.

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by silhouette » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:20 pm

teknatronik wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:38 pm
Snare channel, fx channel with reverb, add a gate to the fx channel via built in Strip, send snare. Now you have a gated reverb in the form of an fx channel for all sounds.
+ you can save and then recall whenever needed. I always save those efx chains I use a lot. Even if you have to adjust for the situation it always saves time.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

TNM
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by TNM » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:07 pm

of course you could use a gated reverb like overloud breverb also where you can do all these effects directly in seconds even as an insert
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C Raid with Crucial MX500 1TB x2, Startech USB-C with 512Gb 860 Pro, Tbolt3 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, USB3 8TB Seagate MyBackup+, Tbolt Apollo 8 x 2, TBolt UA Satellite x 2, Tbolt Apollo Twin Duo, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons of midi synths, CB Pro 9.5.3.
2) Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, CBPro9.5.3/Logic10.4.1/PT2018.7, Internal Sound, Lacie Rugged SSD TBolt 512GB, G-tech 1TB 7200RPM TBolt, USB3 WD 2TB MyPassport.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by Stephen57 » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:03 pm

Hit F4 and get used to adding groups and FX from there, rather than with many mouse clicks on the board.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by Stephen57 » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:05 pm

Cubase is always better the second time you do something.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

digitalson
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by digitalson » Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:39 am

Back in the analog days I used to gategate the overheads with the snare track so the overheads open up only when the snare track is hit
i7 ,64gb 1866 mem x79 chipset, ssd os,4 x ssd drives raid 0 motu pci 96 ins and outs @96k for external gear
tons of vintage outboard gear 3 monitors and 42" LCD for spotting to film
Windows 7 pro 64 sp1
Gtx 780 ,all liquid cooled CPU overclocked to 4 ghz

teknatronik
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by teknatronik » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:47 am

I love creating groups now. Highlight all the channels to group and click add group. How can it be easier?

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by WellBassd » Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:23 pm

Winter Rat wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:52 am
Sunshy wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:16 am
Post a video showing how you are doing this in both programs. Would love to see the bitwig workflow.
+1
Nah since you didn t get it the first time i see your intention is not helpful

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by planarchist » Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:41 pm

WellBassd wrote:
Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:23 pm
Winter Rat wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:52 am
Sunshy wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:16 am
Post a video showing how you are doing this in both programs. Would love to see the bitwig workflow.
+1
Nah since you didn t get it the first time i see your intention is not helpful
I've never seen Bitwig so, like many others here I would find it useful to see how you it works. A video would be useful. Alwsys interesting to see how things are accomplished in other DAWs.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Impossible to create routings like in Bitwig,Live,FL

Post by jorisdeman » Tue Mar 13, 2018 3:44 pm

Interesting. I don't really see the issue, but then I hardly see the point in comparing two DAW's that have uniquely different approaches; comparing Bitwig to Live seems more apt than comparing it to Cubase (which is more similar to Logic and DP, for example).
By the same token, I wouldn't attempt a big live orchestral score in Bitwig to video with multiple tempo and signature changes, because that is not what it is geared up for.

To go back to your problem:
-I have not experienced issues with PDC personally in years with Cubase or Nuendo.
-there are various ways to go about creating a gated snare fx, just because you can't use your Bitwig workflow (I think you actually can, but it will require different steps) doesn't mean it's broken.
One thing you could consider is using a send on your snare track to a reverb, stick the midi gate effect on your reverb and send the midi note from your snare track to the midi gate. The length of your snare note then decides the length of your reverb.
You can then route your fx and snare output to another group for combined processing.
Hardly the 100 clicks you were mentioning?
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests