Connecting 828x to 896HD via lightpipe

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
Manike
Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Connecting 828x to 896HD via lightpipe

Post by Manike » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:20 pm

Hi -


Wondering if any one can point out what I've done wrong. I'm trying to utilise the preamps on my old 896HD. I'm running a MOTU 828x currently.

I'm using the 896HD in standalone mode and I've routed all the preamps so they're outputting to ADAT at 48Khz. The clock is set to internal.
I've got a light pipe going out from the 896HD to the 828x.

The 828x is set to 48Khz, clock is ADAT optical A.

So I'm receiving all the preamps.. everything is working apart from the fact that I'm getting pops in the audio which points to a sync issue..


Any ideas for the next step?

Michael
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3782
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Connecting 828x to 896HD via lightpipe

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:36 pm

1. Increase buffer size(s).

2. Run another ADAT the other direction and try to reverse the sync relationship (have no idea if that works).

3. Get a BNC cable and run clock using that instead (with current master/slave selection).

PS: I have no experience with that brand really, but that's what I would test. If you're in NY I can give you cable if you don't want to buy one.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Manike
Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Connecting 828x to 896HD via lightpipe

Post by Manike » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:39 pm

Cheers buddy - I'll try those recommendations.

I'm in Leicester England but I appreciate the offer of the cable! Does the quality of the optical cable matter or is a light pipe a light pipe.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

Manike
Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Connecting 828x to 896HD via lightpipe

Post by Manike » Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:00 pm

Fixed it - Bought a new light pipe to try 2nd suggestion and tried replacing the original before using 2. Worked! Without pops. Must be a dodgey cable.

Thanks for the help.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3782
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Connecting 828x to 896HD via lightpipe

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:40 pm

:-)
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests