Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

Post by 01w » Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:32 am

while Reaper demo and ableton live demo show around 3% CPU usage with same plugins and 512 buffer setting:
Cubase 10 is at 40% !
and with 8 instances of omnisphere cubase cant handle it at all, and just freezes,
while in reaper demo and ableteon live demo cpu is only around 12%.

what is wrong with cubase ?

I cannot afford to learn another daw just because of cubase not working in windows 10, unfortunately I only worked in cubase previously and all unfinished projects and recording sessions are in cubase!
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

User avatar
Hippo
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

Post by Hippo » Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:49 am

You don't think you can afford not to?
Stop fighting your own carefully made testing conclusions.

Bite the bullet and go ableton live or reaper.

Whats wrong with Cubase?

It does not suit your man/machine combination

Move on

Use your OCd i7-920. 24GB ram. 1 SSD, 2 HDs. | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | ADAM p11a, ns10m. to finish the projects then start fresh with your new daw and computer

If "Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10" were true this forum would light up red in seconds and Steinberg would be out of business in a month
i9 9900k 32gig ram Steinberg UR44 Windows 10

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

Post by 01w » Sat Mar 02, 2019 1:23 am

Hippo wrote:
Sat Mar 02, 2019 12:49 am
You don't think you can afford not to?
Stop fighting your own carefully made testing conclusions.

Bite the bullet and go ableton live or reaper.

Whats wrong with Cubase?

It does not suit your man/machine combination

Move on

Use your OCd i7-920. 24GB ram. 1 SSD, 2 HDs. | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | ADAM p11a, ns10m. to finish the projects then start fresh with your new daw and computer

If "Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10" were true this forum would light up red in seconds and Steinberg would be out of business in a month
It will take me few months to get fast in reaper or any other daw, I worked in cubase for about 15 years, and currently I have about 10 unfinished projects in cubase 10.

The old i7-920 PC, got infected with virus from "super audio converter",
using it means reinstalling everything from scratch again on Windows 7..

Oh why does life has to be so hard ometimes
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

Osorio
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

Post by Osorio » Mon Mar 04, 2019 2:04 pm

I can certainly understand your pain. A similar thing happened to me, only the number of years and projects were not quite that high as yours. Starting fresh was smoother and easier than I expected it would be though.

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

Post by Nickeldome » Thu Mar 07, 2019 1:50 pm

If it works for others on Windows 10 I don't see why it couldn't work for you? And my experience is that Cubase 10 runs more efficiently than previous versions? Your system probably needs some tweaking? A quick and dirty way to test is to disable hyperthreating in the bios. And then make sure the following options are enabled in the VST Audio System screen:
1) Activate Multi Processing
2) Activate Asio Guard
3) Activate Steinberg Audio Power Scheme

That should at least improve the performance considerably.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

User avatar
Rommelaar
Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

Post by Rommelaar » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:05 pm

The old i7-920 PC, got infected with virus from "super audio converter",
using it means reinstalling everything from scratch again on Windows 7..
I am not a professional Cubase user, it's a hobby. The computer I use for music, is for music only, nothing else. How can you get infected with a virus from "super audio converter"? Only reason I can think off it that not all programs/plugins are legal.

You can completely reinstall your operating system, that takes care of your virus issues, and uses your backups from your projects to start over again. But what do I know, I am only an hobbyist.

Good luck.
Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 64 GB RAM, Samsung 34" C34F791, Asus Strix GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Audio hardware:KRK Rokit 6, Steinberg UR44 / CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD, Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, ZOOM H6, Akai MAX49, Akai MPD226
Software: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Nuendo 10.2, Wavelab Pro 10 , Dorico 3, Spectralayers, RapidComposer v3.81
Favourite plugin developers: Fabfilter, Image Line, Spectrasonics, Steinberg, Synapse audio, Vengeance sound, Waldorf, Zynaptiq

rob23
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 unusable on windows 10

Post by rob23 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:50 am

To anybody out there who is experiencing buffering problems with Cubase 10 let me give my advice on how to fix the problem.

BUY A PORTABLE SSD DRIVE AND PUT ALL YOUR PROJECTS AND LIBRARIES ON IT AND... PROBLEM SOLVED?

My system works perfectly now.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests