Page 1 of 1

Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:51 pm
by Keyplayer
As the title says. Is anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo? I'm on The Artist Series gear now and the improvements in the S1 Series are very tempting.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSk4cQLwzPM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGo5mUZzh6w&t=110s

Of course, what I'd prefer is for SB/Yamaha to MAKE OUR OWN VERSIONS OF THIS HARDWARE!

Re: Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:32 am
by TEEF
Looks nice, but I think the price is going to get pretty hefty with all the iPads or whatever pads you need for each bank.

Personally, I've been mixing on the same MCUs+ extenders since before I went Gray! LOL I don't know what color my hair would turn if I went with those puppies!

Re: Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:36 am
by TEEF
Weren't you having problems with the artist series that you're currently using? Do you think it's going to be any better with these new units? There was a time where I contemplating moving control surfaces, to the artist series. This was before Avid bought them. I never made the move. I never had issues with my setup and I just augmented my setup with a touch screen monitor and a iPad. My Mainstay of work was a lot of local bands, radio commercials, TV show vo and pickups and that kind of stuff.

Re: Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 9:06 pm
by Keyplayer
TEEF wrote:
Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:36 am
Weren't you having problems with the artist series that you're currently using? Do you think it's going to be any better with these new units? There was a time where I contemplating moving control surfaces, to the artist series. This was before Avid bought them. I never made the move. I never had issues with my setup and I just augmented my setup with a touch screen monitor and a iPad. My Mainstay of work was a lot of local bands, radio commercials, TV show vo and pickups and that kind of stuff.
You are absolutely correct, Sir. I was/am having issues with the Artist Series gear and yes, the temptation is because said issues are SUPPOSEDLY FIXED.
The S1 added Function Buttons (Control/Alt/Delete etc.) which will expand some options. The crashing issue with PT Control is supposedly taking care of because you can run it on Android (they were pointing to the Apple working with PC as the issue. People running Nuendo on Macs supposedly didn't have the problem). You can get tablets for about $200.00 a piece now and YOU DON'T NEED THE TABLET. They're just an option. If you don't get them, it'll be the same as the Artist Mix. At $1300 a pop, you could get a 25 fader setup (including a Dock) for less than $5K! That was the asking price for the S3 alone!!

IF IT WORKS, that's way more affordable than the minimum Nuage set up at 3 times that price! I can assure you that I will NOT be gambling on this! I will try it out in the store first. If I delete a track in Nuendo and the hardware doesn't follow with that change, IT'LL BE OVER RIGHT THEN.

But, for now, I'm curious if Eucon will be salvageable for non PT users. :?:

Re: Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:40 pm
by MattiasNYC
I just tried what you've tried to do in N10 with the Artist Mix on a mac based DAW that normally runs PT HDX. I too didn't find a way to get the controller to not show hidden channels.

The next thing I tried to accomplish was have Nuendo hide channels and then auto-select one of the channels that's left visible. My thinking was that if we could achieve that then at the very least we could have the Mix chase selected channel and at least bank over to the right area. So as long as we're not mixing channel types for example it'd help. Of course non-contiguous selections would still be an issue, like 'show tracks with data under cursor' if they're tracks 1, 3, 9, 13 for example.

Anyway, a bit annoying for sure.

Re: Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Mon Dec 23, 2019 9:48 am
by SuperSteve
Hi Ya’ll,

Just curious if anyone already has had the chance to try this out in person at a showroom or demo setup yet ?

Curious to hear your verdicts on this...

Re: Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 11:57 am
by RuskinF
If I may I would go with Avid S4, but I would reconsider if the price is too big.

Re: Anybody here considering Avid S1 or S4 for Cubase/Nuendo?

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 11:55 am
by Keyplayer
RuskinF wrote:
Thu Dec 26, 2019 11:57 am
If I may I would go with Avid S4, but I would reconsider if the price is too big.
What qualifies as "too big?"