ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:06 pm

(non-Steinberg related question)

Hi folks,

I am having a massive issue between my Nord Stage Classic (Midi Out) and Roland XV5050 (Midi In). I spent another weekend on the problem(s) but I can not seem to solve them at all.

The biggest (and strangest) problem is that I send out a PROGRAM CHANGE message from my Nord (say to call up Bank A-001 Grand Piano on the XV5050). Not only does the XV5050 ignore this message type, but i keep getting the screen display :-

"<< No Media >>"

There is still the 'sound' of the instrument (Patch) when I play the Nord or via the 'Riff Demo' (when holding the Volume knob on the XV5050), but the display says "<< No Media >>" ??

Then, if I manually press PATCH on the XV5050 front panel, the PATCH NAME appears !!

I looked thru the manual but could not see mention of this message, tried resetting to factory default and also tried lots of different Midi settings I could think of. And i have visited the Roland Clan Forum.

Does anyone have any idea what/why this message is appearing, and how to solve it please ?? Its a real nightmare as I will not able to see what Patches are being called up whilst playing on a gig !! And I want to start programing the module asap. A couple of years ago i programed up a JV1080 to run alongside my Nord, and after a few teething issues it was no problem at all. I don't understand why the XV5050 would be so different ??

Thanks a lot guys,

Paul
Fender Rhodes Suitcase, Fender Rhodes Stage, Hohner E7 Clavinet, Mini Moog Model D, Multi Moog, Yamaha DX7 (Mk1) & DX21, Korg Poly 61, Roland Juno 6.

Mackie SRM 350 (pair), Fender DeVille, Yamaha HS7 (pair), BeyerDynamic DT880 Headphones, Pro (250 Ohm).

Sibelius 7, Cubase Artist 8, HALion Sonic SE , HALion Sonic 2, HALion 5, Grand SE, Grand 3, Groove Agent 3, Arturia V_Collection, EZ2 Drummer, Steinberg CI2+ Interface, Lexicon MX300, Midi Sport 2x2.

Dell Inspiron 3737, Windows 10 Professional, 1.70gHz, 16GB RAM, 64-bit, Intel Core i3.

User avatar
foolomon
Senior Member
Posts: 1695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by foolomon » Thu Mar 13, 2014 9:51 pm

My guess is that the Nord is sending a bank change message as well but the MSB / LSB combination of the message is unrecognized by the XV-5050 or instead corresponds to a media card slot that is empty if the XV-5050 supports that. (I own one of those and don't even know the answer to that question, sadly enough.)

It's just a guess though.

Try connecting to your PC and using MIDI-OX to see exactly what is being transmitted by the Nord.
_________________

"Just call me Larry."

Lenovo T450 laptop (Windows 7 64-bit + 16GB RAM + 500GB SSD)
AMD-Phenom II based system (Windows 7 64-bit + 8GB DDR3 RAM)
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface

Other hardware: Too much to mention here
Software: Cubase 8.5 Pro; Komplete 9; Melodyne Editor; FabFilter Pro Suite; various VSTs from Blue Cat Audio, Native Instruments (beyond what's in Komplete), Slate, Softube, Sound Toys and Variety of Sound

Stop by and visit!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Mar 13, 2014 10:00 pm

Thanks Foolomon,

So you own an XV50/50 yourself did you say ??

I think the issue is a combination of the MSB message as you kindly suggest and the XV50/50 not recognising it. And similarly it has two Expansion Card slots and at present I only have one filled.

I downloaded the XV50/50 Sound Manager yesterday but only spent a few minutes with it as yet. Yes, I do have the Midi-OX thanks.

I emailed Roland yesterday and they have sent me a PROGRAM CHANGE basic list which I shall try out later. It is very brief but hopefully it will work and I can elaborate on it for further Program and Bank changes.

If it is successful would you like me to email you a copy ??

Appreciate your replies !!

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:12 pm

SORTED !! :D

Yep, it was sending the XV5050 to empty-banks as well as incorrect/unrecognised ones.

MSB/LSB values which Roland sent me were spot on !!

User avatar
foolomon
Senior Member
Posts: 1695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by foolomon » Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:44 am

Yep. I figured that's what it was.

By the way, the MSB/LSB for bank change messages are always in the Roland manuals that come with their devices. I own a D-50 and XP-50 as well, and their MIDI implementation sections of the manual are fairly complete.
_________________

"Just call me Larry."

Lenovo T450 laptop (Windows 7 64-bit + 16GB RAM + 500GB SSD)
AMD-Phenom II based system (Windows 7 64-bit + 8GB DDR3 RAM)
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface

Other hardware: Too much to mention here
Software: Cubase 8.5 Pro; Komplete 9; Melodyne Editor; FabFilter Pro Suite; various VSTs from Blue Cat Audio, Native Instruments (beyond what's in Komplete), Slate, Softube, Sound Toys and Variety of Sound

Stop by and visit!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Fri Mar 14, 2014 2:16 am

foolomon wrote:Yep. I figured that's what it was.
Thanks man.

I downloaded the manual from the Roland site this morning.

The mistake I made was assuming the Program Change commands were going to be the same as the JV1080. So i was constantly trying MSB numbers in the 80s instead of the 60s!!!

I really like this module. It has some great ORGAN sounds (almost as funky if not better than on my Nord!). I might post a few demos on here once I get up and running.

Thank you once again.

User avatar
foolomon
Senior Member
Posts: 1695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by foolomon » Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:26 am

I bought it on sale once but really haven't utilized it much except for a few times in live situations when I needed more layering. It is a good module though.
_________________

"Just call me Larry."

Lenovo T450 laptop (Windows 7 64-bit + 16GB RAM + 500GB SSD)
AMD-Phenom II based system (Windows 7 64-bit + 8GB DDR3 RAM)
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface

Other hardware: Too much to mention here
Software: Cubase 8.5 Pro; Komplete 9; Melodyne Editor; FabFilter Pro Suite; various VSTs from Blue Cat Audio, Native Instruments (beyond what's in Komplete), Slate, Softube, Sound Toys and Variety of Sound

Stop by and visit!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:21 pm

Are you not able to UPLOAD mp3/wav files to this site ?? I just tried and it says these are not permitted ?? Seems a bit contrary considering this is a MUSIC based website !! :?

User avatar
foolomon
Senior Member
Posts: 1695
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by foolomon » Sat Mar 15, 2014 5:37 pm

They're probably trying to protect themselves from liability issues. Steinberg is a music software company so they are probably an easy target.

Use Box, Bandcamp, Soundcloud or something and link to it here instead.
_________________

"Just call me Larry."

Lenovo T450 laptop (Windows 7 64-bit + 16GB RAM + 500GB SSD)
AMD-Phenom II based system (Windows 7 64-bit + 8GB DDR3 RAM)
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 interface

Other hardware: Too much to mention here
Software: Cubase 8.5 Pro; Komplete 9; Melodyne Editor; FabFilter Pro Suite; various VSTs from Blue Cat Audio, Native Instruments (beyond what's in Komplete), Slate, Softube, Sound Toys and Variety of Sound

Stop by and visit!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sat Mar 15, 2014 6:38 pm

Oh, ok I see.

But if your audio postings are ORIGINALS (or just 'test' demonstrations) then this type of music file should surely be fine ??

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:23 am

Do you happen know if the XV5050 can read SR expansion cards (ie JV1080 format) as well as the SRX ones please ??

Makemlad
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:21 pm
Contact:

Re: ROLAND XV50/50 users (non-Steinberg question)

Post by Makemlad » Sun Aug 26, 2018 3:42 pm

Hi this is not an answer, but a question, i'm using a roland xv 5050 to play midi files using cakewalk pro 9 the 5050 will play the files but selects the standard GM set, how can i select the other richer sounds from the 5050 not the standard GM set please help.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests