Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
OnkelGrusom
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by OnkelGrusom » Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:15 pm

ffg wrote:There are 2 ideas here which would both be useful

1 Save as Template - with option to include or not include media
This is what I want.
Can't be too hard to program, and it would have been a God send for me when I did the last cd for a paying and impatient client.

Kim
-------- Cubase 8 and earlier, Halion Sonic 2, Hyper Sonic 2, Superior & EZ Drummer, Tonelab, Tube-Tech LCA 2B, Neumann U67 and ADK Hamburg, Presonus Audiobox 1818VSL, Core I7 4790K, 16 gig DDR3 ram --------
Feel free to check out my music on:
http://urort.p3.no/#!/Search/chapter%2520eight?List

mart
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by mart » Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:53 am

6.5

still not there
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by Puma0382 » Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:01 pm

ffg wrote:There are 2 ideas here which would both be useful

1 Save as Template - with option to include or not include media

2 New Templates open with COPIES of the media from the original project (much like Archive Pool) - that way you have access to your media, but no risk of deleting the originals.

I've been saving projects as Templates for ever, and I still get it wrong sometimes in the heat of the session and delete the files from the original project. Infuriating.
Both I see useful; item 1 especially so...

Thanks if you're listening Steinberg..! What am I saying, you're always listening..!
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10.0.10, Studio One v4.6.0, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
The dman
Member
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by The dman » Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:21 pm

I can't tell you how many times I wish we had this.
Cubase 8.5.15 x64 Windows 10 Home
ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3/ i72600k / G.SKILL Ripjaw (4 x 4GB)/SeaSonic X750 Gold PSU/ RME HDSP 9652 / UAD2Quad// Alphatrack/ Alesis HD24XR

http://www.woodstockschoolofmusic.com/

http://www.davedaltonmusic.com

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by Conman » Sat Mar 10, 2012 3:25 pm

Must be dead easy to do. I'm an expert. I know it for sure.
We demand another button. :lol:

But it's quite easy to do and won't kill us. :mrgreen:
And doing it the time-honourd way (as Mr Ulf explains) means we're shown up as so inefficient we could easily lose files.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

mart
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by mart » Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:47 pm

Bump for this feature. . . .
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

mart
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by mart » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:14 pm

Still a PITA on a day to day basis
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

Guest

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by Guest » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:11 pm

Yeah, the lounge is the place to ask for things like this. :roll:

You can lead a human to knowledge, but you can't make it think.

droutloaf
Junior Member
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by droutloaf » Thu Aug 01, 2013 10:24 pm

Anyone wanna make a new thread on this in the feature request area?
Cubase 6.5, Cubase 7, Pro Tools 9, RME Fireface 800, Fireface UCX, A-Designs MP2A, Lavry AD10, Audient ASP008, Peavey 6505+, Mesa Boogie Mark V, Boogie Cabinet, Bogner Cabinet

mart
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by mart » Mon Aug 19, 2013 8:40 pm

droutloaf wrote:This has to be such an easy feature to impliment.. it's basically there.
Agreed. Its simply a Boolean checkbox "Include Media" / " Do Not Include Media. Depending on how the code under there is structured it 'should' be a simple function to break all ties with files
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by curteye » Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:57 am

Ganax wrote:+1
+2
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

mart
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by mart » Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:34 pm

Gonna jump up and down until this gets done :-)
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by JMCecil » Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:40 pm

No question, must needed feature .. right after multi-out presets.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

mart
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by mart » Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:44 pm

Kev Vin wrote:Agreed. What I'd love to see even further is import template into existing projects. Initially I requested a save as folder track preset but this could work just the same.
Basically a way to easily bring in multiple tracks with everthing intact ie. Inserts, sends, routings, names, instruments, colours etc.


This is what I want. This will let me see my children a little longer in the evening. Extract channel setups from a Project file without having to load the project. Currently large projects can take up to 6-8 minutes to load with samples coming back everywhere etc. Having to load one of the other songs from a project and then save each setting on the channel is a major workflow flaw in Cubase and just sends people straight to the Pro Tools camp
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

User avatar
Mr. Beer
Junior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:58 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by Mr. Beer » Fri Oct 04, 2013 8:18 pm

+1
My wife said I was delusional, I almost fell off my unicorn laughing.

dstenning
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by dstenning » Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:53 pm

+100

BUMP!

Here we are nearing 2020 and this much needed feature is still missing?

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by HowlingUlf » Sun Dec 15, 2019 9:23 am

mart wrote:
Tue Sep 03, 2013 1:34 pm
Gonna jump up and down until this gets done :-)
Are you tired yet? :lol:
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Wyatt Edwards
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:47 am
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by Wyatt Edwards » Wed Dec 18, 2019 9:50 am

I second Mark's first opinion.
I would love to have that feature in Cubase.
Cubase 8.0 Pro
Intel i7 7700K
NVIDIA QUADRO GV100
32 GB, 1 TB HDD
Windows 10 Pro
MS Dynamics 365

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1783
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Feature Addition Request: Save As Template WITHOUT MEDIA

Post by Stephen57 » Fri Dec 20, 2019 1:10 am

+1

But it has to be an option and I'd be fine if default was "don't save media" with template files.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests