Windows 10 announced!

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3969
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Any Word About Compatability With Windows 10?

Post by Prock »

Is there any official word from Steinberg about the Cubase software compatibility with the Windows 10 release scheduled for July 29, 2015? Sorry if I missed a statement about it. Thanks.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Any Word About Compatability With Windows 10?

Post by distante »

+1

Today I received the invite for the windows 10 upgrade
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Windows 10 announced!

Post by aptmusic9 »

Windows 10! Upgrade or no?
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

0dBVU
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 8:05 pm

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by 0dBVU »

aptmusic9 wrote:Windows 10! Upgrade or no?
On my main DAW = NO

On a test computer = YES

PS. On July 29th ;)

User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
Posts: 2853
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by shadowfax »

Same here..had enough hassle with the CP8 upgrade...so once bitten, twice shy.. 8-)
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... Cubase 10.5..Windows 10..Intel Core i9 9900K Coffee Lake Refresh 3.6GHz Eight Core 1151 Socket Overclockable Processor, WD Black WDS250G3X0C SN750 - 250GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD, ASRock AMD Radeon RX580 8GB OC Phantom Gaming D Dual Fan Graphics Card,
Gigabyte Z390 GAMING X Intel Socket 1151 ATX HDMI DDR4 USB C 3.1 M.2 Motherboard, 32GB ram, 2x Team GX2 1TB SATA III SSD. Yamaha N8.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1851
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Any Word About Compatability With Windows 10?

Post by planarchist »

+1
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

My Cubase recorded songs here (also on most other streaming services).... https://open.spotify.com/artist/6rHmZY1IPskvtYL1Zzw6Vy

hgtan
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 2:42 am
Contact:

Windows 10 is coming!

Post by hgtan »

Microsoft is rolling out Wndows 10 and provide free upgrade for Windows 7 SP1 and Windows 8.1.
Please advise if Cubase 8 tested and certified to work on Windows 10?

[MOD EDIT: Post merged to existing discussion]

User avatar
Freddie H
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by Freddie H »

YES! Upgrade to Windows 10!

You have got a new "Windows logo" app in your taskbar. With help of the new "Windows 10"-upgrade program you can already now check compatibility issues with your specific setup. If your computer run Windows 7 SP1 or Windows 8.1 already it will probably work with Windows 10 with no issues.


* Windows 10 are the best things taken from Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 included in a new system. Windows 10 have some new nice features too.

* Windows 10 multimedia performance are the best so far. So Cubase and all other programs will work even better then on your setup you run now.
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3969
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Any Word About Compatability With Windows 10?

Post by Prock »

distante wrote:+1

Today I received the invite for the windows 10 upgrade
Yea, me too. that's what prompted me to ask this question. ;)

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 1402
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Any Word About Compatability With Windows 10?

Post by Steinberg »

Hello,

would you please continue the discussion here?
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 98&t=80643

To reply your question, the compatibility with any OS is announced after testing the release version, as you never know what might change between an RTM and a Release version.

Not officially, Windows 10 looks like a very, very promising version and Cubase Pro 8 works fine from what I've seen.

Best,

[EDIT: I merged the two threads instead of locking the one in the Presales, so that all messages are available.]

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3969
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by Prock »

I don't know...

The "driver" for my 7 year old PreSonus Firebox audio interface says it is only certified for up to Windows 7. I worry about that. So it may be time for a new AI to. Too bad really because the Firebox works perfectly for my needs. But I suppose I would like to have the latest OS too. Decisions ;)

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by alexis »

[Edit] Whoops - was answered by mod a few posts up, sorry![/Edit]
Last edited by alexis on Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
distante
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by distante »

Well no official Windows 10 release, no official support. I guess...
Hear and See Rock Songs maded with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7: bit.ly/CorazonTRM ("Corazón") and bit.ly/AnimalTRM ("Animal")

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase PRO 8.0.20 on Windows 8.1 64bits / 16GB RAM / Core i7 4790K / GTX970 4GB VRAM )
*Always the latest version available.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by alexis »

distante wrote:Well no official Windows 10 release, no official support. I guess...
[Edit]Already answered, sorry ...[/Edit]
Last edited by alexis on Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3969
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Any Word About Compatability With Windows 10?

Post by Prock »

Fabio Bartolini wrote:Hello,

would you please continue the discussion here?
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 98&t=80643

To reply your question, the compatibility with any OS is announced after testing the release version, as you never know what might change between an RTM and a Release version.

Not officially, Windows 10 looks like a very, very promising version and Cubase Pro 8 works fine from what I've seen.

Best,

[EDIT: I merged the two threads instead of locking the one in the Presales, so that all messages are available.]
Understood. Thank you Fabio

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by peakae »

No, but its just pre downloading the 3Gb install files. Then the 29. Its up to you how you how you want to proceed.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Paul Bryce
Member
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by Paul Bryce »

Freddie H wrote:About clean install of Windows 10.
Yes! Your new Windows 10 license key can be used to make a clean installation of Windows 10 directly. You don't need to make a upgrade installation from Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 if you don't want to.
More information about that will come...

Best Regards
Freddie
I wish you would stick to facts, not assumptions.

Everything that I've read from Microsoft states that you can do a clean install AFTER you've done the upgrade.

If you know something different, state your source, the link you show doesn't state that.
Near the Rockies, Alberta

User avatar
Freddie H
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by Freddie H »

Paul Bryce wrote:
Freddie H wrote:About clean install of Windows 10.
Yes! Your new Windows 10 license key can be used to make a clean installation of Windows 10 directly. You don't need to make a upgrade installation from Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 if you don't want to.
More information about that will come...

Best Regards
Freddie
I wish you would stick to facts, not assumptions.

Everything that I've read from Microsoft states that you can do a clean install AFTER you've done the upgrade.

If you know something different, state your source, the link you show doesn't state that.
You should read again.

My source is Gabriel Aul @ Microsoft,, General Manager OSG Data and Fundamentals team- "the head of the Windows" -Insider program at Microsoft.

If you have a Windows 7 or 8 PC on July 29th, you will be able to upgrade to Windows 10 for free. This free license will only be offered for one year. The good news is that the license Microsoft is providing will allow you to clean install Windows 10 on the same device at any time.

Gabe said:
Once you upgrade W10 w/ the free upgrade offer you will able to clean reinstall Windows 10 on same device any time.


So as soon as you have got the new Windows 10 license key you will be able to install Windows 10 directly, no need of going thru Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 first.
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!

User avatar
swamptone
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Upstate New York
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by swamptone »

Freddie H wrote: ..................
Gabe said:
Once you upgrade W10 w/ the free upgrade offer you will able to clean reinstall Windows 10 on same device any time.


So as soon as you have got the new Windows 10 license key you will be able to install Windows 10 directly, no need of going thru Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 first.

That is ambiguous, which is to say "clear as mud". My reading of what Gabe wrote is that the upgrade from W7/8 to W10 must occur first, then a clean "reinstall" can occur subsequently.
formerly known as prism

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3507
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by jaslan »

What is the nature of said license? We won't have a windows install DVD, a certificate/serial number. When we go to do the clean reinstall, how will the licensing be handled/verified? This is especially obscure since the license is supposedly device specific, which would hint at something on the hard drive, but on a clean re-install (with a fresh formatting) I don't see how this would work.

After reading a little more about a license KEY, I assume the upgrade process will give us a key code/number to write down.

Still weird though. I used to format, then insert the DVd and start. Maybe it will allow creation of a boot/recovery disc that can get the installation process started?
Last edited by jaslan on Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
Paul Bryce
Member
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by Paul Bryce »

Freddie H wrote: You should read again.

Gabe said:
Once you upgrade W10 w/ the free upgrade offer you will able to clean reinstall Windows 10 on same device any time.


So as soon as you have got the new Windows 10 license key you will be able to install Windows 10 directly, no need of going thru Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 first.
I read just fine thank you, doesn't change anything, countless others are asking the same question, and MS has said more info will be released later.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 056?page=4
Windows 10 is available as a free upgrade for qualified Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 devices. If you take advantage of the free upgrade offer to get Windows 10 and subsequently wish to clean re-install Windows 10 - it will be possible to do so AFTER upgrading to Windows 10 - without having to purchase Windows 10 or having to go back to the prior version of Windows that you upgraded from.
I get a different answer than what you are saying :roll:

swamptone is on the same page as me 8-)
Near the Rockies, Alberta

User avatar
2pie
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 1:37 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by 2pie »

ok gang I will stick it on a tower and a laptop But the studio pc is always off line any ideas. you know once you start on the studio even if the on line stuff is ok the off line registration etc can be a bit messy ;)

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by peakae »

Only concern I have with win10 Home is that driver updates gets installed along the usual security updates. And there is no way to disable that except buying the Pro version. Of course if the computer is not on the Net, it can't update, that would be another solution. Driver updates are IMHO a little scary on a DAW that is running flawless.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by alexis »

peakae wrote:Only concern I have with win10 Home is that driver updates gets installed along the usual security updates. And there is no way to disable that except buying the Pro version. Of course if the computer is not on the Net, it can't update, that would be another solution. Driver updates are IMHO a little scary on a DAW that is running flawless.
Wow, thanks for pointing this out. Wonder what MS was thinking when they differentiated that ... only the people who are smart enough to buy the Pro version can be trusted to know when the situation is right to not update drivers???
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10 announced!

Post by MrSoundman »

alexis wrote:Wonder what MS was thinking when they differentiated that
They don't want a repeat of the situation where people chose to stay on XP after Windows 8 was released. Home users won't get the choice in future.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests