Novation Automap and their wrapped plugin disaster

Alles zum Thema Songwriting, Mixing, Musik-Business und anderen verwandten Themen.
Dieses Forum ersetzt alle anderen Foyers und "Made with..." Unterforen.
Post Reply
dreikelvin
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 8:09 pm
Contact:

Novation Automap and their wrapped plugin disaster

Post by dreikelvin » Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:06 pm

hello everyone,

as some of you may already know, Novation has stopped developing their automap software and has no plans for going any further with it.a developer stated this:

"We've also had a good deal of discussion about the 'wrapping' mechanism in general. Over time and via customer feedback we have observed that this way of working is not really what the majority of people want. It tends to cause session incompatibility, can result in crashing plugins sometimes and has created a huge maintenance burden with the sheer number of plugins out there." (source: http://forum.novationmusic.com/forums/a ... tomap-dead)

also this post really seems to nail down the current problem with their wrapper-mechanism:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=256120

now I don't know what to do. if I uninstall Automap, all of my wrapped plugins are gone and cubase is going to have trouble opening a year worth of projects. I read that Ableton actually has a feature to search for a plugin with a different name and open the project with the same settings. does this feature exist for cubase as well? with all the new mumbo-jumbo we got with cubase 8 where I am using maybe 2% of the new features, it would be great to have some resolution to this. this problem also occurred when I switched from Windows to OSX by the way. I am honestly considering going back to windows, since their new operating system has vastly improved over the last few years. but the plugin problem has since kept me from switching.

dreikelvin
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Novation Automap and their wrapped plugin disaster

Post by dreikelvin » Wed Jul 08, 2015 12:33 pm

okay.

so I had an identical copy of Automap and Cubase and most of my plugins on my laptop. it is very handy for some testing.

I unwrapped all plugins in the settings manager and then uninstalled automap completely.

my test project opened perfectly and it found all the (now unwrapped) plugins!

no need to worry for cubase users I suppose :)

shamk
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 3:10 pm
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Novation Automap and their wrapped plugin disaster

Post by shamk » Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:45 pm

I gonna tried, i guess i had issue with name, but your are right .... only vstid matter.
Cubase Pro 9.5 x64 (latest) | Macbook PRO 15" 2015 | Steinberg UR22, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, PadShop PRO ...

cauthangcp
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:00 am
Contact:

Re: Novation Automap and their wrapped plugin disaster

Post by cauthangcp » Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:10 am

If you do specialist services, the installation of a central vacuum (<a href="http://dienmaydainam.com/may-hut-chan-khong">máy hút chân không </a> ) can be carried out by the majority of saturday or sunday warriors. Every day do-it-yourself characters will need basically pursue quicks guidelines get going on the path to a new cleanser, much better home.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest