Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Nuieve
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 2:52 am
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by Nuieve » Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:00 am

UPDATE: all is good.

Mixhub was crashing because I guess you're not supposed to run it on the same channel more than once (it connects to other channels for bucket mode so having two probably messed things up). After loading each one on a separate channel I have no more problems.

I just tested, I can have 24 full Mixhubs (with all eq bands/compression and filters engaged) and 64 Lite ones.

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by 01w » Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:28 pm

I upgraded few months ago from i7-920, also seeing very little performance improvement in cubase asio.
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1345
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by mr.roos » Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:56 pm

Good news then, Nuieve. Now go make some music!

01w, if you are running Win10 OS 1903, you are going to have to spend some time with the OS to set it up for DAW use. Install CClean (there's a free version) and check your Startup features in the app among other things to make sure you don't have crazy things running in the background, updating things while you are working. In fact, from my experience, it seems that Win10 1903 is prone to running a host of searches while you are working unless you turn things off at the source - in other words, it doesn't seem to improve performance if you go to airplane mode (disconnect wifi) and leave these update searches intact. Go to the source and turn this feature off there.

Anyway, you may know all this, but also check out Sweetwater's DAW setup page, it helps sort a few things. And really, truth be told, there are no accurate self-help DAW setup pages out there right now because 1903 is too new. You're somewhat on your own.
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 9.5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1903 update installed), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2999
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by peakae » Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:53 pm

No, win10 is very unproblematic for daw use. There is really is not much to change, power settings being the most important. Background tasks are not intrusive and can be left alone.
In that regard it is easier than Win7, most of the optimizations on various websites are completely out of date, and indeed written for winxp some even useless on win7 .
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2317
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to a 3x faster CPU, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:16 pm

Nuieve wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:39 am
I uninstalled Radeon Catalyst software, seems like it was causing a lot of hards
FWIW, I no longer have a Radeon, but when I did, I always installed only the driver and not the full Catayst suite -- all that gamer grunge is lethal to audio.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

supernova777
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by supernova777 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:21 am

this topic made me laugh;
why would u think that EVRYTHING is improved just by speeding up a CPU?
THINK about it;
just because your doing the same exact thing faster doesnt mean you do it more INTELLIGENTLY.
lol

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1345
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by mr.roos » Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:46 pm

This is an old post but I wanted to post the latest Latency Monitor results on my DAW running Win10 with all the recent updates installed in OS 1903 (August 26, 2019). This was done while in Airplane mode, not connected to Wi-Fi, a two hour run.
Lat Mon 1.PNG
(39.07 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I for one think there are a few tweeks that are necessary in Win10 to make it a better OS for a DAW. One thing that is clear, too, the Windows Security app is not something you can ignore - and by Microsoft design. Good luck trying to circumvent this.
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 9.5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1903 update installed), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

Nuieve
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 2:52 am
Contact:

Re: Upgraded to 3x faster CPU, a Ryzen 3600, seeing only 10% decrease in ASIO performance meter...

Post by Nuieve » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:01 am

That's pretty good. ^^^ Mine is worse, still passes but I don't care. I'm just mixing, hiccups don't bother me, I don't even know if I have them.

3600 has been good to me so far. Did dozens of tracks, never hit the CPU ceiling. If I had any doubt about upgrading to 3900x I've shelved them.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests