240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
wetstreet
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:01 pm
Contact:

240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by wetstreet » Mon Oct 28, 2019 6:51 am

Hi can i install , 240 GB for win 10 OS only on the SSD and install cubase 10 + all my VST / Vsti on a 2 TB and the rendering on another 2 TB both 7200 r.p.m ?? is that possible n will it work thankx.. ws

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 489
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: 240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by theRoyal1 » Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:44 pm

Yes... I have mine a similar way.
Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

wetstreet
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: 240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by wetstreet » Tue Oct 29, 2019 4:27 am

theRoyal1 wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:44 pm
Yes... I have mine a similar way.
Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
Thankx ,
RE : Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
how ?? u still have to go thru the entire process of reinstalling Cubase , Vst? Vsti/s all over again , quite a tedious n time consuming job.

as of now i switched my internet laptop to Crucial BX 500 , hardly seen any drastic difference , i think the 10x speed ones should work better ill try that ..

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 489
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: 240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by theRoyal1 » Wed Oct 30, 2019 3:53 pm

wetstreet wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 4:27 am
theRoyal1 wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:44 pm
Yes... I have mine a similar way.
Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
Thankx ,
RE : Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
how ?? u still have to go thru the entire process of reinstalling Cubase , Vst? Vsti/s all over again , quite a tedious n time consuming job.

as of now i switched my internet laptop to Crucial BX 500 , hardly seen any drastic difference , i think the 10x speed ones should work better ill try that ..
Because all your data is on the other drive. Yes you have to install the VSTs and OS but the data stuff is already there like samples, your pix documents, Videos, Downloads etc...so you don't have to spend time doing that also.

I have my OS on 1, Cubase Video editing and Main programs on 2, Songs saved on 3,Samples on 4, DATA etc...
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

wetstreet
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: 240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by wetstreet » Fri Nov 15, 2019 12:49 pm

theRoyal1 wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 3:53 pm
wetstreet wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 4:27 am
theRoyal1 wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 1:44 pm
Yes... I have mine a similar way.
Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
Thankx ,
RE : Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
how ?? u still have to go thru the entire process of reinstalling Cubase , Vst? Vsti/s all over again , quite a tedious n time consuming job.

as of now i switched my internet laptop to Crucial BX 500 , hardly seen any drastic difference , i think the 10x speed ones should work better ill try that ..
Because all your data is on the other drive. Yes you have to install the VSTs and OS but the data stuff is already there like samples, your pix documents, Videos, Downloads etc...so you don't have to spend time doing that also.

I have my OS on 1, Cubase Video editing and Main programs on 2, Songs saved on 3,Samples on 4, DATA etc...
thats nice , so basically u wouldn't need more that 240 Gb for the OS .. thats good enough Thankx .

wetstreet
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: 240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by wetstreet » Sun Nov 24, 2019 1:29 pm

Thankx all said , does a SSD improve latency n speed , how ever u compare that for Cubase 10.5 ?? if so how ?? n which model n make is the fastest n recomended .. i got a 240 GB Crucial BX 500 make SSD installed on to an i3 laptop.. hardly seen any difference to the older RPM based hard disk , even no noticeably boot up difference ???

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4020
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: 240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by MattiasNYC » Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:37 pm

In my experience it does improve latency and speed. If you didn't see an increase before it might have been because the bottleneck was elsewhere and I think you'd have to look a bit more closely at the computer to see where that could have been (chipsets, drivers, sata versions, CPU capability to actually use the data etc).

As for the following:
wetstreet wrote:
Tue Oct 29, 2019 4:27 am
RE : Also helps makes upgrading drives and mitigating crashes.
how ?? u still have to go thru the entire process of reinstalling Cubase , Vst? Vsti/s all over again , quite a tedious n time consuming job.
What I do is back up my system drive to a spinning drive using Macrium Reflect. If I have a failure I have several drives lying around, including SSD drives, and I also have a laptop (all drives can fit in some external case with USB or something). So if I have a failure the worst case scenario is I get a new SSD quickly online or in a store, and then I restore to that using my laptop from my backup drive. Of course a faster way of doing it is to always have a second OS SSD in an external case good to go.

By the way, Macrium Reflect allows you to do the backups while your OS is running, which isn't something that all programs allow. It also does incremental and differential updates if you put them on a backup drive, meaning each time you do it the backup time won't be too long (just be mindful of stuff that isn't actually needed that ends up on your system drive anyway, like in a downloads folder where you might have not cleaned out old software updates etc... they'll be backed up as well if your "mirror" your OS, making the required backup space a fair amount larger over time).

So if you're really serious about backing up you should think it through and find a good solution.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

wetstreet
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: 240 GB for win 10 OS for cubase 10 + VST.

Post by wetstreet » Mon Nov 25, 2019 12:24 pm

MattiasNYC wrote:
Sun Nov 24, 2019 3:37 pm
In my experience it does improve latency and speed. If you didn't see an increase before it might have been because the bottleneck was elsewhere and I think you'd have to look a bit more closely at the computer to see where that could have been (chipsets, drivers, sata versions, CPU capability to actually use the data etc).

As for the following:


What I do is back up my system drive to a spinning drive using Macrium Reflect. If I have a failure I have several drives lying around, including SSD drives, and I also have a laptop (all drives can fit in some external case with USB or something). So if I have a failure the worst case scenario is I get a new SSD quickly online or in a store, and then I restore to that using my laptop from my backup drive. Of course a faster way of doing it is to always have a second OS SSD in an external case good to go.

By the way, Macrium Reflect allows you to do the backups while your OS is running, which isn't something that all programs allow. It also does incremental and differential updates if you put them on a backup drive, meaning each time you do it the backup time won't be too long (just be mindful of stuff that isn't actually needed that ends up on your system drive anyway, like in a downloads folder where you might have not cleaned out old software updates etc... they'll be backed up as well if your "mirror" your OS, making the required backup space a fair amount larger over time).

So if you're really serious about backing up you should think it through and find a good solution.
above could be the crucial BX 500 , ill be searching for the 10 X fast speed one .. n as far as backup , thankx Ill check out Macrium reflect .. n may be the F8 , safe mode coulkd bring back to a certain restore point ??? thankx any way

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests