32 cores custom built PC

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pro241988
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

32 cores custom built PC

Post by Pro241988 »

Hi,
Would an AMD 32 cores/64 threads would work with Cubase 10.5? is it compatible?
Thanks
W10/I7-3970X@3.50GHZ/Asus Rampage 4 Extreme/24GB Ram/1TB Samsung SSD/5TB HD7200/Mackie big knob studio +/Cubase 10.5.12

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by Denis van der Velde »

There is no reason to think it would not be compatible.
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

msy
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by msy »

Denis van der Velde wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:14 am
There is no reason to think it would not be compatible.
Yes there might be, atleast using all cores. And I am getting 16 cores AMD Ryzen 3950x system next week. Already paid for. Im anxious to read about this.
Dawbench has now quit using Cubase for benchmarks, since Cubase apperently still cant handle more than 6 cores?!

viewtopic.php?f=283&t=147175&start=150

Btw, other DAWs like Bitwig and Reaper can handle multicore systems withou issues. So its not a Windows thing.
Cubase Pro 10.5.20
OS: Windows 10 (1903)
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200 + ARC USB
DAW: AMD Ryzen 3950x | ASUS Prime x570-P | 32GB DDR4 3600MHz | Intel p660 NVMe M.2 2TB | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB SATA | Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700 XT (set to PCIE 3.0 in BIOS w/drivers Adrenaline v19.11.3)
Screen: Philips 439P9H (Curved SuperWide 32:10) @ 3840x1200
Computer related hardware: 2xUAD-2 Duo PCIE, BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Wave, Eurorack via ES3/ADAT
Other DAWs: Bitwig 3.3

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by Denis van der Velde »

That Cubase can handle 6 cores only i do not know, you have to know plugins use cores also. So the workload on your cores might be much higher. Anyway i have 8 cores and cubase works with it. I never knew cubase only could handle 6 cores. Anyway Cubase uses all of the treads... So i expect the 6 core rule is not true.
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

cubace
Senior Member
Posts: 1018
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:41 pm
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by cubace »

Compatible, yes. Will it be using all cores efficently, no. My machine feels sluggish even if the cpu utilize is about 20-25% (intel performance tools) And that is less than half of your 32 core. And many tasks done within cubase is not done in parallel at all. Like loading plugins on start. It's relly hard to do low latency stuff like a daw on massive parallel machines. However Steinberg's user interface feels slow and lag's when there tons of power left, and that is not good. And there are some plugins that do the parallel stuff them self like NI Kontakt. There was a post in this forum about cubase limitations. Currently it is wasted money but Im sure they are working on get better parallel support. In January the high end AMD worksation will be able to have 128 core and 256 threads and that without a silly budget. Ok, maybe not for most home studios, but peanuts for a commercial operation.

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1097
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by Suprawill1 »

From previous multiple searches on this forum, I was told that processor speed is more advantageous than multiple cores for a DAW setup. This was a while back when I was contemplating my build. I ended up with the Intel i7 6700k which is a 4 core, 8 thread running at 4.2G/core. I may not be running 100 tracks per song but I've come close. I also use many instances of hungry vst instruments and effects along with the expected audio compliments and the i7 is still cool and untaxed.
Everyone has their own process and workload for recording so results may vary.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 11 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

vinark
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by vinark »

Dawbench stopped testing cubase, because cubase is not working with many cores and asioguard disabled. Dawbench needs asio guard disabled for benchmarking. If you have asio guard on, high core counts will work.

mtibes
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by mtibes »

I have a new system with an AMD 3900X. The performance is much better than with my old Intel - which is obviously no surprise since it was an old cpu. There were some surprises though, one is that it did lower my cpu usage significantly (by maybe 20%) when I turned off hyperthreading (SMT or how AMD calls it). So now I'm using 12 real cores instead of 24 hyperthreaded ones. ASIO guard is on here. The other one was that my UAD Quad card didn't work with my motherboard / CPU combo - so I had to buy a UAD Octo on top to be able to use my UAD plugins. I spent more money on that than on the whole new Computer. Despite some intensive research before I made my hardware choice I hadn't found anything about that potential problem on the web.

So, to answer your question whether your new computer will be compatible with cubase - from my experience: yes, it will. It will be a great system. I am not sure if the 3950X will have significantly more performance than the 3900X. Yet in my case, when I see my task manager, I can't shake the feeling that it only uses 30% of the possible performance, but I guess I am overlooking some bottlenecks.

Michael
Cubase 10.5, win 10 with latest updates, Ryzen 3900X with 32 GB Ram, RME Raydat & PCIe Digiface, UAD Octo

User avatar
Pro241988
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: 32 cores custom built PC

Post by Pro241988 »

cubace wrote:
Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:59 pm
Compatible, yes. Will it be using all cores efficently, no. My machine feels sluggish even if the cpu utilize is about 20-25% (intel performance tools)...
Exactly I have the same report, I maxed out my cpu/audio performance and my CPU usage says 25% on windows 10 and only 5Gb of RAM used on the 24GB installed ! I tried everything in the MB preferences but I can't remove those limitations, I end up having dropouts like crazy.
W10/I7-3970X@3.50GHZ/Asus Rampage 4 Extreme/24GB Ram/1TB Samsung SSD/5TB HD7200/Mackie big knob studio +/Cubase 10.5.12

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest