3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
eph221
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 9:15 pm
Contact:

3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Post by eph221 » Sun Jan 05, 2020 6:09 am

Just spent alot of money on a new scarlett interface and...at least with cubase I'm going to need some help. The project I'm working with is only 18 tracks...all instrument tracks with soft synths. I have a reverb plugin on every track. That's all! I had this project running smoothely on another machine with a saffire interface no problems. The highest buffer setting is 1024 in the mix control. With that setting I still have clicks and pops. Then I did research and found that Focusrite's usb drivers tend to not be that great. Regardless, before I take it back for a refund I was hoping there might be some settings in cubase I could adjust in order to get it to work.

1. Turned off asio guard
2. put asio guard on high
3. Turned off multi proc support in Kontakt
4. Tried the steinberg generic asio driver, this actually was better but not perfect.
5. ran latency mon...have no interrupt problems.


Any ideas? I have a JBL m-patch and using the generic asio driver with usb I have no problems in cubase 10.5 Why would a leading manufacturer create a nice product and then not write good drivers?

specs:
Windows 10
Cubase 10.5
Dual Xeon workstation With 64 gigs ram
Samsung EVO SSD's

Dollismine
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:13 am
Contact:

Re: 3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Post by Dollismine » Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:47 pm

Tried to change your ASIO buffer size (in scarlett mix control or equivalent ?)
How milliseconds ?

eph221
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 9:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Post by eph221 » Sun Jan 05, 2020 5:40 pm

yes 1024

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3351
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: 3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Post by jaslan » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:10 pm

I would say there must be something interrupting the CPU usage such as virus scanner, File History, de-fragmenter, etc. With that machine, and the project described, there shouldn’t be issues at 1024 buffer setting. I had a 1st Gen Scarlet that ran just fine at 128 with projects bigger than your test project. Maybe a Windows update was downloading or something... IDK but I just don’t think it’s the audio interface.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Post by mitchiemasha » Mon Jan 06, 2020 11:43 am

Focusrite tend to have amazing support. Contact them. I had an issue with the Novation Audio Hub (I forget what) they remote accessed my PC and swapped out the drivers for Focusrite drivers and all was fixed.

I've just ordered a 3rd gen 4i4, here's to hoping there's not an actual issue.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

ca-booter
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Post by ca-booter » Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:35 am

I tested the 18i20 3th gen for a couple of days and it worked just fine.
I did not choose it in the end but i had a smooth running of real time audio with it,
In the past i had lotsof dropouts with a nvidia graphic card which i swopped for a very cheap AMD radeon and gone where all my audio troubles.
So maybe it is your graphic card or maybe the usb bus controller software. Make sure all your drivers are up to date.
I really liked the focusrite but i did not like its routing options.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |W10-Pro(latest update) on SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5230 graphics | Cubase Pro 10.5(latest update) | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 |SuperiorDrummer 3 | Yamaha-Steinberg N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C + Behringer ADA8200 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II, Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 2*EQP-KT

titchyblackcat
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:16 pm
Contact:

Re: 3rd Generation Focusrite Scarlett Interface.

Post by titchyblackcat » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:16 am

What latency does cubase say you have ?
Cubase Pro 10.5 Wavelab Elements 10
Win 10 64 bit. Asus Q170M-C Motherboard with i5 6 Gen' 3.2Ghz. Ram ddr4 32 GB
M-Audio 2496 Soundcard

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest