Moving Cubase 8 to new computer - just transfer dongle?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
alligatorlizard
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:33 pm
Contact:

Moving Cubase 8 to new computer - just transfer dongle?

Post by alligatorlizard » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:52 pm

Hi,

Will be upgrading from Windows 7 to Windows 10 soon - either a clean install on current PC, or possibly on whole new PC (not decided yet...)

Either way, want to make sure I don't run into any issues with licence!

Do I just need to plug the dongle containing my Cubase 8 license into the new computer (or leave it plugged into current one if just do clean install of Win10 on current system) - or is there anything else I need to do? e.g. with some plugins I think you need to de-authorise first, then re-authorise on new system.

Thanks!

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3953
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Cubase 8 to new computer - just transfer dongle?

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:49 am

As far as I know a clean install is typically better than an upgrade. If you do that then install all software from scratch of course, and once you've updated everything including the eLicenser Control Center you should be able to just plug the eLicenser USB key into an available USB port and that's it.

I obviously don't know what else applies to your situation since I don't know what other software you'll use.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX 7/ Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

alligatorlizard
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Cubase 8 to new computer - just transfer dongle?

Post by alligatorlizard » Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:36 pm

Thanks for the reply - yes, will definitely be doing a clean install.

Sounds like it's a simple procedure then - but just to clarify, there's definitely no need to de-activate/de-authorise Cubase 8 on my old machine before installing it on the new one?

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2258
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Cubase 8 to new computer - just transfer dongle?

Post by marQs » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:38 pm

No need to deactivate, that’s an advantage of a hardware dongle. Some would say the only one 😜
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

alligatorlizard
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Cubase 8 to new computer - just transfer dongle?

Post by alligatorlizard » Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:12 pm

Thanks! Looks like moving Cubase to a new machine will be no problem at all.

Now just need to figure out the procedure for all my plugins...

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests