Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote controller

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote controller

Post by JLiRD808 » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:05 pm

Super new to tablets, I dont know if I sound like an idiot.

I was thinking of getting a new laptop and thought I could maybe go the tablet (with a detachable keyboard) route. I would want it to have a USB or Firewire port for an interface.

For audio purposes, it would be nice to bring just a tablet n interface to friends' shows, plug their mixer into the interface, and just hit record.

Good/bad idea?? Already been asked in another thread?

Thanks!!
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4782
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by curteye » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:26 pm

Aloha J,

I have not seen a tablet that can run a full Cubase programme
but some approaches would be an app like Cubasis.
http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/io ... basis.html

or

GarageBand for iOS
http://www.apple.com/ios/garageband/

Also I believe Steiny has announced some Android stuff shipping soon.
(But that is just for Cubase iC Pro!)
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... it=android
Which means to me tho' that they definitely looking in that direction as well.
Stand By.
{'-'}

BTW
Apple's new 64 bit A7 chip does seem to have the power to run an app like Cubase.
A user can get 32 tracks in Garage band now. (however with no ability to run 3rd party sound sources/plugs).
Yet!
And not enough memory in these machines to take full advantage of a 64 bit architecture.
Yet!

Also Stand By.

And if it is just a digital quality stereo recording, also consider a simple hardware device like the Zoom.
http://www.samsontech.com/zoom/products ... recorders/
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
Posts: 2839
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by jaslan » Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:06 pm

Doesn't the Surface PRO use Windows? I think it would work since it is a full, proper operating system.
Not sure about the low end Surface that uses Windows RT (not sure what the difference is with RT).
J.L.
Core-i7 4712HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 3.6.5. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4782
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by curteye » Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:18 pm

jaslan wrote:Doesn't the Surface PRO use Windows?
Great idea j.

This should work nicely: (scroll down)
(kinda pricey tho' @ $899.00)
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Microsoft-Sur ... ethod=p13n

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4625
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by Strophoid » Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:10 pm

The highest model of the surface runs standard Windows 8 so yes, that'll run any Windows DAW you want. All other tablets out at the moment run on slimmer OS's that require apps designed specifically for them. There's plenty to go around on Ipads and slightly less on Android devices as simple DAW's, Cubasis being one of the biggest ones atm.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by JLiRD808 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:40 am

Cubasis projects totally compatible with C6.5? For iPad only? It'd be nice to see it go Android as well.

And yes, regarding Windows 8 tablets, there seem to be several out there from as many companies....x86 and x64. Ironically, all of the ones I've looked at rank like 2.5-3.5 out of 5 stars though, for whatever reason.

Thanks!
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

JCschild
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by JCschild » Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:26 pm

Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"

User avatar
brianbotkiller
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:49 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by brianbotkiller » Sun Dec 29, 2013 9:05 am

The surface pro 2 is a good way to go, make sure you are not getting something with Windows RT.

Your easier solution is an ultrabook, such as the ASUS Taichi21; I have one, and can use it in tablet or laptop mode, and do so with Cubase and Ableton often.

There are other ultrabooks which give you the tablet and laptop functionality, as well, and are powerful enough for even complex audio work.
Image http://www.pcaudiolabs.com - Custom DAWs : http://www.obedia.com - DAW Training & Support

User avatar
-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 6356
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Tablets that can run full Cubase? Not as a remote contro

Post by -steve- » Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:08 pm

Cubase Pro 9.0.20 | Windows Pro 10, GA-77x-UD5H | UR44 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests