Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by plectrumboy » Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:50 am

I'm thinking about building a new DAW, but given the money this is going to cost I can better justify doing this if I can use the machine for other purposes as well. Rather than dual or triple-booting, I'm thinking about using a drive caddy to simply change out the OS drive and so change the machine when I need to. I can see that different caddies have different speeds (some sata 1, some sata 2, some sata 3) but apart from that is there anything else that I need to be aware of in terms of impact on performance? Does anybody else use a caddy with their DAW? Any views/experiences gratefully received.

Thanks,

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

ROCKINROG
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by ROCKINROG » Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:40 pm

I use these on all of mine and find they're great. Just turn off the drive you don't want and turn on the one you want to boot.

http://www.istarusa.com/istarusa/produc ... PU-340SATA
Cheers, Roger R Cunningham
Wired Audio & Video Installations

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by plectrumboy » Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:37 pm

Roger, this looks absolutely spot on for me.

Just to check my understanding: are you saying that with one of these multi-disk hot-swap trays you can turn individual disks on and off?

Thanks again,

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by plectrumboy » Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:29 pm

Okay so some further research shows me that these multi-disk caddies (or at least some of them) do indeed have individual power switches to each of the disks in the caddy. In the UK, the cheapest I can find for such a caddy is around £70 - £80. This is a lot of money given that the main functionality for my purpose is turning on and off boot disks without physically swapping and without dual-booting.

I suppose I could botch up some kind of switch array on a HDD enclosure blanking plate, but that would probably look a bit naff. Any ready-made solutions to this that won't break the bank?

Steve
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

ROCKINROG
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:40 am
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by ROCKINROG » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:01 am

I guess the price is dependent on how many drive trays do you need. Mine were over 100 bucks each (3 of the iStarUSA BPU-340SATA-RED) Canadian from Tiger Direct.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product
Cheers, Roger R Cunningham
Wired Audio & Video Installations

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by Norbury Brook » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:16 am

you could always use one of these ;

http://www.google.co.uk/products/catalo ... CDkQ8wIwAg#


I have one in my machine, I just push a SATA drive in and then usually clone or copy drives for backup, works great.



MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

User avatar
ray
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by ray » Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:24 pm

we use this from ICY Box (Raidsonic)
"This trayless mobile rack is designed for fast and frequent changes of the hard disc drives."
Harlingen, Holland | Studio Wijnbergen | N_64 7 | WL_64 8.5.10 | W8.1_64 pro | system specs

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by plectrumboy » Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:47 pm

Thanks all very much for the suggestions.

First of all, it's good to hear that other people are using caddies without any problems. From my point of view, I was going to look at an individual caddy as suggested by Norbury Brook and by Ray, until I saw Roger's suggestion of the multi disk caddies. Ironically I would not use the multi-disk caddy to swap out disks, I would use it to turn on and off static hard disks - which is why it would be a lot of money for me to spend just for that purpose. Now, I just need to decide how much money I want to spend!

Thanks again,

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

Woodcrest Studio

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by Woodcrest Studio » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:18 am

I have used these in 2 systems.

http://www.icydock.com/goods.php?id=122

Has a fan to keep the drive cool.

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by plectrumboy » Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:01 pm

Thanks Tom.

So many choices, so little time!

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by Patanjali » Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:19 pm

plectrumboy wrote:
Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:47 pm
...I would not use the multi-disk caddy to swap out disks, I would use it to turn on and off static hard disks...
Steve.
A long time down the track from this thread, but having had my 6-way Icydock 2.5" caddy go unreliable on me (like failing on half the boot ups) recently, I went for a US$13 6-way SATA power cable switch, allowing individual switching of each drive power from the front panel of a 5.25" drive bay.

Much more convenient and reliable, while not exposing the drives' contacts to stress from connecting and disconnecting.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Using a Caddy to swap Hard Drives?

Post by plectrumboy » Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:05 am

Nice. And cheaper too?

Steve
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests