RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Thu May 21, 2015 6:51 pm

monsterjazzlicks wrote:Hi Benji,

Will let you know what the PC store say about your kind pointers. Hopefully they should have received the copy this morning.

Paul

<EDIT: The shop performed what you asked. Luckily, the SDD delivery was delayed so they had not started the replacement. Should have the Win8 back Thurs or Fri.>
Rock on! Keep us posted, okay?
Regards,
Benji
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Fri May 22, 2015 9:54 pm

Hi Benji,

Wow, I now really do have a stripped down version of Windows 8.1 OS! lol

But now, obviously, Windows is notifying me that there are available (and advisable) UPDATES to download (install), and there seems to be a lot of them! Do I going along with this, or do I not install any of them? Some of them are SECURITY related.

Cheers,

Paul

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Fri May 22, 2015 10:31 pm

Paul,
yes, please, install them all!
B.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Fri May 22, 2015 10:35 pm

Hi,
islandmusicpro wrote:Make sure you let those guys know that they are not supposed to install any manufacturer provided drivers, but instead let Windows find the drivers.
Is that then what you meant by the above please?

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Fri May 22, 2015 11:45 pm

Paul,
well, there's a bunch of different updates that Windows installs usually, some might be drivers, or security updates or added functionality. Just make sure that before you install Cubase, the system is completely up to date and all hardware works, including your audio interface.
If any piece of hardware doesn't work or with limited functionality, find the latest driver on the manufacturers website. NOT Dell, since now it is not a Dell computer anymore... :mrgreen:

B.
Last edited by islandmusicpro on Sun May 24, 2015 4:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Fri May 22, 2015 11:53 pm

Hi,

Ok, thanks a lot. So install all the WINDOWS UPDATES before re-installing Cubase/Sibelius etc . . .

I will leave it til tomorrow now as it is late, and I did not want to start installing/updating anything until you had kindly clarified my questions. I will possible not even start reinstalling Cubase/Sibelius until Monday as very often, UPDATE pop-up's can appear a couple of days after the PC having been REFORMATTED.

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Tue May 26, 2015 6:55 pm

<Not sure where your last replies vanished to Benji?>

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Tue May 26, 2015 7:11 pm

Well, we have been moved to the proper part of the forum... But to reiterate: Office is okay to install, I guess...
B.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Tue May 26, 2015 7:21 pm

islandmusicpro wrote:Well, we have been moved to the proper part of the forum... But to reiterate: Office is okay to install, I guess.
Ta mate ;-)

Fair enough if the thread has been moved.

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu May 28, 2015 3:13 pm

Hi,

I don't think I will install MS WORD 2007 due to the relentless UPDATES etc.

I am currently thinking about whether or not to install any of my other music s/w download programs such as the NORD, DX Synth, ROLAND XV5050 managers, and also MIDI OX? Not sure if these would make any difference regarding my previous issues? I have them all on my Win7 and so therefore would be keeping my Win8 free EXCLUSIVELY for CUBASE. Or might this be this going a bit over the top? :shock:

Cheers,

Paul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Fri May 29, 2015 7:19 pm

. . . Also, I am very hesitant to reinstall KASPERSKY because it is resource heavy. Apart from Cubase related UPDATES, I intend to try and keep the Win8 OFFLINE. And then, once my KASPERSKY has EXPIRED (around Xmas time), I will replace it with one of the Anti Virus softwares recommended by fellow Steinberg users.

I am definitely NOT INSTALLING my MS OFFICE 2007.

Are these good decision(s) do you think?

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Sun May 31, 2015 3:18 pm

Paul,
well, if you intend to keep the production machine offline as much as possible, why not stick with Defender for that machine and switch to a less intrusive AV for the office machine? FWIW, my main DAW is connect to the internet constantly, and I disable the WiFi only if I run into issues with DPC latency. And I run Defender exclusively.
And I do not have Office installed on the DAW, that's what the other computer is for, in my case anyway...

Good luck! Keep us posted!
Benji
Last edited by islandmusicpro on Sun May 31, 2015 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Sun May 31, 2015 3:22 pm

Forgot to mention about the other music-related programs: Install what you need, leave off what you don't or can transfer as needed from the Win7 machine.
Are both networked together? Very handy sometimes, Homegroup works nicely for that.
B.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun May 31, 2015 3:29 pm

Thanks a lot Benji,

So regarding the NORD, DX and ROLAND editor/manager softwares etc, probably best to only INSTALL (on my Win8) what is essential. I know that I will need MIDISPORT for example.

Yes, I have all of these editor/manager softwares on my Win7.

Never used or heard of NETWORK / HOMEGROUP before I am afraid!?

Ta mate,

Paul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun May 31, 2015 3:33 pm

Hi again,
islandmusicpro wrote:well, if you intend to keep the production machine offline as much as possible, why not stick with Defender for that machine and switch to a less intrusive AV for the office machine? FWIW, my main DAW is connect to the internet constantly, and I disable the WiFi only if I run into issues with DPC latency. And I run Defender exclusively.
Ok, I have DEFENDER on my Win7 and it is fine.

Yes, I intend to substitute my AV SECURITY on both machines later in the year. Meaning I won't be RENEWING my KASPERSKY again!

Best,

Paul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun May 31, 2015 5:36 pm

. . . also:

I purchased CAMTASIA (video software) on Friday last with a view to making some You Tube type videos in the near future. And of course it has SCREEN CAPTURE tools which obviously would be necessary for the videos (which, incidentally, will all be music related).

So again, I INSTALLED the new software on my Win7 yesterday, no problem.

But would you keep the Win8 a CAMTASIA-free-zone?! Thereby meaning any such tutorial videos (call them what you will!) will all be created exclusively on the Win7?

Much appreciated,

Paul

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Sun May 31, 2015 6:21 pm

It all comes down to how powerful the video editing computer needs to be, if the lesser machine will do the job, then do it on the Win7 machine.
A "Homegroup" is a Windows built-in filesharing method that is easy to use and works well, check it out.
B.
Last edited by islandmusicpro on Sun May 31, 2015 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun May 31, 2015 6:47 pm

Cheers Benji,
islandmusicpro wrote:It all comes down to how powerful the video editing computer needs to be, if the lesser machine will do the job, than do it on the Win7 machine.
Well the CAMTASIA TRIAL version seemed to work ok (for what I wanted at least) on the Win7 when I sampled it last year. I am just thinking it's another possible bloatware elimination for the Win8?!
islandmusicpro wrote:A "Homegroup" is a Windows built-in filesharing method that is easy to use and works well, check it out.
Ok ta, I am on the MS/Windows forum site so I will take a look at some point.

Best,

Paul

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Wed Jun 03, 2015 2:48 pm

Paul,
how's the state of the project? ;-)

B.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Jun 03, 2015 2:56 pm

Thanks Benji,

I wanted to get all my CUBASE etc softwares downloaded but I was locked out of MY STEINBERG until yesterday so had to get that sorted out (bit of a complicated nightmare!).

I am INSTALLING ARTIST 8 tonight on my Win8.

I will then be INSTALLING HALion, GRAND3 and some others, but they will be on the WD 2TB external HD. The WD HD is registered, and auto-upload-cloud-storage DISABLED (I don't want My Documents etc STORED elsewhere!) and working fine with the Win8.

The Win8 boots-up faster with the new SSD in.

Best,

Paul

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:01 pm

monsterjazzlicks wrote:The Win8 boots-up faster with the new SSD in.
Yup. :mrgreen:
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:22 pm

Hi,

CUBASE 8 is nearly a 10GB download so it looks like it's going to take a couple of hours.

This will be the FIRST thing I have INSTALLED so far on the REFORMATTED Win8. 8-)

Paul

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jun 04, 2015 12:54 am

Hi,

Tried twice to download CUBASE 8 but keep getting the following message before I try to INSTALL (please see attachment):
Cub8.PNG
Cub8
(16.4 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Hope you can help.

Cheers,

Paul

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 749
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by islandmusicpro » Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:50 am

Paul.
I'd move the downloaded archive to a known, non-temp location, unzip it there and install from there.
EDIT: I also think it would be good to install the audio interface before Cubase and make sure you can listen to music through Windows.
Let us know how that went, ok?
B.
Last edited by islandmusicpro on Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: RE : Artist 6 to Artist 8 (reinstallation?)

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:53 am

Hi,

Say, to My Documents?

Ta,

Paul

Locked

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest